Mixed RAM - Dual Channel DDR3

Discussion in 'Memory' started by sw-m78, Jan 9, 2017.

  1. sw-m78

    sw-m78 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    285
    Location:
    Brisbane City
    I am attempting to breath some life back into an old machine – i5 2400, Gigabyte Z68M-D2H, AMD Radeon HD 6950, 12GB DDR3, 120GB SSD, Windows 7 64bit.

    I have a DUAL channel motherboard with 4 slots (white and blue coloured slots). Support for DDR3 2133/1866/1600/1333/1066 MHz memory modules

    The following sticks available:

    2GB DDR3 @ 1600mhz
    2GB DDR3 @ 1600mhz
    4GB DDR3 @ 1333mhz (heatsink)
    4GB DDR3 @ 1333mhz (heatsink)

    I am seeingk advice on what is the best configuration for performance.

    1. Will the memory run in DUAL channel if its mixed sticks?
    2. Should I just attempt to push all sticks the 1600mhz, considering the slower sticks have the heatsinks?
    3. Is this dangerous for the memory/motherboard?
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2017
  2. Matthew kane

    Matthew kane Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,086
    Location:
    Melbourne
    1. Yes, but your performance will not be optimal due to miss-matching manufacturer speeds, RAM timings and possibly RAM voltage.

    2. You can but for what benefit? See above response and the fact the 1600mhz modules will downclock to 1333 for async speeds, the 1333mhz modules may not be able to stay stably at 1600mhz or reach it if you bump the clock up for, again reasons stated in 1 may influence. Sell/swap either pair for matching pair to the remainder modules.

    3. Not dangerous but not recommended.
     
  3. Narcoticx2

    Narcoticx2 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Messages:
    4,336
    Location:
    The Redlands
    6GB per channel at 1333MHz is going to be the easiest, and most hassle free in my opinion. I'd be trying that first and going from there.
     
  4. dasa2

    dasa2 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    581
    Location:
    Northern VIC
    6g should work fine at 1333 in dual channel
    if it does then try oc the ram if you want
    i found this a useful resource when overclocking my ram http://www.overclock.net/t/1569364/official-z170-z270-and-x99-24-7-memory-stability-thread

    depending on what your doing the higher#lower ram speed may not make a difference or if the software overflows the cpu cache much like some games i have tested in the past higher ddr3 speeds can improve cpu efficiency ¬10-20%
     
  5. OP
    OP
    sw-m78

    sw-m78 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    285
    Location:
    Brisbane City
    Just to update - all 4 sticks running Dual Channel @ 1600Mhz stable as a rock :|

    :thumbup:
     

Share This Page