My Ultimate HTPC Silverstone CW03 Media Computer

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Hardware' started by smuller, Apr 14, 2009.

  1. smuller

    smuller Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Update: I uploaded a small movie here so you can see how the 7inch screen works.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TGgugnfUrWQ&feature=channel_page

    [​IMG]

    Yesterday I build my new HTCP computer and the intergrated 9400 chipset works great.

    My demands were that it had to play 1080p HD mkv movies and HD sound playback (FLAC, True-HD or DTS-MA) and at least 9TB storage room. Overall it has to be eye candy as well :D

    Total Price:

    AUD $3370
    US $2450
    EUR 1850

    This is my result With the advise from this and other forums:

    SilverStone’s Crown CW03B-MT (Black) http://www.silverstonetek.com/products/p_contents.php?pno=cw03&area=
    Gigabyte GA-E7AUM-DS2H http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1087407
    Corsair hx620w http://www.corsair.com/products/hx/default.aspx
    Intel Core™ 2 Duo E8500 http://ark.intel.com/cpu.aspx?groupId=33911
    Scythe Shuriken http://www.scythe-eu.com/en/products/cpu-cooler/shuriken.html
    LG Blu-Ray/HD DVD GGC-H20LRB http://www.instantpcshop.com.au/pcshop/446/index.php?productID=50569
    Silverstone FP34 Black http://www.silverstonetek.com/products/p_contents.php?pno=fp34
    Silverstone FP52 Black http://www.silverstonetek.com/products/p_contents.php?pno=fp52&area=usa
    Seagate 6x 1.5TB ST31500341AS http://www.seagate.com/ww/v/index.jsp?l ... Page=Model
    Corsair 4x1GB TWIN2X2048-6400C4 http://www.corsair.com/products/xms2/default.aspx
    Windows 64bit Ultimate http://www.microsoft.com/Windows/windows-vista/compare-editions/64-bit.aspx

    Pictures:

    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

    End result:

    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

    Using with MediaPortal:
    I am using the StreamedMP skin with moving pictures. Very cool fanart :)

    Moving Pictures
    [​IMG][​IMG]

    TV Series
    [​IMG][​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2009
  2. yanman

    yanman Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    6,587
    Location:
    Hobart
    Nice work smuller on getting the 9400!! Did you have to order that from the US? I haven't seen any for sale yet here in Aussie.

    btw bottom-left pic isn't linking.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    smuller

    smuller Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Yeah, couldn'f find the Gigabyte in Aussie so I had to buy this on from Ebay. It arrived 5 days later.

    Edit: picture problem solved
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2009
  4. Sphinx2000

    Sphinx2000 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2001
    Messages:
    6,546
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Looks very nice. :thumbup:

    Have you got a price break-down?

    Did the 9400 sting in price much?
     
  5. stablez

    stablez Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,038
    Location:
    Humidycrib
    Perfect.
    What else can i say.
    Not much heat generated there.
    A nice cpu.
    HD amd blu ray..
    What sound are you going to set up.
    What LCD are yo gonna use with htpc system..
    Ni:)ce
     
  6. OP
    OP
    smuller

    smuller Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Yes:



    1. Silverstone SilverStone’s Crown CW03B-MT (Black) $ 990
    2. Gigabyte GA-E7AUM-DS2H $ 280
    3. Corsair hx620w $ 170
    4. Intel Core™ 2 Duo E8500 $ 300
    5. Corsair 4x1GB TWIN2X2048-6400C4 $ 75
    6. Scythe Shuriken $ 90
    7. Seagate 6x 1.5TB ST31500341AS $1260
    8. LG Blu-Ray GGC-H20LRB $ 120
    9. 3.5 slot Silverstone FP34 Black $ 45
    10. 5.25 bay Silverstone FP52 Black $ 40

    Total
    AUD $3370
    US $2450
    EUR 1850

    Keep in mind that the case and 9TB storage is very expensive..........
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2009
  7. OP
    OP
    smuller

    smuller Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    LCD is Hitachi http://www.hitachi.com.au/pr-Hitachi-LCDTV-L42X01-FullHDTV.seo
    Its already 2 years old.

    I still have to buy a good receiver (using the Logitech Z-5500 now). I am using MKV files so the best way is to use Lossless FLAC
     
  8. Ogre

    Ogre Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,436
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Nice build, i was looking at a similar setup.

    Which seller did you buy the mobo from on ebay? at 80 bux postage not sure if it is worth it over a 9300 chipset.

    Also is that a Lian Li Tyr X2000 in those pics? what do you think of it? any downsides?
     
  9. OP
    OP
    smuller

    smuller Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Bought this from techtreasure, totalprice was AUD 280 including postage.

    The case is his smaller brother the X500 and it is great looking case which is also really silent.

    Before that I had a Cooler Master Stacker 830 Black edition which I am trying to sell now.
     
  10. mshagg

    mshagg Politburo

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    23,090
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Fark me, saw the $$$ and thought WTF... then clicked on the link to check out the lowdown on the case....

    Incredible. Just incredible.

    Enjoy :thumbup:
     
  11. OP
    OP
    smuller

    smuller Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Thanks mate, keep in mind that I paid AUD $1260,- for 9TB storage.
    A lot of people don't need that much so you can save at least $1000,- ;)
     
  12. mshagg

    mshagg Politburo

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    23,090
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Yeah that's a lot of blue ray linux ISOs :p

    Im guessing someone likes their bits perfect :)
     
  13. OP
    OP
    smuller

    smuller Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    No iso's for me (too big).

    Just perfect encodes and remuxes in MKV containers. Prefer with FLAC Lossless sound :leet:
     
  14. Ogre

    Ogre Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,436
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    do you know if you can turn off the LCD while watching tv/movie etc?
     
  15. OP
    OP
    smuller

    smuller Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Yes you can.

    I still have to figure out the best way to use my Big screen in combination with the LCD screen from the case.

    I am using MediaPortal and if I clone both screens I can only use 1920x1080 on 60hertz. The movies are playing fine on the big screen but sometimes there is a glitch.

    If I use the LCD screen from the case as default and the big screen as 2nd I can use 24p and the picture is amazing. The disadvantage is that I only can see MediaPortal on the small LCD screen and not on the big screen :confused:

    The other thing I need to know is how to use my Logitech Harmony one with this case and MediaPortal........
     
  16. Ogre

    Ogre Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,436
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    yeah i have always wondered about the remote side of it.

    my plan was to buy to a hauppauge remote and receiver as it is apparently the same as a microsoft one.

    then buy a logitech which should work right away with it.
     
  17. OP
    OP
    smuller

    smuller Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    You can setup the Logitech Harmony One as the Microsoft Media Remote. Still have to do it....

    Another upgrade for me is an TV card to record HD channels from Australia. Still have to be advised what card is the best option to use in Australia...
     
  18. Statts

    Statts RIP

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,504
    Location:
    Radelaide, SA
    Most seem to recommend the Hauppage HVR2200
     
  19. OP
    OP
    smuller

    smuller Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Ok thanks :)
     
  20. OP
    OP
    smuller

    smuller Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    39

Share This Page