1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

My SIGMA 20-40 f2.8 EX DG Review [Updated!]

Discussion in 'Photography & Video' started by jakiman, Jun 23, 2006.

1. jakiman

jakiman Member

Hi all! First time ever posting in the ocau photography forums for me. =)
    (I'm no newbie when it comes to this field though.. hehe..)

anyways..

I am a Canon 20D user currently and after some financial issues, I had to sell all my lenses and was left with only the 50 1.4 lens. (Which is brilliant by the way..)

As I needed an "everyday" lens and always enjoy shooting close ups of everyday life situations and people around me, I decided to go for a wide zoom lens.

But money was an issue for me still. Then I found a brand new SIGMA 20-40mm F2.8 EX DG online for only AU$400 shipped from US..!! (From Cameta Photos - US$249 + US$50 for express USPS shipping with tracking - Zero GST and Custom Duty as it is below $500 in total. Ended up being around $410 all up.)

Official Link -> http://sigma-photo.com/lenses/lenses_all_details.asp?id=3259

So here it is.. A photo of my new "just arrive 2-days-ago" lens..

[​IMG]

It's an awkward focal length zoom lens for a DSLR but boy is it good.. (Equiv., 32-64 on the 20D.. 26-52 on the 1.3x crop 1D..)

The firt thing you notice is the size.. It's much bigger than the 17-40L lens and is also bigger than the Sigma 20 1.8 EX lens also.. (Looks similar though..) But it isn't heavy.. Only 590grams or so..

Then mount the lens and half press the shutter........omg....focusing motor sound is so robotic and high pitched.. quite loud actually.. sounds like a electric motor when it's not oiled properly.. lol..

But that's okay.. most of the time, this will either be shooting at infinity outdoors or shooting close up portraits indoors.. so it's not bad at all.. it still focuses fast enough for most purposes..