[PROJECT] My Model Train Set (WARNING many images)

Discussion in 'Other Toys/Hobbies' started by capt0, Sep 20, 2011.

  1. capt0

    capt0 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    191
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I started rebuilding mine in Brisbane in Febuary this year. I stripped it down and got it to a stage where i had started hills. Then I got a job in Canberra so had to leave it behind. My Brisbane set is 2400x1200 but I am building a new set in Canberra that is 2400x3600.

    My Brisbane set got to the stage where I had just finished getting the track perfect, I had all the points motorised and connected up to the control board and I had started to do the paper mache for the hills.

    The set is fully DCC.

    My new track is going to be a german/french based HO layout. I have heaps of high speed trains and french trains. My current list is:

    Full 10 car Trix TGV
    Full 10 car Trix Thayls PABK
    4 car Lima Thayls
    7 car orange Lima TGV
    Roco ICE3 5 car
    Switzerland high speed 5 car
    2 French single rail cars
    2 french 3 car rail cars (TER)
    1 x 6 car Corail
    Small french shunting diesel

    All of the above is DCC with sound. I wish I already had the photos hosted.


    I shamelessly took the track layout for my Brisbane set from the first page of this thread and modified it to suit my layout.

    Here are the photos of my Brissy set:

    The start of the build:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    First lot of track:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    The underlay has been completed:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  2. OP
    OP
    capt0

    capt0 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    191
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Start of laying the track:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    First test run:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    The test DC analogue controller:
    [​IMG]

    The inners of my Orange TGV while I was hard wiring the DCC chip:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    The track complete with the sides
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    My first 2 digital trains:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    The last point motor:
    [​IMG]

    Control board:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    The wire framing before the mache:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    The first lot of paper mache layed:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    The bridge has been installed:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    The paper mache undercoat:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  3. crag_v

    crag_v Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,873
    Location:
    3091
    Thanks for sharing this - I love it! I know almost nothing about model trains (apart from drooling over models in hobby stores here and there) but it has always, always appealed to me. If I get the time I may just do it one day, but in the meantime I'll live vicariously through your thread. All the best with the build, it's looking great. Can't wait to see more!!

    ED. sorry to interrupt your thread at the start, didn't realise you were still posting!! I really like this pic too :)
     
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2011
  4. OP
    OP
    capt0

    capt0 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    191
    Location:
    Brisbane
  5. OP
    OP
    capt0

    capt0 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    191
    Location:
    Brisbane
    From here I moved to Canberra so my Brisbane set it is currently boxed up in storage :( Unfortuantely that layout was far too small for the full length passenger high speed trains. So my Canberra set is exactly 3 times the size to cater for all my new trains. My new set is 2400x3600 with a 1200 corner cut.

    Here is the Canberra set in progress:

    Testing the size of the boards:
    [​IMG]

    Starting laying the boards on the support framing
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]


    Few pictures of the trains I bought in France in July 2011 this year:

    Full 10 car TRIX TGV
    [​IMG]

    Full 10 cars on the kitchen bench
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  6. HUMMER

    HUMMER Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    8,786
    Location:
    sydney
    wow. nice. love the random weights used to weigh down the track as it was being built. :lol:
     
  7. crag_v

    crag_v Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,873
    Location:
    3091
    This is just fantastic. What an exciting new project!
     
  8. OP
    OP
    capt0

    capt0 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    191
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Pictures of my installing the digital sound decoders into 2 of my locos:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  9. OP
    OP
    capt0

    capt0 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    191
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Yea they were all i could find under the house while i was building it :p But really they did the job. I have to do it all again over the next coming weeks with my new set.
     
  10. HUMMER

    HUMMER Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    8,786
    Location:
    sydney
    was not knocking it. i do something similar all the time. all i can say is great work building this train set. :thumbup::thumbup:
     
  11. josh_676

    josh_676 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    8,102
    Looks like a very expensive hobby! How much time does a layout take to make? What are the modifications you are making the trains?
     
  12. OP
    OP
    capt0

    capt0 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    191
    Location:
    Brisbane
    The layout as you see it there is about $400 in wood.

    Then the track i have bought so far is worth over $1500. that is all the points and their motors and all the connectors.

    Then i have over $6000 in loco's sitting in the pictures.

    The modifications are DCC sound decoders. Basically making analogue trains into digital trains. Means that you have 1 power feed and can control each train individually.

    This link explains DCC:
    http://www.members.optusnet.com.au/nswmn2/DCC.htm#WhatDCC

    I just received 6 sound decoders from the states today. I need to work out what speakers I need and attach them to all the decoders then install them. This way i can control the trains individually and also play the horns individually and play engine sounds.
     
  13. Annihilator69

    Annihilator69 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Messages:
    6,036
    Location:
    Perth
    How fast can you crank these trains?
     
  14. OP
    OP
    capt0

    capt0 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    191
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Not really fast. But as fast as ur usual toy trainset.

    And no they can't jump
     
  15. OP
    OP
    capt0

    capt0 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    191
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I have finished putting the legs on the table and with much difficulty lifted it onto them.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  16. DonutKing

    DonutKing Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,204
    Location:
    Tweed/Gold Coast
    AWESOME!!! [​IMG]


    I don't know what's going on in these pictures but I love it.
    That's a HUGE table you've got, I take it this isn't the sort of thing you just pack away when you're not using it :lol:
    I take it the hole in the middle is where you will be controlling everything from?
    Do you have an engineer's hat and overalls? :D
     
  17. OP
    OP
    capt0

    capt0 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    191
    Location:
    Brisbane
    That is the base board :)

    It take s up the entire room so there is no packing it up or moving it.

    The middle is just an access portal.

    and i don't have a hat as of yet :( but i want one
     
  18. TERRA Operative

    TERRA Operative Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    6,925
    Location:
    Niraikanai
    I like trains. :)

    I used to have a HO train set that was a bit bigger than a single bed. Endless fun. My bro had N scale stuff, he wanted Z scale but it was sooo hard to find before it was so easy to buy off the net.
    I nostalgia hard whenever I see one being built. Be sure to keep us updated!
     
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2011
  19. sandwichamwin

    sandwichamwin Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,623
    Location:
    Sydney
    Mate that looks awesome! Wish I could dedicate that kind of space for trains but the woman would murder me. I have boxes of HO stuff stored away but no decent space (of my own) to use it. I saw this thread last night and have already starting planning a N guage layout haha. Some trains are already on the way :lol:

    Looking forward to seeing the progress :thumbup:
     
  20. Zee

    Zee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    10,430
    Location:
    SYD/MNL/SIN/SFO
    Epic - can't wait to see the finished product. It's interesting to go through the pics to see just how much work goes in to it..

    Z...
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: