SOLVED Monitor going blank randomly

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting Help' started by Yehat, Nov 7, 2018.

?

Monitor Next steps

  1. It's dead Jim - time to move on, don't spend more money on it

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Buy another power adapter and try that (then refer to option 1 above)

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Other (please specify details in post)

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. Nacho Nacho Man...I want to be the Nacho Man!!

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. Yehat

    Yehat Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    443
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Hi looking for some opinions/advice,

    Monitor: Samsung s27a950d

    Background:
    • Monitor is about 5+ years old and had been working perfectly till about a month ago when one day it didn't power on at all.
    • No externally visible signs of root cause (i.e. no smoke/burning smell, no sparks, no popping sound etc just wouldn't power on).
    • Took a punt and bought a replacement power adapter off e-bay (a Samsung one with same part/model as the original).
    • Now the monitor powers up and the display picture quality is fine except for one glaring issue below.

    What's the Issue:
    When the screen is on for periods of time (sometimes a few minutes, sometimes say 15mins), it will randomly go blank, wait a few seconds, then the picture will come back. When this happens it will repeat 3-4 times before going back to normal. It's pretty annoying when it happens during a game (especially multiple times) that's for sure. If in windows, it will make the sound that a device has been disconnected, and then reconnected.

    I've been able to replicate a similar issue outside of Windows (like if I'm at the bios screen):
    • If I go into the on screen controls and increase the brightness above 72/100 (factory default is 66/100).
    • When this happens the monitor looks like it's rebooting as it goes blank and then the increased brightness setting isn't persisted.
    • But in this case it doesn't go blank 3-4 times it's just once.
    • Changing other settings (like contrast) on the OSD works without issues.

    Troubleshooting Attempted - (based on google): Running with just the single monitor connected only (i.e. removed secondary monitor)
    • Turning it on/off again multiple times
    • Leaving monitor unplugged for hours and trying again (to see if it's possibly a heat issue, but same result).
    • "Factory Reset" on the monitor multiple times
    • Plugging into different power sockets (within a powerboard and directly into different wall sockets)
    • Different interface cables (switched between 2xHDMI, 2xDisplayport cables)
    • Changing the windows refresh rate (120hz, 100hz, 60hz) and changing the monitor's "refresh interval" setting (Fastest->Normal)
    • Tried different systems/video cards (GTX1070, RX570) with latest drivers
    • As a comparison using a different monitor works fine with no issues with the above cables/power sockets/systems.

    My Suspicion?
    (a) It could either be the replacement power adapter isn't quite right.
    (b) Or (more likely I think) whatever caused the original power adapter to not work is actually a failure inside the monitor itself and the original power adapter (and this one) not working is just the symptom and not the root cause?

    For your consideration/input ?
    Given the above details I'm not sure if it's worth trying to buy an additional power adapter to rule out if the e-bay one could be an issue (as mentioned previously it is a Samsung one which matches the original specs/part number).

    On one hand it's been a really good monitor but I wouldn't want to keep throwing good money after bad particularly on something that's 5+ years old already.

    I'm interested in people's thoughts as to either what else I might be able to check/do, and/or if you think given the details it's likely/unlikely another power adapter would be worthwhile buying?

    Thanks for your consideration.

    tldr: monitor stopped working suddenly, replaced the power adapter and now it works but intermittently goes blank for few seconds at random times.
     
  2. miicah

    miicah Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    5,559
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD
    I had a similar issue with a BenQ monitor, except it wouldn't power back on. You had to power cycle and then it would work for another 15mins and it would happen again.

    I pulled it apart to check for blown caps etc but couldn't find anything. Gave up on it eventually.
     
    Yehat likes this.
  3. sTeeLzor

    sTeeLzor Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,728
    Try turning down the Frequency of the Monitor. Dont run it at the 120Hz. I had an issue with my Benq 144Hz monitor that has disappeared since I set it to 120Hz.
     
    Yehat likes this.
  4. OP
    OP
    Yehat

    Yehat Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    443
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Thanks for the suggestion. Unfortunately i tried (in amongst the wall of text) dropping the frequency from 120hz to 100hz and 60hz with same results.
     
  5. sTeeLzor

    sTeeLzor Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,728
    Ah well thought that might have helped. Good luck in your search. From memory that was a pretty nice monitor for its time.
     
    Yehat likes this.
  6. OP
    OP
    Yehat

    Yehat Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    443
    Location:
    Melbourne
    yeah definitely no complaints it's been a solid gaming monitor.

    Posting incase someone else has the exact same problem down the track and in frustration stumbles on this thread:

    I gradually increased the brightness one at a time, very slowly it got to 74 and then the monitor behaves like a slow strobe light. Picture -> few seconds -> Blank screen -> repeat. Waiting or powering off doesn't fix it at this point, next time it gets a signal it just goes in to a loop. So it got me thinking if upping the brightness greatly reduces the stability, does decreasing it help it ? Been running at the "standard" preset brightness setting (lower than default) and been up for about 2hrs which is by *far* the longest it's been stable (touch wood). Certainly not a solution (as there's still something going wrong internally), but atleast it's a temporary workaround for now.


    Edit 14/11 its been a week now and above workaround seems to be holding up ok. Updated thread prefix to Solved.
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2018 at 11:33 AM
  7. DarkSnipa

    DarkSnipa Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2017
    Messages:
    374
    Location:
    Perth
    This sounds so similar to the issue I had with a brand new Benq monitor I bought for my relative except when the monitor will went blank very randomly and you will have to restart the machine in order to it working again, I eventually tried a different motherboard BIOS and the issue was gone.
     

Share This Page