1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

MiSTer FPGA (computer/console/arcade hardware simulation)

Discussion in 'Retro & Arcade' started by elvis, Oct 14, 2018.

  1. nimmers

    nimmers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,270
    Location:
    Sydney
    It's just me being an idiot. You need to jump out of the way before the screen redraws, he is the only prisoner who you can visit over and over again.

    EDIT, also this was done in MAME.

    Fun fact: I had been having Black Tiger crash out sometimes when I complete a stage and upgrading to a 3A power supply seems to have fixed it!
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2020
    MUTMAN likes this.
  2. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    7,510
    Location:
    4109
    I've seen some comments on the Atari forums about peeps recommending a 4A psu. I guess a lot of that has to do with what peripherals are connected.
    Personally i haven’t had a crash that i attributed to power yet. All i seem to get is cores fail to load cleanly and require a reset and then everything all good.

    nice run through black tiger to. I'm with Vanne, just get dead a lot :)
    if work from home is allowed at my work i might just get a bit better though :)
     
    Vanne likes this.
  3. OP
    OP
    elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    41,046
    Location:
    Brisbane
    4A is quite hefty.

    If worst comes to worst, I'll be fashioning a molex-to-barrel connector and running mine off a PC or industrial PSU. That's how I power my Amiga CD32 that came without a power brick.
     
  4. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    7,510
    Location:
    4109
    if you are buying new, the MeanWell PSU's are good in my experience
    I have a 5V 18A thats 85% efficient and less than 0.3 W no load power consumption <-- that last bit is really good in my books. No need to run around switching everything off at the wall
    https://au.rs-online.com/web/p/embedded-switch-mode-power-supplies-smps/1065843/
    clearly overkill, but it'd run a fleet of MiSTer's :)

    for a beefy MiSTer PSU have a look at these two
    https://au.rs-online.com/web/p/embedded-switch-mode-power-supplies-smps/6446935/
    https://au.rs-online.com/web/p/embedded-switch-mode-power-supplies-smps/0413673/

    edit - i shouldn't assume every one is a sparky :) a wall wart is more appropriate for anyone that cares about not killing family and friends with their home made death trap PSU's :)
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2020
    Vanne and elvis like this.
  5. OP
    OP
    elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    41,046
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Pffft 50% of retro gaming fun is the thrill of the risk.
     
    Vanne and MUTMAN like this.
  6. Vanne

    Vanne Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,354
    Lol!!! ;)

    Getting a bit better at BT. :) That play through helps a lot.
    Great game.
     
    nimmers and MUTMAN like this.
  7. nimmers

    nimmers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,270
    Location:
    Sydney
    I spoke too soon, had a couple of crashes on the 3A last night :/ Might try the meanwell 4a one people go on about.

    Black tiger is a point scabby game, our comp has a few people over 1M points now :)
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2020
  8. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    7,510
    Location:
    4109
    check your wiring first.
    do you use a power splitter for the usb hub ?
    id try to isolate that first.

    im running the stock usa wall wart (via an adapter, not elvis style) through a splitter to the de10 and a usb1.1 board.
    plugged into the usb 1.1 is a wireless keyboard dongle, a 2.4g wifi dongle, a xbox 360 wireless dongle, a usb hdd and a fightstick (old school stick no leds/rgb)
    and no crashs to date ... (famous last word)
     
    nimmers likes this.
  9. nimmers

    nimmers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,270
    Location:
    Sydney
    Do those things play up? I don't have an I/O board. My setup is:
    -Mister
    -Usb hub
    -Splitter cable
    -Cheap DAC (which draws power) to to difect video
    -USB Keyboard
    -Madcatz TE fight stick

    Haven't figured out what to do about a Fan yet so running a separate fan blowing onto it.
     
  10. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    7,510
    Location:
    4109
    the only playing up is when i use cheats in sonic :( :lol:
    no crashes.
    maybe it is heat ?
    try direct the air at the heatsink with a funnel and a tube or somethimg like that.
    even just rolling up a sheet of paper to make a big cone to funnel the air right in.
     
  11. Andrew_Wong

    Andrew_Wong Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    96
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    After ordering these in January.. they finally turned up 2 months later!

    [​IMG]

    Will get some parts and do a test build.. if it all works OK I'll put the 10 units up for sale and email all the people who expressed interest.
    Can do more if there's demand and price makes sense to people given exchange rates.
     
    darknebula, MUTMAN, Vanne and 2 others like this.
  12. deevus

    deevus Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW
    Is that an IO board? If so I’ll be interested
     
  13. Vanne

    Vanne Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,354
    dual fan IO board Andrew? :thumbup:
     
  14. Andrew_Wong

    Andrew_Wong Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    96
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Will have to see what I do.. a modified CAMInventions case is definitely on the cards..

    First order is to get the parts and make one .. make sure it works !
     
    MUTMAN likes this.
  15. Andrew_Wong

    Andrew_Wong Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    96
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Only if your RAM does the dirty dancing for me...
     
    Vanne likes this.
  16. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    7,510
    Location:
    4109
  17. nimmers

    nimmers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,270
    Location:
    Sydney
    Seems pretty logical, there's not a great deal different between the two systems. Good times!
     
  18. flain

    flain Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,685
    Location:
    Sydney
  19. OP
    OP
    elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    41,046
    Location:
    Brisbane
    So 20 years ago this guy MAME, and folks rediscovered rotary joysticks and spinners.

    I await the inevitable flood of YouTubers showing these things off like they just invented it last week. :)
     
    MUTMAN likes this.
  20. flain

    flain Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,685
    Location:
    Sydney
    The spinner experience on that game wasn't great, i'm more hoping someone can somehow implement dual stick instead :)
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: