1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

Multiple Networks

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by TheVON, Oct 23, 2017.

?

Can 2 Networks run on a single PC

  1. Yes

    5 vote(s)
    100.0%
  2. No

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Not Sure... MAybe

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. TheVON

    TheVON Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    1/. Primary 1GBe network -

    IP Range: 192.168.1.1 - 192.168.1.256
    Subnet: 255.255.255.0
    Gateway: 192.168.1.1

    I am setting up a second 10GBe network using 2 x ASUS 10GBe Areion NICs with a Netgear Prosafe 10GBe XS708Ev2 Managed Switch.

    2/. Secondary 10GBe network -

    IP Range: 192.168.0.1 - 192.168.0.256
    Subnet: 255.255.252.0
    Gateway: No Gateway
    ( LAN Only for file transfers )

    I think the Unidentified Network is my problem is there a way to make it Network 2

    [​IMG]
    can it be changed to this shown below
    [​IMG]

    I can ping all of these


    Switch: 10GBe IP Address - 192.168.0.239 ( Running in DHCP )

    PC 1: 10GBe IP Address - 192.168.0.210 ASUS 10GBe Areion NIC ( Windows 10 Pro x64 )

    PC 2: 10GBe IP Address - 192.168.0.71 ASUS 10GBe Areion NIC ( Windows 10 Pro x64 )

    NAS: 10GBe IP Address - 192.168.0.60 (Synology 814+ with 4 x 1GB ports ) I bonded 3 ports
    for a 3GBe connection

    I cannot seem to seem to get the shares on PC1 , PC2 & NAS to work ( see pic above )
    hope you can understand all this I am a Noob at multiple networking


    Any Help or Idea's would be greatly Appreciated



    TheVON
     
  2. evilasdeath

    evilasdeath Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    5,026
    your subnet mask is wrong on network 2 should be 255.255.255.0 not 255.255.252.0

    252.0 actually has a range of 192.168.0.0>192.168.3.255

    which mean your subnets overlap confusing windows

    you also need to make sure file sharing is enabled on the 10gbe interface and probably worth disabling it on the 1gbe unless you have other hosts?
     
  3. Doc-of-FC

    Doc-of-FC Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,396
    Location:
    Canberra
    I was wondering how you could register 9 bits in an 8 bit register for a .256 ip address ;)
     
    knoted likes this.
  4. nicholasporison

    nicholasporison Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    Messages:
    180
    Location:
    Melbourne(Vic), Australia
    wrong subnet mask
     
  5. OP
    OP
    TheVON

    TheVON Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    What would be the correct one to use ?
     
  6. evilasdeath

    evilasdeath Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    5,026
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: