Mobo stuffed?

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting Help' started by von Stalhein, Feb 4, 2019.

  1. von Stalhein

    von Stalhein Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,963
    Location:
    Thurgoona NSW
    Had a storm here yesterday arvo. Very close lightning strike bricked my modem and has I assume) borked my PC. It keeps rebooting soon after starting & doesn’t get in to either Ubuntu or Win.

    Strangely enough an iMac next to it suffered no ill effects.

    Mobo is GA-G31M-S2L (Control your envy)
    4 G RAM, Core 2 E7600, AMD HD6350

    Things what I’ve tried so far:
    Swapped PSU
    Reseated all RAM, plugs, GPU, HDDs, DVD.
    Swapped GPU
    Pulled out RAM. Started with one stick, swapped slots etc
    Wiped CMOS (reboots too quick to stay in BIOS long enough to configure).

    So, in the absence of any other info I’m thinking the board is probably RS?
     
  2. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    138,711
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Pretty comprehensive. Have you actually looked for any physical signs of damage? Certainly looking like the board.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    von Stalhein

    von Stalhein Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,963
    Location:
    Thurgoona NSW
    Yes, nothing obvious.
    All the caps look fine, no scorching etc.

    Raced outside in the hail to cover cars but forgot all about the sensitive electronics
     
  4. philquad

    philquad Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    920
    Location:
    nelson bay
    ask in the wtb section
    im sure you'll get one
     
    von Stalhein likes this.
  5. Myne_h

    Myne_h Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    8,418
    Pull the power switch from the mobo and see if it stays on longer.

    If it get's part way through post, but turns off, it sounds like a stuck power button.

    I mean, it's more likely to be lightning, but...
     
    von Stalhein likes this.
  6. philquad

    philquad Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    920
    Location:
    nelson bay
    but if you disconnect the power switch, & jump start it i take it you mean, then it still shuts down, how can it be the power button ? its not connected
    :tongue:
     
  7. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    138,711
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    No householders insurance?
     
  8. Myne_h

    Myne_h Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    8,418
    There's no mention of that already being done - hence I mentioned it.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    von Stalhein

    von Stalhein Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,963
    Location:
    Thurgoona NSW
    Yep :)
    Investigating what it covers atm
    Looks like an option, need a “qualified repairer” to detail the condition.
    Obvs complications because it’s obsolete.
     
  10. Myne_h

    Myne_h Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    8,418
    Did you try pulling the power switch from the board?
     
  11. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    57,736
    Location:
    brisbane
    i used to have to do this for people, just call any home computer repair people out and ask them for an insurance report.
     
    von Stalhein likes this.
  12. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    138,711
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    They are asking you to get a quote for a repair?
     
  13. OP
    OP
    von Stalhein

    von Stalhein Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,963
    Location:
    Thurgoona NSW
    Yes apparently that’s the protocol. Haven’t had time to chase up the details yet but reading the policy that’s what it indicates.
     
  14. OP
    OP
    von Stalhein

    von Stalhein Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,963
    Location:
    Thurgoona NSW
    Cheers!
     
  15. OP
    OP
    von Stalhein

    von Stalhein Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,963
    Location:
    Thurgoona NSW
    Not yet, I’ll need to do some googling for a couple of vids to lead me.
     
  16. Myne_h

    Myne_h Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    8,418
    http://download.gigabyte.eu/FileList/Manual/mb_installation_guide.pdf

    Step 7.
    But, pull everything that's plugged into that section out. And then, use a screwdriver to bridge the two power pins ( +PW- )
    Don't worry about touching the adjacent pins. It won't ruin anything. You can be pretty rough - just don't stab the board.

    When the fan spins, it should be on. If it stays on, the problem is somehow with the switch.
     
    von Stalhein likes this.
  17. OP
    OP
    von Stalhein

    von Stalhein Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,963
    Location:
    Thurgoona NSW
    Thanks for that will give it a bash later today
     
  18. Myne_h

    Myne_h Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    8,418
    I should say, you only really need to touch the screwdriver for a second. Once the fans turn on, it's switched and you can pull it back.
     
    von Stalhein likes this.
  19. OP
    OP
    von Stalhein

    von Stalhein Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,963
    Location:
    Thurgoona NSW
    I used to start a Datsun 1600 like this :)
     
  20. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    138,711
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    I'm just trying to think of ways you could get yourself a brand new rig ; )
     

Share This Page