My watercooled Gigabyte 570

Discussion in 'Extreme and Water Cooling' started by ojk007, Sep 18, 2007.

  1. ojk007

    ojk007 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,273
    So I finally got around to putting my watercooling gear in.

    System Specs:

    Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
    2GB OCZ Flex XLC PC2-9200
    XFX nForce 680i motherboard
    XFX 8800GTX
    Western Digital Raptor 150GB
    2x Samsung 500GB
    2x ASUS BLT DVD Burner
    Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570
    Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W PSU
    Logitech MX518


    Taken off the Stock NB and SB cooler. Put on one of the MCW30 chipset waterblocks. Added TIM to the NB.
    [​IMG]

    NB with its mounting bracket.
    [​IMG]

    NB MCW30 block on, TIM'd the cpu for the FuZion.
    [​IMG]

    FuZion!!
    [​IMG]


    After messy around with different ideas on how to step down the tubing from 1/2" ID to 1/4" ID for the ram, we (my father and i) came up with this solution. We are simply using a smaller barb, no conversion kits, and i have not seen any flow or pressure problems.
    [​IMG]

    The ram with its tubing. Very dissapointed that i could not find any 1/4" ID tubing. I'm using Thermaltake Tubing. i no i no...
    [​IMG]

    We mounted the put on the side of the case instead of the bottom, because the GTX is one long card.
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    The Radiator. Went to bunnings to get some metal to make the standoffs. At $1 each and maybe 20mins work it beats the commercial ones any day.
    [​IMG]

    This is where the tubing gets converted back to 1/2
    [​IMG]

    Because i have a 120x3 rad it wouldn't fit on the back. So i decided a roof mount would be best. I did buy grommets from bunnings, but i decided i would use the ones that came with the case, as i wouldnt't be using those holes.
    [​IMG]

    Preparing to leak test. I was a little worried about leaving everything inside to leak test. But my dad was convinced it wouldn't leak. Having trade experience and the fact that he still owns the computer (im paying it back.. was about $~4500+) we decided to go for it.
    [​IMG]

    Filling
    [​IMG]

    We had to have the rad about the pump to get fluid to it.
    [​IMG]

    My brother was home after work so he helped us out filling it.
    [​IMG]

    Rad mounted on top being bled.
    [​IMG]

    Leak testing.

    Found one leak on the barb on the SB Chipset. My fault i hadn't screwed it in tight enough. The leak was so small it didnt damage anything. But just to be sure we put a towel down and had it in a cup.
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    My dad and brother left to watch tv leaving me to watch over my rig.
    [​IMG]

    The final result before it was placed in its current home under my desk.
    [​IMG]


    Temps are currently (after being left on idle for 7 hours):
    CPU: 30°C
    System Ambient: 38°C
    GPU:67°C (not currently WC)
    Water Temp: ~34°C

    Im about to start OC'n

    oj
     
  2. Billabong00073

    Billabong00073 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    418
    Location:
    Frankston
    Nice setup mate :thumbup:

    I sware ive seen your brother somewhere. Where abouts do you live?
     
  3. OP
    OP
    ojk007

    ojk007 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,273
    lol you prob have. he manages a BWS store nex to sanddown. and hes been at some others, so you have probably run into him.

    Im about to start oc'n just ran some control benchmarks
     
  4. DavLe.BeRRy

    DavLe.BeRRy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,989
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Nice temps on the CPU so far, looks like you'll have a fair bit of head room for overclocking :)

    Is it a B3 or the 'infamous' G0? My watercooling will be here monday from San Jose California :D (Petras Tech shop) the order tracking has actually given me a "guarenteed delivery date" :shock: I'm ecstatic, can't wait to get it all in and see what my B3 can do :D

    good luck buddy, it looks great!

    edit: just read ur sig, G0..
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2007
  5. OP
    OP
    ojk007

    ojk007 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,273
    Oh its a G0, i waited a few weeks so i could get one. Yeah the temps seem pretty good. Ive got my ram up to 1200mhz atm, i know it can go 1350mhz with my board so once i can get it stable there i may try 4ghz for the G0.

    what do you guys think is a good 24/7 voltage for a G0 Q6600? 1.4? 1.3?
     
  6. fuller2002

    fuller2002 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,516
    Location:
    NSW, Sydney
    Very nice work, although im not really liking the smaller tubing, maybe a second loop could be used ?

    Matt.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    ojk007

    ojk007 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,273
    well as the overall pressure in the loop is low, it doesnt have any noticable effect. The only problem in that the SB MCW30 block, where it is originally stepped down was leaking a little due to the pressure. tightened it up and havent seen a leak at all. A second loop would be pointless as the ram isnt that hot, well not hot enough to warrent the price of its own loop anyway.
     
  8. /\/\usE+

    /\/\usE+ Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Messages:
    2,174
    Location:
    in the matrix
  9. DavLe.BeRRy

    DavLe.BeRRy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,989
    Location:
    Perth, WA
  10. OP
    OP
    ojk007

    ojk007 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,273
    i considered them, but im essentially achieving the same thing in a different place. and by not using it im reducing the failure points..

    1.5 you say? awesome

    currently i have got orthos stable 3.6 @ 1.4v @ 39C IDLE with the ram at 1200mhz @ 2.3v

    water temp is currently 24C
     
  11. DavLe.BeRRy

    DavLe.BeRRy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,989
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Haha awesome, i wonder how much more you can push it :weirdo:
    Don't take my word on the 1.5v but i see nothing wrong with it, like i say check the quad core overclocking range thread and see what other people recon.

    3.6GHz @ only 1.4v stable u say? :shock: am very interested in seeing how far you can push that!
     
  12. OP
    OP
    ojk007

    ojk007 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,273
    yeah i got it up to 4.2 @ 1.7v but it wasnt stable.

    i wanna get this over 4ghz and stable..

    the ram is sitting nicely at 1200mhz wit 5-5-5-18 2T

    ill try again tommorow night, can i just say im impressed by this chip, it can go a long way
     
  13. /\/\usE+

    /\/\usE+ Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Messages:
    2,174
    Location:
    in the matrix
    achieving the same thing includes a massive hit to your flow rate considering all the components in your loop.
     
  14. StealthFighter

    StealthFighter (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    734
    Location:
    Melbourne
    hey didnt you hit the wall at 3.2ghz?
     
  15. OP
    OP
    ojk007

    ojk007 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,273
    how do you mean?

    probably i avoided it, i basically started at 3.4
     
  16. /\/\usE+

    /\/\usE+ Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Messages:
    2,174
    Location:
    in the matrix
    I mean that your system will only flow as much a sthe smallest diameter pipe will allow. Pushing it thru with a MCP655 will help some but 1/4" tubing is the smallest so thats where you lose the flow rate.

    Much better to syphon off a small percentage to handle the ram and plumb it back in for minimal pressure loss.

    Thats why these fittings are made, for smaller diameter off-chute loops to not impact all out flow.
     
  17. OP
    OP
    ojk007

    ojk007 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,273
    ah i understand what you mean now. I guess i could have done that, although considering how well this way has worked i dunno if the extra work would be worth it.
     
  18. OhFoRkMe

    OhFoRkMe Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,026
    Location:
    Joyner 4500
    I would go as far to say you would notice a difference doing what Muse is suggesting, especially since you are aiming for some quite high clocks.
     
  19. OP
    OP
    ojk007

    ojk007 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,273
    really... how much are we talking, more than 10°C?
     
  20. terrastrife

    terrastrife Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    18,414
    Location:
    ADL/SA The Monopoly State
    block will flow less, remember :)
     

Share This Page