My first retail i7 980X experience !

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by eva2000, Dec 12, 2010.

  1. eva2000

    eva2000 DDR1/DDR2/DDR3 Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    21,902
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    It's been a while since i even booted up my bench rigs due to work, medical problems with family and myself been out of it for a while. Prior was benching with my trust i7 980X ES 3951A763 batch B1 step cpu. But I had bought a i7 980X retail cpu months ago but never had time to test it out until now :)

    It's also first time 3d benching on my new Dell U2410 LCD monitors I bought back in June - finally got off the old 1600x1200 BenQ FP2091 LCD monitor :D

    Started some higher oc'ing bench sessions with my first retail i7 980X cpu - not bad at 4800Mhz needs slightly more vcore than my i7 980X ES 3951A763 cpu. All on water cooled cpu :D

    Left memory underclocked to just test cpu first. Yes all still on Asus P6T6 WS Revolution with 80GB Intel X25-M G2 as OS drive.

    Super Pi 32M

    [​IMG]

    PCMark Vantage

    [​IMG]
     
  2. OP
    OP
    eva2000

    eva2000 DDR1/DDR2/DDR3 Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    21,902
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    3DMark11 - cat 10.11 doesn't scale well with 3x or 4x GPU so will try older drivers later

    [​IMG]

    Better scaling with cat 10.5 drivers

    [​IMG]

    3DMark Vantage

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2010
  3. OP
    OP
    eva2000

    eva2000 DDR1/DDR2/DDR3 Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    21,902
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    3DMark06

    [​IMG]

    3DMark05
    [​IMG]

    3DMark2003
    [​IMG]
     
  4. MrRevhead

    MrRevhead Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,610
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Welcome back George!

    Long time no see. Hope all is well now!

    Good to see you're still doing some top notch A1 quality benching. :thumbup:
     
  5. OP
    OP
    eva2000

    eva2000 DDR1/DDR2/DDR3 Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    21,902
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2010
  6. 3Tone

    3Tone (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,335
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Welcome back eva! Good to see you back on the horse. :)

    You're using water cooling for those results I assume?
     
  7. OP
    OP
    eva2000

    eva2000 DDR1/DDR2/DDR3 Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    21,902
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    yup water cooled cpu :)

    Had some issues with Quad Crossfire with HD5970 + 2x HD5870 in that even at i7 980X @4.2Ghz 1.288v volts, the oc'd GPUs seem to have maxed out my Corsair HX1000 psu so clocked the 4x GPU @950/1263.

    Powermate wattage meter measured load (watts):

    4x GPU
    • @950/1263 = 896 watts peak
    • @975/1263 = 958 watts peak system rebooted in GT1 midway - probably due to HD5970 needing 1.287v for 975-990mhz GPU clocks
    • @990/1263 = 986 watts peak system rebooted in GT1 midway - probably due to HD5970 needing 1.287v for 975-990mhz GPU clocks

    3DMark 11 scores


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  8. snappy1

    snappy1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    4,165
    Location:
    Benching
    Thanks for posting that up Eva, I am running nearly identical hardware except for a 4 way classi, same PSU, I wondered how much it was drawing from the wall :Paranoid:
     
  9. OP
    OP
    eva2000

    eva2000 DDR1/DDR2/DDR3 Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    21,902
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    You must have less voltage consuming GPUs to just get under the threshold for single HX1000 :)

    First time ever using dual psu as never needed it before. Using Corsair HX1000 + Silverstone OP1200 psu. HX1000 for main system and 2x HD5870 and OP1200 solely for HD5970. Allowed me to push higher for sure.

    HD5970 is consuming around 310-340 watts itself oc'd. As for main rig with 2x HD5870

    i7 980X at 4.0ghz
    • @950/1263 = 605 watts peak load for HX1000
    • @960/1263 = 615 watts peak load for HX1000
    • @975/1272 = 639 watts peak load for HX1000

    i7 980X @4.8Ghz
    • @975/1272 = 742 watts peak load for HX1000
    • @980/1282 = 755 watts peak load for HX1000
    • @985/1272 = 755 watts peak load for HX1000 so total wattage is around 755 + 340 = 1095 watts

    best 2 runs

    3dmark11

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Moving closer to 15k

    i7 980X @4.625Ghz
    HD5970 @985/1282 + 2x HD5870 @1000/1282
    Asus P6T6 WS Revolution
    HX1000 + OP1200

    3dmark11 = 14,806 http://3dmark.com/3dm11/177436

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2010
  10. OP
    OP
    eva2000

    eva2000 DDR1/DDR2/DDR3 Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    21,902
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Seems HD5970 is holding me back, pushing HD5970 to 995/1282 and HD5870 beyond 1282mhz memory at 1030/1300 results in lower 3dmark11 scores around 14,732

    So best so far is HD5970@990/1282 + 2xHD5870 @1000/1282 = 14,858 http://3dmark.com/3dm11/178072

    [​IMG]

    nevermind, finally, broke 15k 3dmark11 with HD5970 + 2x HD5870 :D

    3dmark11 = 15,049 http://3dmark.com/3dm11/189647

    i7 980X @4.7ghz
    HD5970@995/1297 + 2xHD5870 @1030/1282
    Asus P6T6 WS Revolution
    HX1000 + OP1200

    Powermate measured 785 watts from HX1000 psu, so ~340-350w from OP1200 = 1,135 watts for system :)

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2010
  11. WishBone17

    WishBone17 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    4,412
    Location:
    Dundas (Sydney)
    Wow nice 3dmark scores mate!
     
  12. Johnny87au

    Johnny87au New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Nice runs mate!! I swear on i4memory u have tested atleast 10x 980x :rolleyes:
     
  13. OP
    OP
    eva2000

    eva2000 DDR1/DDR2/DDR3 Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    21,902
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    thanks guys

    nah only had the one 980X ES and now this is my first 980X retail :)
     
  14. Johnny87au

    Johnny87au New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    ahh hehe:thumbup:
     
  15. dmandn

    dmandn Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,895
    Location:
    Western Australia
    Which catalyst version did you use when you broke 15k?
     
  16. Bruiserdor

    Bruiserdor Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Evans head
    Hi eva2000, I have a couple of ES 000x 6 core intel cpu's that seem to be locked at 23x they were sent to me by a mate at intel and I wonder if you know of any software that might allow me to unlock them? Or if you have heard of any?or if it's possible?
    I think these chips are early examples of 980's as they have all the same spec's.Core temp calls them 960x's ES while cpuz says 000x ES, they are set at 3.07, I've got 1 running @4.2 on an ASRock extreme3 board and the other at stock on an DFI board if thats any help!
     
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2010
  17. OP
    OP
    eva2000

    eva2000 DDR1/DDR2/DDR3 Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    21,902
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    10.5a :)

    Are they B1 ES ? probably need bios updates not sure my 980X ES is B1 step unlocked multi
     
  18. Bruiserdor

    Bruiserdor Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Evans head
    Mine are rev A0!

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2010
  19. fatguy1992

    fatguy1992 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,149
    Where did you buy it from?

    BTW IIRC ES ones did not have temp readers on them.
     
  20. Bruiserdor

    Bruiserdor Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Evans head
    Buy? whats that lol, These are ES they were sent to me from a mate who works for Intel! They are marked "intel confidential" and ES:)
    They are not a standard Gulftown, thats why I'm trying to work out if they can be unlocked or not, Ive had 1 up to 4.6 but unstable 4.2 is good but I'm only new to O/Cing!
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2011

Share This Page