MythTV General Discussion and Support

Discussion in 'Other Operating Systems' started by Dedge, Apr 10, 2007.

Tags:
  1. Blinky

    Blinky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Messages:
    2,571
    Location:
    Brisbane CBD
    I don’t disagree, but I get a blank tv with anything but “normal”.
     
  2. HyRax1

    HyRax1 ¡Viva la Resolutión!

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,874
    Location:
    At a desk
    In that case we haven't got VDPAU or VAAPI properly running yet. Couldn't test that anyway without the tuners connected or other source media.
     
  3. Blinky

    Blinky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Messages:
    2,571
    Location:
    Brisbane CBD
    Right. firstly a great many thanks to Hyrax1 for remoting and doing some Linux magic for me to get it setup. :thumbup:

    Does anybody else here run a NUC as their mythtv box? If so, what video profile are you using?

    I can only use 'normal', not vaapi, vadpu and high quality all give me a black screen on the test file. High quality will watch tv but it's not properly in sync.
    Any ideas?
    Oh it's a NUC8i7BEH https://ark.intel.com/content/www/us/en/ark/products/126140/intel-nuc-kit-nuc8i7beh.html

    It plays 4k perfectly, just not in mythtv!
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2019
  4. HyRax1

    HyRax1 ¡Viva la Resolutión!

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,874
    Location:
    At a desk
    Hmmm... Finally got around to checking my Brix config and I've got it set to OpenGL High Quality. Thought I had it on VAAPI or VDPAU. Will look into that.

    Anyways, I'm able to watch 2K and 4K with this, so it's serving my needs.
     
  5. Blinky

    Blinky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Messages:
    2,571
    Location:
    Brisbane CBD
    What does the Brix have for a video chip?
     
  6. HyRax1

    HyRax1 ¡Viva la Resolutión!

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,874
    Location:
    At a desk
  7. Blinky

    Blinky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Messages:
    2,571
    Location:
    Brisbane CBD
    Well with Intel HD 620 I don’t know how you are doing it or better yet, why mine won’t do it.
    edit: I just checked what I had and it's a Iris Plus 650 chip.
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2019
  8. HyRax1

    HyRax1 ¡Viva la Resolutión!

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,874
    Location:
    At a desk
    Here's what I install to get things up and running:
    1. First add the Oibaf Graphics Drivers PPA to your system to get the latest and greatest (and potentially buggiest) drivers: https://launchpad.net/~oibaf/+archive/ubuntu/graphics-drivers

    2. Next install the following packages:
      Code:
      $ sudo apt install libdrm2 libdrm-common gstreamer1.0-vaapi libvdpau-va-gl1 mesa-vdpau-drivers libva1 i965-va-driver vainfo vdpauinfo libsdl1.2debian x264 x265 ubuntu-restricted-extras gstreamer1.0-plugins-base gstreamer1.0-plugins-good gstreamer1.0-plugins-bad gstreamer1.0-plugins-ugly gstreamer1.0-vaapi gstreamer1.0-tools
      
    3. Ensure the rest of the system is up to date:
      Code:
      $ sudo apt dist-upgrade
      
    4. Reboot.
    You should now be able to play all H.264 and H.265 media (2K and 4K content). In the case of MythTV, this should work with OpenGL High Quality with hardware offloading with VAAPI and VDPAU options.
     
  9. Blinky

    Blinky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Messages:
    2,571
    Location:
    Brisbane CBD
    Nope, no change. It did miss one of the things in the download, could you have typed one wrong?
     
  10. HyRax1

    HyRax1 ¡Viva la Resolutión!

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,874
    Location:
    At a desk
    If one's missing, it's probably been succeeded by another package and made redundant - no biggie. This is the list I use for the Brix machines I build for work.

    If I get time later, I'll do a test build from scratch to make sure I haven't missed anything.
     
  11. Blinky

    Blinky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Messages:
    2,571
    Location:
    Brisbane CBD
    You’ve got to love Linux, I have been trying to get a laser printer working, I’ve tried windows 10 and Mac Mojave and got nowhere. I took it out and plugged it into my mythtv box and it worked right away.
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2019
  12. Blinky

    Blinky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Messages:
    2,571
    Location:
    Brisbane CBD
    I've got a spare Raspberry Pi coming and wanted to know if anybody has one running as their backend?
     
  13. bolex17

    bolex17 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1,130
    Location:
    Adelaide, 5010
    I've been using tvheadend instead on mine and it works great.
     
  14. The Brad

    The Brad Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    4,977
    Location:
    Sydney, for now?
    Sure you can do it but why?

    It is almost the worst type of product to use as a backend, especially given shared bandwidth between USB & network ports.
     
  15. Blinky

    Blinky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Messages:
    2,571
    Location:
    Brisbane CBD
    I didn’t know they shared bandwidth
     
  16. The Brad

    The Brad Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    4,977
    Location:
    Sydney, for now?
    I've not done it, but commentary on the various Whirlpool threads is that channel switching is very slow because of it.

    Guys who went to TVH on a NAS regularly comment on how much it improves.

    For me Rpi is almost diametrically opposed to what you want in a backend!
     
  17. Blinky

    Blinky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Messages:
    2,571
    Location:
    Brisbane CBD
    I'm currently stuck, I was sure I entered a password on the database setup but when I do this;
    mysql mythconverg -u root -p
    I get;
    ERROR 1698 (28000): Access denied for user 'root'@'localhost'

    Maybe I need a coffee :p
     
  18. treblid

    treblid Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    305
    Location:
    Perth
    Recent MySQL have changed. With the root user, you can just run "sudo mysql" and log in straight away without a password. Or as the root user, run "mysql mythconverg".

    The command above will work with other MySQL user accounts, e.g. -u mythtv etc.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: