My PC just keeps cutting out

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting Help' started by CountParadox, Oct 26, 2019.

  1. CountParadox

    CountParadox Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Location:
    Parramatta
    It just goes off while I'm using it, completely crashes, doesn't matter if it's under a heavy load or no load it just dies anywhere from 4 minutes to 20 minutes after booting up.


    Otherwise it runs fine.

    Research online points me to power supply overheating, it's fan doesn't even spin up(it stays off until it needs) but on the chance maybe it's broken I've tried facing an external fan over the PSU and no dice.


    Anybody have any ideas ?
     
  2. luke o

    luke o Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3,645
    Location:
    WA
    Temps? Got something like core temp or your mobo utility? Should tell you what temp all your sensor's are running at e.g CPU temp.

    Definitely sounds thermal cut out related, easiest option just swap out the psu.

    What system specs exactly? Is it all new build or an old build that's suddenly started doing this?
     
  3. OP
    OP
    CountParadox

    CountParadox Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Location:
    Parramatta

    I monitored temps with coretemp and everything looked fine that I could see, I even ran a heavylode for 2 hours and it was fine, it kept running fine until I turned it off. Then next time same issue, seems kind of intermittent


    I built it 6 months ago or so, it's got an it 8600 with 16g DDR4 2133, Corsair 850w, all purchased new


    Can't recall exact everything

    I'll see if I can find a PSU to test with
     
  4. ShadowBurger

    ShadowBurger Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,157
    Location:
    Melbourne
    tried a BIOS update?

    It's hardly definitive but in my experience power issues like this are related to motherboard faults. Have had a few that won't turn on, or turn off a few seconds after being turned on, etc. there's rarely a fix or identifiable cause other than just replacing the board
     
  5. straiton

    straiton Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    481
    Location:
    Adelaide
    tried removing/reseating all power related connectors?
     
    CountParadox likes this.
  6. Zee

    Zee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    11,583
    Location:
    SYD/MNL/SIN/SFO
    Blow the dust out of any heat sinks and fan blades?

    Z...
     
    CountParadox likes this.
  7. de_overfiend

    de_overfiend Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2001
    Messages:
    2,434
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    i have seen more and more of these corsair psus needing rma or replacement
    try a new psu and report results
     
    JSmithDTV and CountParadox like this.
  8. OP
    OP
    CountParadox

    CountParadox Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Location:
    Parramatta
    I have not but it's something I'll try
    Have just tried this and no good. Also tried removing GPU, all but 1 stick of ram and drives

    It wasn't that bad but I gave it a clean out and still happening

    I can't find my old psu so I need to borrow a power supply from someone... Oh boy
     
  9. Zee

    Zee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    11,583
    Location:
    SYD/MNL/SIN/SFO
    How long is it normally before a cut out? Which exact model?

    Z...
     
  10. JSmithDTV

    JSmithDTV Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2018
    Messages:
    8,268
    Location:
    Algol, Perseus
    Agree... and should be done soon before what is happening potentially damages other components.


    JSmith
     
  11. ShaggyMoose

    ShaggyMoose Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    472
    Location:
    Sydney
    You can easily rule out a heat problem by logging all temps to disk and then checking after a crash. More likely to be a bad component, probably PSU or RAM.
     
  12. spit051261

    spit051261 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2019
    Messages:
    2,834
    Location:
    Perth
    Do you have any other sticks of RAM you can try ?
    What sort of speeds are you running your RAM in Bios and are you using an XMP profile .
    Just to rule the Ram out because bad or incorrectly set up RAM can cause all sorts of issues.
     
  13. Ratzz

    Ratzz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Messages:
    10,037
    Location:
    Cheltenham East 3192
    Which model Corsair PSU is it? Some are great, some not so much. Lower than RM, often not a great PSU. RM, meh, good enough. HX/i and AX/i, :thumbup:
    That said, any PSU can develop faults early, regardless of quality.

    Another common cause of random crashes can be a bad RAM overclock. Are you running the RAM at default, XMP, or a custom OC? I've found that RAM OC'd on the bleeding edge in particular can pass memtest no problem, then crash for no apparent reason.
    I generally OC my ram at c14-3600, its rock solid, but if I push it up to c14-3666 it will appear to be stable, get through multiple passes of memtest no problem, then fall on its arse opening a flash file. (Ryzen, hence the lowish frequencies).

    Have you tried setting optimised defaults in the BIOS and running it for a few days to see if it shits again?
     
  14. spit051261

    spit051261 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2019
    Messages:
    2,834
    Location:
    Perth
    I had a similar thing and it was the RAM but that was just me mixing up the sticks .
    I actually changed the power supply first thinking it was dodgy voltages (which it wasn't) but ended up with a Corsair HX1200 and what a sweet power supply it is .
    Modular as well which is even better :)
     
  15. OP
    OP
    CountParadox

    CountParadox Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Location:
    Parramatta
    Any time from not even making it into the OS, to half an hour into an online game....
    Yes
    I'm thinking it's not heat, it doesn't make sense with how quick it happens sometimes.
    Ram would be running at stock speeds.

    My friend is coming over on Saturday so I can try out components from her PC to rule things out.
    I'll try the bios defaults but I don't think I've touched anything other than turning on vt-x....

    It's a Corsair hx850 platinum so it's unlikely but I'll still try another one.
    I'll try new ram this weekend from my friends pc, my biggest fear here is I can't find where I put the receipts for things that'll teach me to buy things in store rather than online
     
  16. broccoli

    broccoli Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    21,502
    Location:
    Perth
    The shops I go to put what I buy on my account, it's really handy if you need to find out when you bought something (and/or who from) and I don't need to search high and low for the receipt if there's an issue.
     
    CountParadox likes this.
  17. Mace

    Mace Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    493
    Location:
    Canberra
    If you've tested like this at minimum components, swapping out RAM, and it still crashes, then its the PSU or the Mobo.
    You only built it 6 months ago so both components are under warranty.
    Once you test it this weekend with your mates PSU, you'll know. ;)
     
    CountParadox likes this.
  18. adamsleath

    adamsleath Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    18,926
    Location:
    Sunnybank Q 4109
    if you havent already.
    completely dis-assemble.
    check / inspect everything. pins, sockets, etc.

    good point about the ram. run it stock. run motherboard settings stock (clear cmos). no oc on anything & update bios if you havent already.

    no point guessing about a faulty component until all isolation tests done.
    =========

    but my most common fault - in fact the only fault i've EVER had with ANY component, has been motherboards.
    ===

    you could run memtest 86 if you really wanted to from a usb stick.
    ===
    also, if you have a Restore Point available in windows to a time period prior to any problems occurring, that might be worth a try too (if it isnt too inconvenient) - to rule out any possible o/s corruption.
     
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2019
    Mace likes this.
  19. OP
    OP
    CountParadox

    CountParadox Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Location:
    Parramatta
    good idea, but what Ill do is disconnect the SSD / HDD entirely and runn off a Ubuntu USB for a while that can rule out both the drives and OS corruption here.

    It doesnt feeeel like an OS issue could cause this but computers have certainly done stranger things
     
    adamsleath likes this.
  20. adamsleath

    adamsleath Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    18,926
    Location:
    Sunnybank Q 4109
    good idea.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: