Multimeter - occasional home use is cheap ok?

Discussion in 'Electronics & Electrics' started by Bold Eagle, Jul 9, 2019.

  1. Alby1976

    Alby1976 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2002
    Messages:
    1,615
    Location:
    Mt Isa, again....
    Powerprobe, I need to get me one of them.
     
  2. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    59,739
    Location:
    brisbane
  3. cvidler

    cvidler Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    12,473
    Location:
    Canberra
    Highly recommend it. I borrowed one for a day, then immediately bought my own.

    Paid for itself the first car re-wire I did.
     
  4. Symon

    Symon Castigat ridendo mores

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,615
    Location:
    Brisbane QLD
    I have one of those, would also recommend :thumbup:

    For a hobbyist or general stuff at ELV the cheapies are fine. My first ever multimeter was a DSE branded analogue unit, cost me $30 almost 30 years ago - I still have it and it still works. The $40 cheapie I have kicking around in my 4WD has lasted for at least 10 years now.

    If you are actually going to use the meters at voltages above ELV then you need to spend the cash on a quality unit.
     
    Fred Nurk likes this.
  5. DVDHack

    DVDHack Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,363
    Location:
    Regional Vic
    If you decide to buy a quality meter, like a fluke, don’t buy it on eBay or be very careful. There are many fakes out there.
     
  6. Matthew kane

    Matthew kane Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,358
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Fake Flukes are generally easy to distinguish from genuine units.
     
  7. DVDHack

    DVDHack Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,363
    Location:
    Regional Vic
    Maybe, I’ve heard they are very good and hard to tell apart. Anyway, if you’ve never used one....
     
  8. gdjacobs

    gdjacobs Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,602
    Location:
    MB, Canada
    There are some reliable vendors on Ebay. Doesn't Keysight have a refurb store for test gear?
     
  9. heller44

    heller44 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    826
    Location:
    perth, SOR
    I have a mix of fluke meters, megger, kyritsu, yokogawas and other miscellaneous crap that I use for work.

    That said when my brother asked for recommendations of a meter for home, and checking dc automotive and end of line resistance for his job.. UNI-T DIGITAL UT210E

    Small, decent, good dc clamp reading. Don't need to go fancy.
     
  10. Matthew kane

    Matthew kane Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,358
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I know they have one in NA region which is where I bought my older Agilent A series LCR meter and DMM from.
     
  11. adamsleath

    adamsleath Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    15,393
    Location:
    Sunnybank Q4109
    have a fluke. mid range. expensive. i dont need it. it's a fetish. got it from a local reseller.
    put a nice long life lithium battery in it.
     
  12. DVDHack

    DVDHack Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,363
    Location:
    Regional Vic
    I also bought a new one in Adelaide when I was working at Torrens island power station as a tech. That was in 1990s, I think, I still have the 8060A and it still works, the old lcd screen take a bit to warm for all the segments to work but it’s fine, after 30yrs. Buy quality, buy once.

    I have bought a few cheap fluke multimeters on this forum recently, I’m happy to fix them up and treat them as they should be, people do kind of abuse them.
     
    adamsleath likes this.
  13. adamsleath

    adamsleath Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    15,393
    Location:
    Sunnybank Q4109
    115 true RMS here.

    old one was a "23" something is borked with it. it turns on but the V,A, readings are all wrong...
     
  14. DVDHack

    DVDHack Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,363
    Location:
    Regional Vic
    Open the 23 up and check the dial, I’ve never had a issue with one of those (I bought a 87 I needed to fix) but you can probably use some contact cleaner to fix the dial. Have a look around on the web, they are built to be fixed, they come apart easily and usually only have a single main board. I doubt it’s anything major. I’d guess it would be the rotary dial.

    If you can’t fix it put it on eBay, someone will buy it and fix it, better than chucking it out.
     
  15. adamsleath

    adamsleath Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    15,393
    Location:
    Sunnybank Q4109
    yeh tried cleaning it already. i gave up on it.
    if you were local id give it to you. :p
    its a keep sake. it was my dad's. no longer with us :(
     
  16. th3_hawk

    th3_hawk Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,842
    Location:
    [VIC] Eastern Suburbs
    I have a Digitech QM-1538 I bought in October 2006 from Jaycar... the receipt is still in that box ($49.95) ;)

    I have the temp probe and software CD for logging, but strangely not the RS232 cable. It may be in a box somewhere, but it's not something I recall ever actually using.

    I've only doing low voltage stuff in Cars, RC Toys and other small electronics from time to time, most of the time I would probably get by with a light globe based circuit test, but a multimeter is very very handy to have around. This one is still going strong 13 years later.



    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2019

Share This Page

Advertisement: