Measure your Internet Connection.

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by VooDoo, Nov 25, 2006.

?

What type(s) of Internet access do you have?

  1. Digital Subscriber Line (DSLR/SHDSL/VDSL/ADSL1/ADSL2/ADSL2+)

    57 vote(s)
    16.1%
  2. ATM/Frame Relay

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. WiMAX

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. ISDN

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. Satellite

    1 vote(s)
    0.3%
  6. Dial-up Modem (!)

    2 vote(s)
    0.6%
  7. NBN Fibre to the Home (FTTP/FTTH)

    67 vote(s)
    19.0%
  8. NBN Fibre to the Node (FTTN)

    88 vote(s)
    24.9%
  9. NBN Fibre to the Basement (FTTB)

    7 vote(s)
    2.0%
  10. NBN Fibre to the Curb/Distribution Point (FTTC/FTTdp)

    9 vote(s)
    2.5%
  11. NBN Cable (HFC)

    44 vote(s)
    12.5%
  12. NBN Fixed Wireless

    8 vote(s)
    2.3%
  13. Wireless ISP (not NBN)

    9 vote(s)
    2.5%
  14. Telstra/Optus Cable (not NBN)

    40 vote(s)
    11.3%
  15. MPLS (not NBN)

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  16. Fibre (not NBN)

    16 vote(s)
    4.5%
  17. Mobile/Cell Broadband (3G/4G/HSDPA/LTE, etc)

    19 vote(s)
    5.4%
  18. Non-commercial (community effort, etc)

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  19. Free (public wifi hotspots, war-driving, neighbour's unsecured wifi, etc)

    3 vote(s)
    0.8%
  20. Sneakernet/Carrier Pigeon

    3 vote(s)
    0.8%
  21. Candy string and two tins

    7 vote(s)
    2.0%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. Sounder

    Sounder Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    139
    Location:
    Port Lincoln, SA
    Thanks for the suggestion. Found the exchange location and used google maps to calculate the distance. By road it's 1.5 km from here.

    Strange that whirlpool doesn't show that Tesltra has ADSL 2 in Port Lincoln. According to Bigpond's plan finder it has. I guess I should give it a go. Same price, no hardware upgrades needed. Can it be any worse than what I've got?
     
  2. aussie-revhead

    aussie-revhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    19,348
    Location:
    St Clair 2759
    I am about the same distance by road but my attenuation works out at 3km , so 6500kb is as high as I get . Uploads will be faster though eh . If its the same cost as most of them are now then why not - apart from extra hardware to buy .

    :thumbup:
     
  3. BuuBox

    BuuBox Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    9,277
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Just upgraded to 8mbit ADSL1, still with aaNet.

    [​IMG]

    Happy with that! I'm a bit over 3km from the exchange, syncing at 7296/384. Could have gotten ADSL2, but hate the fact that you have to bundle... :(
     
  4. bl4ck32

    bl4ck32 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4,522
    Location:
    local
    ADSL2+ internode

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Why would i get a faster time from melbourne than from internode adelaide?
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2007
  5. sandeep

    sandeep Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    4,174
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Gees guys, you ping times are rediculous.
     
  6. bl4ck32

    bl4ck32 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4,522
    Location:
    local
    sorry had a file dloading in the background :p

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2007
  7. kini_mini

    kini_mini Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,811

    That's still a lot higher than cable pings though - I get under 20ms on optus cable all the time, though the speeds aren't great at my place.

    Here's one from Europe...home fibre on EUR 16.50 a month!

    [​IMG]
     
  8. pone

    pone Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Sydney
    At work :D

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  9. DamageInc

    DamageInc Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    542
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
  10. Phibes

    Phibes Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Telstra ADSL 1500/256k
    [​IMG]
     
  11. Lodion

    Lodion Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Perth
    [​IMG]

    If only that were my home connection, sadly it is from work.
     
  12. Sounder

    Sounder Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    139
    Location:
    Port Lincoln, SA
    While I was away at work, I had my account upgraded to ADSL 2+.

    Just got home and tested it. I'm pretty happy with the results, especially since the cost is the same and I was able to use my existing router (with a firmware upgrade).

    New results:

    [​IMG]
     
  13. wwwww

    wwwww Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Messages:
    5,134
    Location:
    Melbourne
  14. bl4ck32

    bl4ck32 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4,522
    Location:
    local
    Can someone tell me why im getting high pings then?
     
  15. Olle_34

    Olle_34 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    2,164
    Location:
    Stanmore
    [​IMG]

    wtf heaps slower than 2 months ago on the same plan ???

    [​IMG]

    new ? 30mps my ass

    [​IMG]

    looks like its fixed now :)

    [​IMG]

    it aint :(
     
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2007
  16. Deltoid

    Deltoid Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    9,515
    Location:
    Brisbane
    [​IMG]

    iiNet ADSL2+ in Brisbane, I got about half that speed when testing on the Sydney server.
     
  17. a_buzza

    a_buzza Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    380
    Location:
    Sydney
    [​IMG]
    Optus Cable
     
  18. BitAddict

    BitAddict Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,772
    Location:
    Brisbane
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Internode, ADSL 1, Home High Power 60... looking forward to getting some ADSL2+ action happening!

    Auckland's going alright... hehe...
     
  19. Menthu_Rae

    Menthu_Rae Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Messages:
    6,874
    Location:
    Northern Beaches, Sydney
    iiNet ADSL2+ ~3.2km from exchange with terrible, terrible phone lines. Sometimes I sync @ 3.6Mbps, other times @ 2-2.5Mbps (like now) and sometimes down to 400Kbps... the other day I saw 16Kbps... yes, six-teen-Kbps... :tongue: Would also drop out every 5 mins when those low speeds occurred...

    Had Telstra out here to "fix" the problem... it's supposedly "fixed"... but, it AIN'T... *sigh* can't do anything but move house :thumbdn:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    and for comparison, this is my best net speed I've ever had :thumbup:

    [​IMG]
     
  20. Jaker

    Jaker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Messages:
    637
    Location:
    Melbourne
    [​IMG]

    iPrimus 1.5Mbps ADSL1?
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: