My HTPC Part Recommendations

Discussion in 'HTPC' started by Oppressa, Sep 2, 2009.

  1. pie123

    pie123 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    601
    Location:
    Coburg
    Use Digitalnow for the Hauppauge, they are quick, reliable and decently priced.
    I used them for mine, as well as another tuner a couple of years ago.

    http://www.digitalnow.com.au/product_pages/HVR2200.html
     
  2. Azrael

    Azrael Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    9,015
    Location:
    Melbourne
  3. muggons

    muggons Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    I can recommend the Compro Videomate E700 as well, dual TV tuners and costs around $130, also comes with a MCE remote which is handy
     
  4. Azrael

    Azrael Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    9,015
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Ok, after looking tonight it seems that the problem ill have with both the Compro and the Hauppage is that the PCIE slots on my board are space wise quite short within the case, and from pictures of the Compro and the Hauppage i doubt they will fitt (the DVD slot extends a fair way into the case, and isnt overly high as it has the HDD caddy underneath)

    Ill still investigate them, but what about the PCI ones?
     
  5. acebeast

    acebeast Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    81
    Location:
    Adelaide,S.A.
    It'd be a lot easier and cheaper just to pick up a new PS3 slim.
     
  6. NSanity

    NSanity Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    18,314
    Location:
    Canberra
    how do you go about playing....

    a) Region A/C BD's
    b) MKV's with FLAC/Lossless Audio
    c) Transcoding TV
    d) more than 120gb HDD space (Slim is not "user upgradable" irc)


    etc

    etc

    etc...
     
  7. DrClaw

    DrClaw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    932
    Location:
    Melbourne, VIC
    PS3Slim has a user upgradable hard drive, just to clarify. It's just as easy (or even easier) as swapping it in the original PS3Phat.

    HTH
     
  8. MrSmoke

    MrSmoke Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,368
    Location:
    NSW, Blue Mtns NizzleBiX
  9. NSanity

    NSanity Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    18,314
    Location:
    Canberra
    Stand Corrected. You aren't putting a very large on in though - or are they 3.5in now?
     
  10. Spectre87

    Spectre87 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    387
    Location:
    Perth
    For Media Software, I've been running Media Portal, with the Moving Pictures, and My TV Series plug-ins.

    Remote wise, I've been using a Logitech Harmony.
     
  11. DrClaw

    DrClaw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    932
    Location:
    Melbourne, VIC
    Nah still 2.5" - I just put a 500 jiggabyte one in my PS3Phat the other day.


    Just for reference, I have a HTPC and a PS3. I use the PS3 primarily for games and bluray movies, and the HTPC for everything else.

    I don't use the PS3 much at home for media for the following reasons :

    Browsing thru lots of media sucks - no nested folders, only limited codec support, bluetooth remote only (so it doesn't work with my logitech harmony one), can't easily record TV yet in AU, doesn't look as pretty as W7 MC :)

    But if I head away or over to a mate's place, I just chuck everything onto the PS3 and it gives me games and media, so that's a win :)

    HTH
     
  12. OP
    OP
    Oppressa

    Oppressa Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2004
    Messages:
    5,573
    Location:
    Sydney
    http://www.netplus.com.au/product/H...10EADS-32Mb-SATA-2-Hard-Drive-IntelliPower-GP

    http://gocomp.com.au/index.php?cpath=productinfo&pid=II03061&catpath=0_14_88

    PCI Cards:
    http://www.comprousa.com/en/tvcard.html

    Here's a low profile one:
    http://www.scorptec.com.au/computer/18978-novat500

    And some more :D
    http://www.pcauthority.com.au/Feature/78075,pci-dvbt-tv-tuners.aspx
     
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2009
  13. mtw

    mtw Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    2,012
    Location:
    Sydney
    So what (if any) limitations are there to a system based on your recommendations? Quality playback etc.

    EDIT: Also, has anyone here used the LITE-ON iHOS104 BLURAY ROM? It's a tad under $120 from AnyPC - if it's not a pos I'd actually consider Bluray.

    CPU: $86.90 - ANYPC - AMD ATHLON X2 Dual Core 5050e
    Motherboard: $108 - ABIT - ASRock AOD790GX/128M
    Ram: $95 - ABIT - Corsair TWIN2X4096-6400C5 4GB
    HDD: $115.98 - ANYPC - WD 1TB SATA2 II 32M Green Power
    TV Tuner: $189 - DigitalNow - Hauppauge HVR2200
    Case: $149 - ABIT - Antec NSK2480 Micro ATX

    Total: $743.88

    ODD: $119.88 - ANYPC - LITE-ON iHOS104 BLURAY ROM, 4xBLU-RAY READ, 12xDVD-R, 8xDVD-RW, 32xCDRW

    Total: $863.76

    That is essentially what I'm looking at buying. With the possible addition of that bluray drive if it's decent. Any clashes/difficulties I should know of? I know I could get some of them cheaper from different stores, but I can pickup from both of these stores so I save on delivery from multiple different places.

    If that bluray drive IS a pos, which drive would you choose from one of the two stores I'm going to for a HTPC? Also, is that RAM a bit overkill (Most likely run Windows 7 MC) - it seems to be a bit more expensive than I remember.
     
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2009
  14. nathanblogs

    nathanblogs Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    3,079
    I'm going to build one soon:

    So far I got :
    mobo + cpu - $125 , Asus P5GC - MX Micro ATX board & E6320 C2D cpu
    RAM 1gb ddr2 - $20
    GFX Sapphire HD4350 512M Silent GDDR2 PCIE - $50
    OLD 200gb sata HD - I recently upgrade to 1.5tbs so free ?
    case + psu ~ 150

    total: ~350.

    Might need a silent cooling on the cpu, but time will tell.

    I don't think I will use it to watch/record tv so no tuner needed, and I will use my comp which is on 24/7 anyways for storage.

    So I am just in search of a good case + psu, which I will probably go something like http://www.abit.com.au/computer-system/9864_Antec_NSK2480___Black_Silver_Micro.aspx since I already have one of these and it has been a very good case.
     
  15. OP
    OP
    Oppressa

    Oppressa Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2004
    Messages:
    5,573
    Location:
    Sydney
    This is a bit of a negative for that LiteOn drive:
    So it's a player only, not a burner. Full review here:
    http://computershopper.com/hard-drives-burners/reviews/lite-on-ihos104-bd-rom

    Everything else looks fine, nice price on the case! If you're tight on cash, get 2Gb rather as you won't be doing anything too intensive if you're just using it as a HTPC.
     
  16. mtw

    mtw Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    2,012
    Location:
    Sydney
    So 2gb is more than enough for a Windows 7 HTPC - that's what I wanted to know thanks :)

    Also, I don't think i'll be burning anything with the drive. It literally would just be used for reading so that doesn't seem to be an issue. So this is looking like it might be what I end up getting. Is it really worth the extra money to get the below, over say a $300 budget htpc?

    CPU: $86.90 - ANYPC - AMD ATHLON X2 Dual Core 5050e
    Motherboard: $108 - ABIT - ASRock AOD790GX/128M
    Ram: $49 - ABIT - Corsair CM2X2048-6400C5 2GB
    HDD: $115.98 - ANYPC - WD 1TB SATA2 II 32M Green Power
    TV Tuner: $189 - DigitalNow - Hauppauge HVR2200
    Case: $149 - ABIT - Antec NSK2480 Micro ATX
    ODD: $119.88 - ANYPC - LITE-ON iHOS104 BLURAY ROM, 4xBLU-RAY READ, 12xDVD-R, 8xDVD-RW, 32xCDRW

    Total: $817.76
     
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2009
  17. OP
    OP
    Oppressa

    Oppressa Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2004
    Messages:
    5,573
    Location:
    Sydney
    What are the specs on the +-$300 one you're thinking of?
     
  18. mtw

    mtw Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    2,012
    Location:
    Sydney
    Any of the ones from here basically: http://forums.overclockers.com.au/showthread.php?t=811143

    They all seem to be a lot cheaper, although it would cost a tiny bit more for me because I'd want a proper htpc case rather than re-using an old box.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: