1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

Metabox laptops any good?

Discussion in 'Portable & Small Form Factor' started by Holdenkicks, Mar 15, 2016.

  1. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    35,090
    Location:
    Sydney
    looks like an MSI 1070 will fit into my P870DM-G.
     
  2. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    35,090
    Location:
    Sydney
  3. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    35,090
    Location:
    Sydney
    And why I can't, as a gen 1 P870DM-G owner, upgrade to the clevo 1070 or 1080. I can install the MSI 1070 so will see how that goes. I also wonder if i can combo an MSI 1070 with a 980M?

    [​IMG]
     
  4. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    35,090
    Location:
    Sydney
    my GTX 1070 MXM shipped so i should get that in a week or so.
     
  5. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    35,090
    Location:
    Sydney
    finally got my P870DM-G back from repair and i installed the GTX 1070 i had bought. initially the screen was so corrupted with really frenetic crackling/interlacing that i freaked out.

    then i got a new vbios to flash and that fixed everything so it works like a boss.
     
  6. Grom Hellscream

    Grom Hellscream Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    3,722
    Location:
    Up in the boonies
    Where are you guys buying GPUs from (aside from ebay)? I'm having a stoush with MSI at present due to advertising as "upgradable" from GTX980M and then turning around and telling me I cant, so if I can find even a GTX1070 to fit it would be good (prefer 1080 but I don't think it's going to happen).

    The GT72 has a fairly good thermal setup so I doubt it would throttle.
     
  7. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    35,090
    Location:
    Sydney
    i buy them off a guy on the notebookreview forums for a better price cos if you get it on ebay they get charged on tax and ebay fees. but seriously they cost a lot....i paid $1200 + $175 for a new heatsink.

    i had a look and it doesn't look like the 1070 will even fit in a GT72 because the GTX 1070 has a lot of PCB that over hangs the sides. the best you can probably fit is the GTX 1060 which is the same form factor as the 980M and is about the same performance at a GTX 980 desktop.

    head over to http://forum.notebookreview.com/ and go to the MSI sub-forums to see if there's people that'll help.
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2016
  8. Grom Hellscream

    Grom Hellscream Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    3,722
    Location:
    Up in the boonies
    From what I can tell MSI have used the same chassis and a similar board layout for the GT72VR which can house a 1070. At worst I may need to clearance a fan housing slightly which I'm prepared to do (otherwise this laptop is near on useless for what I purchased it for).
     
  9. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    35,090
    Location:
    Sydney
    you mean this model?

    http://pc4u.org/msi-vr-ready-gt72vr-dominator-pro-015-with-gtx-1070/

    here's my firestrike score - http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/16741831?

    you'll score lower because of the mobile CPU.

    you can definitely try if you got the $1.2k for the GPU.

    EDIT: I sent you a link to where i bought it and the seller is decent cos i bought a 980M for my old alienware 17 that i sold.
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2016
  10. bennyg

    bennyg Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,795
    Location:
    Melbourne, Oztraya
    You're right they do look very familiar
    http://www.myfixguide.com/manual/msi-gt72-disassembly/
    http://www.laptopmain.com/msi-gt72vr-disassembly/

    However some in the NBR GT72/GT80 upgrade whinge thread are convinced the GT72VR is a downgrade because "the chipset is lower quality" and it loses a M.2 slot and that the GT73VR has the same chipset as the GT72

    That GT72VR page has a 1060 which is a standard MXM 3.0b rectangular board

    The MSI 1070 however has extra width on the left (which eyeballing I reckon you'd be OK) and a tab on the top right (which may require you to grind off a bit off the CPU heatsink or may not fit at all without bending the PCB due to clearance over the large black chip behind the LAN jack)
     
  11. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    35,090
    Location:
    Sydney
    there's nothing on that tab that has been surface mounted, so it's more about height clearance.

    the P870DM-G (Gen 1) has enough space to fit just one but not two without some modding to the chassis and the slave gpu so oh well.
     
  12. Ron The Bear

    Ron The Bear Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Spent ~$4K on a near-fully-loaded P750DM last June. Only discovered Metabox/Clevo after a little digging and was concerned about possible overheating with the desktop CPU etc as it was my first laptop purchase. Happy to report that it hasn't missed a beat; impressions are all positive at this stage.
     
  13. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    35,090
    Location:
    Sydney
    probably because there's no custom BIOS to unlock the CPU and correct the voltages so you're running a desktop CPU with mobile voltage levels. the P870DM-G has a custom BIOS so it can be set back to desktop voltages rather than the mobile settings. you can tell if your CPU's physics scores in firestrike is around 9000 when it should be around 14000-15000.

    the low voltages also cause the CPU to not boost to 4.2GHz.

    if you did a bit more digging you would have discovered this and bought the P870DM-G as Metabox don't offer custom bios for the P750DM since it's not as popular as the P870DM-G.

    the P870DM-G has a good amount of room to install an MSI GTX 1070 and overclock it to some degree and it be stable...but at the expense of Gsync.
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2017
  14. Ron The Bear

    Ron The Bear Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Appreciate all that you're saying but I'm not interested in pushing it to the edge. Running off external monitors 98% of the time so the 750 with minimum screen specs made more sense than a 17" behemoth.

    Can't remember the GTX 1070/1080 being available from Metabox at the time.
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2017
  15. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    35,090
    Location:
    Sydney
    No, it's about running a 6700K the way it's designed to be operated at. You're essentially running the CPU like an 6700HQ.
     
  16. Ron The Bear

    Ron The Bear Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    The 750 was listed by Metabox in their 'professional workstations' section and that was the category I was interested in.

    Just my 2c on the topic posed; not really interested in a debate as to how optimally I'm using my machine.
     
  17. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    35,090
    Location:
    Sydney
    so optimal performance is bad now? if it means getting more from your $$$ then it's worth it.
     
  18. Ron The Bear

    Ron The Bear Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    The merits depend on your perspective.

    Not necessarily "bad", and not the topic of the thread.
     
  19. seminyak

    seminyak New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Just in regard to the touchpad, I had this happen to me twice when the touchpad was completely frozen after resuming from when the computer went into sleep mode when it was unattended. I was wondering if you could tell me if 2015 is the latest driver for the touchpad and pointer? Two times I have had to try and unfreeze the touchpad and it was a bit of a nightmare because I am unaware of what caused it. Thanks.
     
  20. d3vour3r

    d3vour3r Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Messages:
    322
    Location:
    Brisbane
    gents,

    having some issues with my 650rs-g, specs in sig.

    getting micro-stuttering in games like BF1, Mass effect andromeda, PUBG, and CS:GO.

    it runs smooth as silk for a prolonged period, then itll stutter for a few seconds at like 1-5 fps when i change scene, or go in and out of menus or change level/map.

    I am running games on a acer predator 1440p gsync panel. the laptop is more then capable of running these games at high settings.

    i have done a bit of a search and found that updating the bios can help, or putting the GPU into discrete mode. I havent updated bios because i cant find a site that has bios downloads for this laptop. i have changed the gpu to discrete which didnt help.

    anyone had simlar issues and have a resolution?
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: