Measure your Internet Connection.

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by VooDoo, Nov 25, 2006.

?

What type(s) of Internet access do you have?

  1. Digital Subscriber Line (DSLR/SHDSL/VDSL/ADSL1/ADSL2/ADSL2+)

    58 vote(s)
    15.6%
  2. ATM/Frame Relay

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. WiMAX

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. ISDN

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. Satellite

    1 vote(s)
    0.3%
  6. Dial-up Modem (!)

    2 vote(s)
    0.5%
  7. NBN Fibre to the Home (FTTP/FTTH)

    72 vote(s)
    19.4%
  8. NBN Fibre to the Node (FTTN)

    92 vote(s)
    24.7%
  9. NBN Fibre to the Basement (FTTB)

    7 vote(s)
    1.9%
  10. NBN Fibre to the Curb/Distribution Point (FTTC/FTTdp)

    11 vote(s)
    3.0%
  11. NBN Cable (HFC)

    49 vote(s)
    13.2%
  12. NBN Fixed Wireless

    8 vote(s)
    2.2%
  13. Wireless ISP (not NBN)

    9 vote(s)
    2.4%
  14. Telstra/Optus Cable (not NBN)

    42 vote(s)
    11.3%
  15. MPLS (not NBN)

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  16. Fibre (not NBN)

    16 vote(s)
    4.3%
  17. Mobile/Cell Broadband (3G/4G/HSDPA/LTE, etc)

    19 vote(s)
    5.1%
  18. Non-commercial (community effort, etc)

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  19. Free (public wifi hotspots, war-driving, neighbour's unsecured wifi, etc)

    3 vote(s)
    0.8%
  20. Sneakernet/Carrier Pigeon

    3 vote(s)
    0.8%
  21. Candy string and two tins

    7 vote(s)
    1.9%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. anthonyl

    anthonyl Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    11,183
    Location:
    Brisbane
    We usually get between 80 - 90 Mbps this time of the evening but the last couple of days its been crap. Have reset both router and NBN modem as well. I did notice that they were working on lines in our street the past few days..perhaps they forgot to plug something in.
     
  2. sir_bazz

    sir_bazz Team Papparazi

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    9,437
    Location:
    Mentone, Vic.
    [​IMG]

    Havent run a speed test since Telstra increased the upload speeds.


    Would love to have the option to keep my existing speed profile when NBN gets here.
     
  3. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,406
    Location:
    Melbourne
    100/40 is available for the asking on HFC.
     
    Pugs likes this.
  4. sir_bazz

    sir_bazz Team Papparazi

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    9,437
    Location:
    Mentone, Vic.
    Crazy thinking but you know what I'd like to see?

    Dynamic bandwidth allocations, much like Telstra Wideband IP, where one can log into the front end and adjust their own speeds on the fly. Or maybe even the ability to dynamically adjust ones up/down speeds while maintaining the same bandwidth allocation?

    I'd log straight in and reallocate most of that upload speed to downloads.
     
  5. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,406
    Location:
    Melbourne
    it would be nice for the user, but it would require pretty much a total reengineering of how the core network manages service bandwidth allocation, and I shudder to think of the IT that would be needed for the provisioning systems.
     
  6. Lou

    Lou Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    436
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Is this thing still on

    [​IMG]

    A second opinion from the other side of the country

    Click to view full size!


    Coworking community office, Brisbane.
     
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2018
  7. koopz

    koopz Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,034
    Location:
    Qld
    what plan is that Lou?


    I was looking to goto Exetel 300/300 soon
     
  8. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    142,889
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    You can, it might just cost you more to do so ;)
     
  9. BelowAverageIQ

    BelowAverageIQ Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    846
    New FTTP became active last night. Aussie Broadband.

    [​IMG]
     
    zeggie and TheWedgie like this.
  10. Edward05

    Edward05 Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    122
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2018
  11. TheWedgie

    TheWedgie Insert Custom Title Here

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,941
    Nice. I just couldn’t justify 250/100 when they upgraded the CVC here.
     
  12. BelowAverageIQ

    BelowAverageIQ Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    846
    I understand. I can at the moment and foreseeable future. But will revisit it as needed. Might drop down to the 100/40 for a month and see if we notice it. Trouble is the pricing. 150/100 is NOT between the 100/40 and 250/100 in terms of price. It is marginally cheaper then the 250/100.
     
  13. roh008

    roh008 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    I'd be interested to see what perceived impact there is when you drop to 100/40. I'm questioning the need for 100/40 apart from feeling good that I have it when I need it
     
  14. Ratzz

    Ratzz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Messages:
    8,859
    Location:
    Cheltenham East 3192
    I'd also be interested for the same reasons. Loving 100/40 but more for the upload than download. I suspect I would be pretty happy with 50/50 if I could get it. That said, if I had the option for 250/100 I would jump on it, even if only to try it out.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2018
  15. TheWedgie

    TheWedgie Insert Custom Title Here

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,941
    Last time I looked at it, there wasn't a huge price difference between 50/20 and 100/40 from my ISP, and the "I'll just grab this ISO quickly" factor made it worth it.
     
  16. Copie

    Copie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    13,680
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Its 20/month if your with ABB.

    Anyways, got my internet upgraded, its nice having FTTP and not the peasent spec FTTN.

    [​IMG]
     
    firey4059 and clonex like this.
  17. trevor68

    trevor68 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    4,281
    Location:
    Canberra
    Given we will likely actually never connect to the NBN, I am very pleased with our Wireless Connection. ADSL here used to be a 2Mb max, 20 dropouts a day affair, this is bliss in comparison.

    [​IMG]
     
  18. clonex

    clonex Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    20,936
    Location:
    north pole
    Nice, im getting like 29/8 atm.

    Gone from 100/40 fibre to the home to 100/40 HFC to FTTN :D
     
  19. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    142,889
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Why's that? And have you been officially told as much?
     
  20. trevor68

    trevor68 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    4,281
    Location:
    Canberra
    Why? Well the copper and 5 pits between our house and the MDF are all stuffed. No one is ever going to fix them so why would I bother even trying to use it? Just because they hang a node off the other end and pump say 25mb into it doesn't mean you still won't get maybe 5mb out of it on my end so why bother?

    As for being "Officially told" the ACT government owns both the land, and the line. Having tried to report it I was simply told they are "not taking any maintenance requests".
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: