mesh modem ?

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by philquad, Aug 25, 2021.

  1. philquad

    philquad Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,660
    Location:
    nelson bay
    i will be shortly moving into my gf's place & it has a crappy dodo 50mb that gets about 12mb at the other end of the house. phones & streaming seems to work ok but i think it could be better

    aussie bb has a 50mb plan i might swap to & they offer a netcomm mesh modem for $130

    the modems stuck at end of house as its the only working phone line so question is

    will a mesh modem be better, or just buy my own compatible job?
     
  2. Pugs

    Pugs Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    9,535
    Location:
    Redwood Park, SA
    Mesh base units are router's
     
  3. d1ng0d4n

    d1ng0d4n Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,399
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    A mesh modem needs other points to mesh with... its not a single device with a stronger wifi signal
     
  4. OP
    OP
    philquad

    philquad Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,660
    Location:
    nelson bay
  5. d1ng0d4n

    d1ng0d4n Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,399
    Location:
    Gold Coast
  6. OP
    OP
    philquad

    philquad Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,660
    Location:
    nelson bay
    i am confused, is it better than using say a telstra modem, apparently that will work anyway
    im not interested in boosters or extra bits.
     
  7. darkanjel

    darkanjel Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    529
    Location:
    Sydney
    Assuming you mean the connection is still good for 50mb at the connection point, this has nothing to do with Dodo or your ISP; this is a wifi problem (or other internal network).

    Dodo is rated to 86.8% of maximum speed this quarter.

    If you instead mean that your total internet connection is 12mb when it should be 50mb, and you believe it's Dodo, lodge a complaint to get a refund or partial credit.

    If wifi problem, this is irrelevant.

    If ISP problem, this is irrelevant.
    If both wifi and ISP are problems, the answer is probably no anyway.

    If wifi problem, probably not. A mesh kit would probably help. A mesh kit combined with a Powerline kit would most probably help.
    If ISP problem, probably not.

    Exception for both cases is if the incumbent modem is faulty or a terrible performer.
     
  8. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,043
    Location:
    Melbourne
    on its own, probably not. a mesh base unit works by communicating with other mesh repeaters to establish a wifi mesh. you need to commit to buying a mesh system to bother starting.
     
    Pugs likes this.
  9. OP
    OP
    philquad

    philquad Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,660
    Location:
    nelson bay
    great info thanks
    ill speedtest off the modem on a laptop
    maybe those power line thingys are the go then?
    as it really is at most opposite place in the whole house
    & i want 2 pc's at this end, not worried about over ruling the kids & their phones\ipads in the middle
    just put my smart tv on wall in bedroom :leet: where the modem & action will be
    it streams there fine.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: