Model - Louise

Discussion in 'The Gallery' started by dwpolette, Jun 20, 2011.

1. dwpolette

dwpolette Member

This was our first shoot together, good opportunity to meet each other and try a couple of simple portraits.

1. Lit with 430EXII @ 1/2 power reflected into umbrella left of subject. 1 540EZ through diffusion panel on axis as fill.
    [​IMG]
    IMG_2785 by Dave Polette Photography, on Flickr

2.Lit with 430EXII @ 1/2 power reflected into umbrella left of subject
    [​IMG]
    IMG_2842 by Dave Polette Photography, on Flickr

3.Lit with 430EXII @ 1/2 power reflected into umbrella left of subject (Tried B&W to see how it looked)
    [​IMG]
    IMG_2840 by Dave Polette Photography, on Flickr

C&C Welcome.

Sorry there are no set-up shots, all 3 taken in my house using a bluey-green wall and a white wall.

Last edited: Jun 20, 2011
  2. Dropbear

Dropbear Member

I like the second shot.. Im no expert, but maybe if you turn her head a little more towards camera you won't get so much of the whites of her eyes..

also looks a little bit messy with the halo on her hair in the second shot too... some rough masking?

Last edited: Jun 21, 2011
  3. OP
    OP
    dwpolette

dwpolette Member

Agree about the whites, only had one light and no fill, didn't want it too contrasty hence turned into light.

Not sure what the halo is, didn't notice it till you mentioned it. Did slight dodge on hair maybe went outside slightly?

Thanks for the comments every bit helps.

Another shot, Warmer tones.

[​IMG]
    IMG_2775 by Dave Polette Photography, on Flickr

4. Dropbear

Dropbear Member

Nice Dave...

Maybe clone out that errant hair strand on her collarbone.

5. aaronv2

aaronv2 Member

these are really great. you got a solid magazine look going however i really don't like on axis fill it takes all the definition away. a better way to get this look while still maintaining definition in the face is to use some clamshell lighting.