NBN Install in a house with cladding that contains asbestos

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by OzzieFarmBoy, Jul 4, 2017.

  1. OP
    OP
    OzzieFarmBoy

    OzzieFarmBoy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    44
    Yeah... that's what I meant to say.
     
  2. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    11,437
    Location:
    Melbourne
    you do realise that was a satellite connection, don't you?
     
  3. Pugs

    Pugs Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    9,399
    Location:
    Highbury, SA
    fixed wireless will be better than that
     
  4. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    11,437
    Location:
    Melbourne
    sure, doesn't need to go up and down to a satellite 4 times.

    fir direct comparison of the capability of the different technologies, see section 14.5 of http://www.nbnco.com.au/content/dam...atalogue-service-levels-schedule_20161205.pdf

    look at the TC-1 and TC-2 frame delay figures to see what the network can actually deliver. if the traffic used is TC-4 then it's contended and thus frame delay is not within the control of NBN.

    also, that's the performance of the NBN itself, any throughput test encompasses the link from the NBN to the access seeker, their network, their peering links to the cloud, any route to the data source, and the data source itself. you can't "see" the performance of the NBN itself without specialised testing because it's a layer 2 environment at the service level and thus transparent to layer 3 testing.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    OzzieFarmBoy

    OzzieFarmBoy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    44
    So I managed to get the cable (wire) run by a 3rd party. No cutting or drilling was required. Straight up through the wall cavity up to the roof peak and out from under the ridge cap.

    All the NBN installer needed to do was tie their cable on and pull it through.

    After all was said and done, I ran a speed test yesterday morning and needless to say, I was underwhelmed.

    Plan: Fixed Wireless Silver (25/5)
    Ping: 27ms
    Down: 4.15 Mb/s
    Up: 0.12 Mb/s

    Real world downloads have a 50MB test file from my ISPs CDN clocking in at about 350KB/s
     
  6. gords

    gords Oh deer!

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2001
    Messages:
    6,645
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Are you with Internode? Do you know how are others finding their service post-TPG ownership (e.g. are they skimping on purchasing CVC)?
     
  7. OP
    OP
    OzzieFarmBoy

    OzzieFarmBoy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    44
    Yeah I'm with Internode.
    I don't know of anyone else locally that is with them.
     
  8. TheWedgie

    TheWedgie Insert Custom Title Here

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2002
    Messages:
    3,026
    100mbit FTTP here, hasn't been an issue.
     
  9. Sphinx2000

    Sphinx2000 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,506
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Check with Inode support, doesn't sound right to me.
    Most fixed wireless installs are usually close to advertised speeds, especially sub 50Mbs.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: