MiSTer FPGA (computer/console/arcade hardware simulation)

Discussion in 'Retro & Arcade' started by elvis, Oct 14, 2018.

  1. OP
    OP
    elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    42,739
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Great comparison of where various Amiga performance options sit thanks to some newer homebrew/demo software that really demonstrates it well.

    Here's a comparison of a few options. No FPS measurements or anything, but there's a few scenes that show the speed differences clearly (the shiny blob thing at 2:27 is the clearest for me).

    In order of speed (slowest to fastest):

    Stock Amiga 1200 68020@14MHz, MiST FPGA, MiSTer FPGA, Amiga 1200 68060@40MHz

     
    MUTMAN likes this.
  2. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    8,290
    Location:
    4109
    might just be my eyes, but the MiST seems smoother and less jerky than MiSTer
    clearly the genuine hardware at the highest clock has the highest frame rate (just) but it is the smoothest too
    MiSTer frame rate isnt far behind the 40mhz amiga, but it seems a bit jerky, while faster frames than the MiST

    you can see the 5 years of extra dev work on the MiST is still appreciable
     
  3. OP
    OP
    elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    42,739
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I don't follow. What do you mean by "less jerky"?

    Where you watching in 1080p?
     
  4. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    8,290
    Location:
    4109
    jerky as in little stutters
    most obvious to my eyes starting at 2:26
    watching at 1080p60
     
  5. OP
    OP
    elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    42,739
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Hrm doesn't show up on my phone. I'll try a couple of other/bigger screens tomorrow.
     
  6. flain

    flain Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,817
    Location:
    Sydney
  7. OP
    OP
    elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    42,739
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Having the entire CPS1/1.5/2 library on a single machine is pretty exciting. That was so prohibitively expensive up to this point, even with all the quite excellent Darksoft tools out there.

    I've got a CPS3 kit and Darksoft CPU to go with. Would love to add a MiSTer with all this stuff in once it's working, and have the entire CPS1-3 library on one machine.
     
    Vanne, flain and MUTMAN like this.
  8. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    8,290
    Location:
    4109

    lookes like 128mb ram is required ??
    my 128mb from Andrew_Wong still running smoooooth :)
    (he might still be the cheapest in AU too)
     
    Vanne and elvis like this.
  9. flain

    flain Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,817
    Location:
    Sydney
    Max game size for CPS2 is about 41MB so yeah won't be able to run everything on the original 32MB ram, should still be a lot of games that work though
     
    MUTMAN likes this.
  10. Vanne

    Vanne Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,782
    wow, i havent even installed Andrews ram stick yet... m u s...t.. g...e......t to....i..t!!
     
    MUTMAN likes this.
  11. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    8,290
    Location:
    4109

    there are some metal slug titles (and others) youre missing out on mate
    unless you have some original hardware that is ...
     
    Vanne likes this.
  12. Andrew_Wong

    Andrew_Wong Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    129
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Good thing it comes with a lifetime warranty.. which is until I get a life :D

    How much RAM for your car?
     
    MUTMAN and Vanne like this.
  13. Andrew_Wong

    Andrew_Wong Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    129
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Going completely back to basics.. this wouldn't be expensive.. and you could grab your favourite can of spray paint and make it any colour you like.

    3mm mild steel ! It will be solid. Wait.. I have some 3mm stainless.. hmm..

    Just choose whatever brass spacers you need for height (eg. 30mm if you use RAM or IOBoard)

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2020
    elvis, MUTMAN, Vanne and 1 other person like this.
  14. flain

    flain Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,817
    Location:
    Sydney
    CPS 1.5 coming along well, no sound but good progress, playable!

     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2020
    elvis, MUTMAN and Vanne like this.
  15. Andrew_Wong

    Andrew_Wong Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    129
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Joys of having a CNC Plasma.. no measurement required !

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    GumbyNoTalent, flain, nimmers and 3 others like this.
  16. OP
    OP
    elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    42,739
    Location:
    Brisbane
    More progress on Total DOS Launcher.

    Combined with eXoDOS, it's really becoming the equivalent of a "DOS flash cart".

    New updates include a turbo modifier in menu. No idea how they're doing that - if they're telling MiSTer to adjust its clock speed, or if it's just something boring like MoSlo.

     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2020
    Vanne, okclock123 and MUTMAN like this.
  17. GumbyNoTalent

    GumbyNoTalent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    9,256
    Location:
    Briz Vegas
    Saw this on Hackaday and thought some here might be interested.
    https://hackaday.io/project/172215-uchip-simple-vga-console/details
     
    Vanne, Grant and okclock123 like this.
  18. okclock123

    okclock123 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    Messages:
    233
    Location:
    Sydney
    A very good start to what could be an awesome project. What I personally would love to see in all these new UIs cropping up are advanced listing features like grouping (by first letter, by year), ignoring of “the”, sorting, tagging, etc.
     
    elvis likes this.
  19. OP
    OP
    elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    42,739
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Not trying to get all "MAME did it 20 years ago!" like I normally rant... but....

    MAME has several side projects, one called "catlist.xml" (Category List), and one called "history.xml". These store gobs of information about games, and let you sort/organise things by almost any classification you could imagine.

    Very helpful when you build a MAME cabinet, dump thousands of zip files on it, and just want to hide everything that's a genre you don't like (even adult content in some games, if you've got young kids in the house), and can just filter in or out a given category.

    "history.xml" is fun too. A small blurb about each game. And of course MAME has side art, marquee art, bezel art, cabinet art, and all sorts of stuff that you don't see just in a list of ROMs.

    I want ALL of this available in every collection - whether it's flash carts or emulators or eXoDOS or MiSTer or whatever. This is why people still collect "big box" DOS games in an era where you can download everything in a torrent, because all that external stuff matters too, and we need to preserver and share the lot.
     
  20. flain

    flain Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,817
    Location:
    Sydney

Share This Page

Advertisement: