Microsoft Xbox One, Xbox One S Discussion

Discussion in 'Microsoft Consoles' started by Arch-Angel, Nov 17, 2011.

  1. vid_ghost

    vid_ghost Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,149
    Rumors 2 days from announcement "could be real" .. but from the sounds of the specs they sound too good to be true!

    12GB's of GDDR5? 4gb GPU 8gb CPU .. AMD GCN 2.0?? with 4.9 TFlops. Thats 40% More power Then a 250w HD7970 That can only output 3.7TFLOPS in a console that uses less then 250w combined power for every component.

    This rumor really is hard to believe and sounds more like BS!
     
  2. Yerolo

    Yerolo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    9,439
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Although I think its BS, if it has those specs it will blow the PS4 out of the water hardware-wise.

    I just dont see it, seeing as though MS are rumored to be focusing more on an entertainment hub. If true, its one of the most overspecced entertainment hubs Ive seen in a long while
     
  3. soulblade64

    soulblade64 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    6,571
    Location:
    Melbourne
    In 5 years though, people will be bitching about their "Entertainment hub" being behind the curve on modern graphics... These specs should guarantee that the console should last almost a decade.
     
  4. Sphinx2000

    Sphinx2000 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,775
    Location:
    Brisbane
    To put 4.9 tflops into perspective that's more powerful than a Titan from Nvidia, which is a $1,200 graphics card..
    It would make Nextbox nearly 3X as powerful as PS4.. :rolleyes:
     
  5. Yerolo

    Yerolo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    9,439
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Yeh exactly. This story has BS written all over it, theres no way they could pack hardware like that in and hope to keep the price in the $400-$500 price bracket (which is what the PS4 is expected to be)
     
  6. soulblade64

    soulblade64 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    6,571
    Location:
    Melbourne
    It's not uncommon to sell the hardware at a loss and make the profit on the software though.
     
  7. G-PhresH

    G-PhresH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    9,462
    Location:
    Sydney NSW
    Although losing that much per console is probably unrealistic
     
  8. rush

    rush Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    3,708
    Sony could just buy a billion of the new xbox consoles and drive microsoft broke! Muahahahahahahahaah!
     
  9. G-PhresH

    G-PhresH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    9,462
    Location:
    Sydney NSW
    Then resell them as PS4!

    GENIUS!
     
  10. Yerolo

    Yerolo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    9,439
    Location:
    Newcastle
    [​IMG]
     
  11. soulblade64

    soulblade64 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    6,571
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Agreed... Guess we'll find out in 48 hours.
     
  12. vid_ghost

    vid_ghost Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,149
    I still think it will be an 8 core AMD custom APU with HD7770 equivalent GPU. Power usage and price it just looks so much more realistic with those specs. They may however have changed the memory type to GDDR5 from DDR3 to better compete with PS4 ( the AMD APU "does" support it ).. would also have pumped up the CPU and GPU core clock to help close the gab in performance even further. Giving the PS4 a smaller performance lead... but then again Sony haven't finalized CPU or GPU speed.

    This is a MORE realistic announcement tomorrow afternoon.
    Cant wait :D
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2013
  13. AMD64

    AMD64 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,982
    Location:
    NSW
    Theres no real point to go with GDDR5 when they have the eSRAM. The eSRAM is mainly there to makeup for the bandwidth of the DDR3 and changing that over to the GDDR5 would only make the console more expensive, albeit it would have a lot more bandwidth but would the GPU actually be able to use all of it. Also GDDR5 runs a lot hotter/higher volts and they probably didn't budget for that in the thermal/power budget.
     
  14. miicah

    miicah Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    7,346
    Location:
    Mount Cotton, QLD
    Would they ever design a console that has the ability to add more ram? Like the N64 had?
     
  15. solid_snake

    solid_snake Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    2,027
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I hope the Fanatec wheel ive got is compatible with the new 360, MS can go fudge themselves if they think im gonna go out and buy another wheel
     
  16. Sammus187

    Sammus187 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    410
    Location:
    Sydney
    Yeah they should make all consoles fully customisable, like so all different manufactures can have all different motherboards and cpus and gpus with competing features in different price ranges. Maybe they can make them all to some kind of standard, then a bunch of different manufactures can make all different kinds of cases for them too.

    That's an awesome idea, I guess it puts a bit of pressure on the software manufacturers to make their games compatible with all different hardware combinations, but no matter, they can just code them all shittily to get them out quicker, and just claim that their futureproofing their software for the next generation of hardware.
     
  17. claf-43

    claf-43 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    7,596
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Oh you mean like this?
     
  18. AthlonMan

    AthlonMan (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    11,416
    Location:
    QLD.
    They will eventually... consoles are dead now. They're basically just becoming standardised gaming PCs.
     
  19. Sammus187

    Sammus187 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    410
    Location:
    Sydney
    Yep, you got the joke ;)
     
  20. miicah

    miicah Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    7,346
    Location:
    Mount Cotton, QLD
    I just meant that the easiest and most obvious thing to make user replaceable would be RAM, the 360 only has 512mb shared with the GPU which is laughable by today's standards. I know in some reviews I see comments from devs who say they are usually RAM limited not storage or CPU limited.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: