Mixed Ethernet over Power adaptors

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by Ravennoir, May 10, 2010.

  1. Ravennoir

    Ravennoir Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6,505
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Hey Everyone,

    I currently have two Ethernet over Power adaptors and I need to get more

    Does anyone know if I have to get the same ones (same model) or will they work with each other

    thanks

    Raven
     
  2. Heywood

    Heywood Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2001
    Messages:
    457
    What do you currently have, and what are you proposing to add to your network?

    If they are standards based like HomePlug you can probably get them to inter-operate without much drama...
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Ravennoir

    Ravennoir Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6,505
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I currently have two Netgear 200Mbps adaptors

    they connect my PS3 to the rest of the network

    im moving to a new place, and the phone jacks are in a very good place

    So I want to connect the router to the computer via one set and the PS3 to the network via another
     
  4. g00nster

    g00nster Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    352
    Location:
    Melbourne
    i've got 4-5 of the belkin ones running at any one time.

    They just work abit slowly.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    Ravennoir

    Ravennoir Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6,505
    Location:
    Melbourne
    What I mean though, is can i buy the Belkin ones (say) and get them to work with my Netgear ones
     
  6. g00nster

    g00nster Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    352
    Location:
    Melbourne
    from what i can tell, the 85mb plugs talk to the 85mb plugs and the 200mbit plugs talk to the 200mbit plugs.

    there's a standard so i believe they should all play nice.
     
  7. Jemz0r

    Jemz0r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Messages:
    151
    Location:
    Taipei
    Ok.. let me summarise.

    There are two competing chipset solutions for EoP.

    HomePlug 85 (Intellon)
    HomePlug 200 AV (Intellon)
    DS2 200Mbps (DS2)

    Different brands may use different solutions.
    Eg: Billion, NetComm, Belkin are Intellon, Netgear has used both Intellon and DS2

    So please check for the "HomePlug" sign to know if it is Intellon.


    In terms of compatibility....

    HomePlug 200 will connect with HomePlug 85, but speed of all EoP devices will drop to 85Mbps speeds.

    HomePlug and DS2 are incompatible.

    So if you want guarantee, better to get same brand/models. Unless you are certain they use the same chipsets.
     
  8. pongie

    pongie Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,050
    Location:
    Sydney 2166
    slightly off topic but is there any advatanges/disadvantages between the two chipset?

    HomePlug 200 AV (Intellon)
    DS2 200Mbps (DS2)
     
  9. Jemz0r

    Jemz0r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Messages:
    151
    Location:
    Taipei
    In terms of features, they are about the same.

    I find DS2 has better range and can work with more interference.

    Due to work, I have both devices to test with. I've encountered some instances where a pair of DS2's will work okay'ish, but the Intellons can't even connect.

    But due to the way the market unfolded, there are more Intellon products available.

    Kinda like VHS vs Betamax..
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: