Mobos and CPUs for Linux use?

Discussion in 'Other Operating Systems' started by vladtepes, Mar 6, 2019.

  1. Quadbox

    Quadbox Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    6,127
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Nvidia's nvdec/nvenc are also about the highest performance 4k encode and decode currently available on linux, it's just phenomenally good compared to the old vdpau
     
    flu!d likes this.
  2. flu!d

    flu!d Ubuntu Mate 16.04 LTS

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    12,466
    I was a beginner at one stage, I never found the PPA process of installing NVIDIA drivers in any way difficult.

    I also like a proper GUI based control panel and the Greenwithenvy overclocking utility is the dogs nuts!
     
    Quadbox likes this.
  3. zeggie

    zeggie Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    371
    Nothing wrong at all with Nvidia, my main PC has a RTX2070.

    Just for someone who isn't gaming or encoding I'd recommend AMD everyday of the week for ease of use and setup.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    vladtepes

    vladtepes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    1,927
    Location:
    Brisbane, Qld
    Do you mean AMD GPU only or an AMD system?
     
  5. Quadbox

    Quadbox Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    6,127
    Location:
    Brisbane
    All the above was about gpus, there's no compelling reason to choose intel cpus/mobos over amd cpus/mobos (or vice versa absent other considerations) at present that I know of. It's certainly true that with most ryzen boards you'll need a fairly recent kernel, on account of the quite new sound chips and intel (ironically) ethernet chips they're using, but then upgrading kernel is hardly a hassle
     
  6. OP
    OP
    vladtepes

    vladtepes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    1,927
    Location:
    Brisbane, Qld
    Are GPU's specific to CPU/mobo eg can you only use say Nvidia etc in Intel systems and Radeon for AMD systems?
    (It's been a LONG time since I've had an AMD system, if indeed I ever have).
     
  7. OP
    OP
    vladtepes

    vladtepes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    1,927
    Location:
    Brisbane, Qld
    encoding?
     
  8. GumbyNoTalent

    GumbyNoTalent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    6,676
    Location:
    Briz Vegas
    I have NO idea why we are having this conversation, my current desktop is a 2600K with a MOBO Gigabyte something from the day that was good for gaming, it used to have a NVIDA 9800GT when I played games more, it now has a AMD 270 and still does light gaming duties when in the mode. Always running LINUX, sound is even done via a USB DAC and I use a 32" VeiwSonic monitor.

    I have no understanding why people find using hardware on Linux is hard in 2019, maybe a mirror is needed for the real reason.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    vladtepes

    vladtepes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    1,927
    Location:
    Brisbane, Qld
    I looked in the mirror and I saw someone who doesn't know the answers to the question, so figured it worth asking. :p

    Also I didn't say it was hard, I just asked about it.

    What I've learned is that the issues that some people complain of with Linux and hardware appear to be related to either:
    - very OLD hardware incapable of running the OS and a reasonable speed with a nice new desktop environment, let alone much in the way of programs. (Of course this is little different to other operating systems), or
    - cutting edge new systems which the kernel does not yet support or for which Linux drivers are not yet available.

    There's also some debate (with sound arguments made by both sides) as to whether AMD is a good choice for Linux. The answer being (as is often the case) "It depends."

    But if I decide to build a new system with the intention of using Linux as the OS, I'd really be stupid if I didn't satisfy myself that I were considering the correct hardware and that I was aware of any potential pitfalls.

    So, yeah.
     
    shredder likes this.
  10. GumbyNoTalent

    GumbyNoTalent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    6,676
    Location:
    Briz Vegas
    Wasn't aimed at you being new to Linux but others.

    But yes you are right generic modern hardware just works, obscure or specialist hardware will be an issue.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    vladtepes

    vladtepes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    1,927
    Location:
    Brisbane, Qld
  12. zeggie

    zeggie Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    371
    Laptop wifi was and still is an issue that new Linux users face - especially if it's a realtek device. A lot of google/wiki/reddit/github research and terminal work can be required which is likely out of the comfort zone of new users.
     
  13. GumbyNoTalent

    GumbyNoTalent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    6,676
    Location:
    Briz Vegas
    yeah nah... unless you tell me what chipset in the past 5 years from realtek that doesn't work then I'm going to have to disagree.
     
  14. gdjacobs

    gdjacobs Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,063
    Location:
    MB, Canada
    Atheros wifi chipsets are by far the most versatile and supported, but Realtek chipsets are generally okay. Broadcom works but is the worst of the lot.

    There's still a handful of printer manufacturers who don't support Linux, but it's rare these days. The worst case usually is a printer that only supports X86 or AMD64.
     
  15. GumbyNoTalent

    GumbyNoTalent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    6,676
    Location:
    Briz Vegas
    Point is most mainstream manufacturers support Linux these days, I would find it hard to believe a mass produced chipset from the past 5 years not having Linux drivers. legacy products will absolutely be hit and miss.
     
  16. zeggie

    zeggie Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    371
    Did you even read my previous posts?

    RTL8821CE

    Let me know which distro has working wifi immediately post install. (Hint: zero)
     
  17. cvidler

    cvidler Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    11,756
    Location:
    Canberra
    doesn't even work properly on Windows* unless you go and download the realtek driver.

    if you buy hardware with shitty chipsets you get what you get.


    *quick google shows many issues re drop outs, slow thoughput, high latency.
     
  18. zeggie

    zeggie Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    371
    Works perfect in W10.

    Only works perfect in Linux if you have a distro with AUR or Ubuntu and use this https://github.com/tomaspinho/rtl8821ce

    Either way you've just proven me correct to the guy I quoted.
     
  19. cvidler

    cvidler Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    11,756
    Location:
    Canberra
    Don't know what your definition of 'perfect' is, but it's not the same as mine.
    [​IMG]

    again requires non-"out of the box" driver to make work properly, just like linux.

    all we've "proved" is shitty realtek is shitty.

    always has been from their first NE2000 rip offs, always will be.
     
  20. gdjacobs

    gdjacobs Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,063
    Location:
    MB, Canada
    At most, it's a standard DKMS driver install. The biggest limitation (in my view) is a lack of function like AP mode, mesh, etc.
     

Share This Page