MSDN Library April 2003 Free!!

Discussion in 'Programming & Software Development' started by Ch00k, Apr 16, 2003.

  1. Wizardx8

    Wizardx8 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    2,742
    Location:
    Singapore
    So, anyopne able to provide this on CD for the cost of Cd's + postage?
     
  2. Jive Honky

    Jive Honky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,390
    Location:
    Melbourne, VIC
    Anyone else having problems accessing the 1st image?

    EDIT: Never mind, the server's just being hammered. :D
     
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2003
  3. StratosFear

    StratosFear Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    8,147
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    working on this end
     
  4. Ranchu

    Ranchu Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,131
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I'm downloading them now.

    Send me a PM if you want a copy and I might be able to accomodate you ;)
     
  5. Ranchu

    Ranchu Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,131
    Location:
    Brisbane
    OK I've got the three .img files but I can't seem to burn them. CloneCD apparently supports this format but requires a .ccd file which is not listed on the site. Any advise?
     
  6. dewey

    dewey Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    792
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    my best advice would be to install the free app 'daemon tools', mount the image to a virtual drive... then use the virtual drive in cloneCD to do a disc copy (on the fly is fine :p).

    Dewey
     
  7. mpot

    mpot Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    5,372
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Alternatively, you can use IsoBuster to extract the contents out of the image.

    Cheers,
    Martin.
     
  8. Tanus

    Tanus Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    923
    Location:
    Melbourne
    yeah, isobuster is pretty damn :cool:
     
  9. Ranchu

    Ranchu Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,131
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Thanks everyone.

    I tried Isobuster but unfortunately it didn't work. To cut a long story short I simply renamed the .img files to .iso files and they burnt OK with Nero.

    A few people have PM/emailed me requesting CDs. I'm asking $5 per set to cover the cost of the CDs, postage and packaging.

    I want to do them all this afternoon so that I can send them out tomorrow. If anyone else is interested please contact me.

    EDIT: I've tested all the CDs by installing the complete package on my HDD. They work fine without any errors.
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2003
  10. t_rex

    t_rex Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    4,018
    Location:
    3031 Melb
    Ah thanks :)

    You've got a PM Ranchu :)
     
  11. mpot

    mpot Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    5,372
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    There was no need to rename the files....Nero can burn from .img files too.

    When selecting the image to burn, you just need to change the file type from "Image Files (*.nrg,*.iso,*.cue)" to "All Files (*.*)".

    Cheers,
    Martin.
     
  12. OP
    OP
    Ch00k

    Ch00k Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    1,405
    Location:
    Melbourne
    They've been mirrored on Telstra's file server finally.

    Disc 1
    Disc 2
    Disc 3


    *starts hammering server*
     
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2003
  13. =xer0=

    =xer0= Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Messages:
    1,679
    Location:
    Perth, Joondalup

    i was downloading..... i got about 200mb into the first cd and then it decided to stop
    and it wont start again :(
    any ideas ?
     
  14. OP
    OP
    Ch00k

    Ch00k Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    1,405
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Argh! I cant burn them. Nero wants to know about the block size or something, but it complains no matter what setting I use. ISOBuster couldnt extract the files either!
     
  15. Ranchu

    Ranchu Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,131
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Cool I will remember that for next time.

    I've sent out the disks today for those that sent me their details yesterday.
     
  16. PappaSmurf

    PappaSmurf Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    3,286
    Location:
    sydney.nsw.australia
    Daemon tools are your friends - someone give him a link, or just google... mount the image, and copy the files.

    I'm downloading now, I'll tell you if it works in a bit.
     
  17. cino

    cino Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    97
    Location:
    Melbourne
  18. PappaSmurf

    PappaSmurf Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    3,286
    Location:
    sydney.nsw.australia
    Are files hosted by Telstra at the links above (the recently hosted telstra ones) free (no data) for BPA cable?

    I'm getting a little close to my cap and the damn usage meter hasn't updated for ages thats all
     
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2003
  19. AndyCosmonaut

    AndyCosmonaut Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Messages:
    163
    Yeah they are.
     
  20. mpot

    mpot Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    5,372
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Hmm....restarting worked fine for me with GetRight.

    Nero and IsoBuster didn't have any problems with my downloaded .img files. Maybe yours are corrupt ;-(

    Maybe if someone else still has the .img files on their HDD, they can do an md5sum of them, and post the md5sums here, so you can check the md5sum of the imgs you've downloaded.

    Cheers,
    Martin.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: