NBN Node location?

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by Satriani, Feb 7, 2016.

  1. Satriani

    Satriani Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Messages:
    225
    Hi All,
    Looking to purchase a new house, in an area slated to receive FTTN NBN in Q3 of this year.

    Is there any way of determining the location of the Node/cabinet and there for the speeds that i may be able to get?

    area is Rural View 4740 QLD if that helps at all
     
  2. Sphinx2000

    Sphinx2000 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2001
    Messages:
    7,652
    Location:
    Brisbane
  3. Copie

    Copie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    13,618
    Location:
    Newcastle
    You want to use the mynbn webpage, but that being said its only an estimation (though its a pretty close estimation)

    aka

    http://www.mynbn.info/
     
  4. decryption

    decryption Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,820
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Not so much the case these days - unless the developer of the new estate has an agreement with NBN or a 3rd party fibre provider (e.g: Opticomm, Red Train), Telstra becomes the provider of last resort (in estates under 100 lots) and now that the government has removed the requirement for fibre in these greenfields areas, Telstra just installs whatever is cheapest and that is copper :(
     
  5. Copie

    Copie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    13,618
    Location:
    Newcastle
    The developer has to pay regardless, and its not cheap, thousands/tens of thousands.

    http://www.nbnco.com.au/develop-or-plan-with-the-nbn/new-developments.html
     
  6. decryption

    decryption Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,820
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Exactly - so the developers are just going with whatever is cheapest (and often that's Telstra, who decide to use copper).

    Bunch of info here: https://www.communications.gov.au/policy/policy-listing/telecommunications-new-developments

    Info on copper going in to new estates: https://delimiter.com.au/2016/01/20/telstra-may-be-deploying-brand-new-copper-to-new-developments/
     
  7. OP
    OP
    Satriani

    Satriani Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Messages:
    225
    Thanks for the replies.

    To be clear, the house will be 'new to me' ie, its a 10-15 year old house, currently on copper. The 3 year rollout document says it will be fttn. My question is can one find out where within that area will the actual node be, to determine VDSL line length and attenuation.
     
  8. Copie

    Copie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    13,618
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Unless its already in the prep/build stage there is no way to know as no plans have been designed or even nbn has visted the sites.
     
  9. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,262
    Location:
    Melbourne
    well... yes and no.
     
  10. sw1tch

    sw1tch Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,888
    Location:
    Rancho Cucamonga
  11. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,262
    Location:
    Melbourne
    5. get it badly wrong because you have no idea where the line runs.
    6. ask someone who knows.
    7. accept the outcome regardless because virtually nobody thinks, or can, check the internet connectivity to a premises before they enter a binding commitment to buy or rent it.
    8. rant on whirlpool about lot in life.
     
  12. Reaper_1994

    Reaper_1994 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,039
    Location:
    Townsville, QLD
    The distance on a FTTP setup won't make a difference and as for FTTN, I don't think there is a way to get the location of the node and even then, if it's a newish estate (which you said it isn't), then it will be all new lines meaning enjoy the 20-25mbps max download speeds.
     
  13. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,262
    Location:
    Melbourne
    distance means nothing whatsoever to FTTP.

    sure there is.

    wrong, and I've got several thousand examples proving not. don't believe the bullshit you read on Whirlpool.
     
  14. Reaper_1994

    Reaper_1994 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,039
    Location:
    Townsville, QLD
    Never been on that site for this info. From what I've been told and heard, the max speeds will only be around 20-25mbps and new estates should have new copper, not re-used unless it was somewhere else.
     
  15. looktall

    looktall Working Class Doughnut

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    Messages:
    24,659
    [​IMG]

    i'm inclined to go with caspian on anything nbn related.
     
  16. Reaper_1994

    Reaper_1994 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,039
    Location:
    Townsville, QLD
    I'll just leave it at that and say that I don't know then. Obviously I've been told wrong.
     
  17. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,262
    Location:
    Melbourne
    if there's copper in the ground, it will be reused. newness doesn't come into it.

    "new" estates where copper was never installed will probably get fibre, but if they are small enough that Telstra still services them, it's up to Telstra what they install. they have to provide PSTN access, how is not defined, and nor do they have to provide broadband access in any form.

    https://delimiter.com.au/2016/01/29/telstra-not-forced-to-deploy-brand-new-copper-says-fifield/

    25Mbps would be an absolute worst case scenario for the longest possible line length for FTTN. the vast majority of people will get higher speeds. getting only 25Mbps would be like the inverse of winning the lotto.
     
  18. Westerntribal

    Westerntribal Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    Newcastle
    The FTTN node will be placed as close to the pillar as practically possible, unless the node is spilt between two pillars in which case it could be anywhere in between the two pillars that is practical and works within the design rules. With that info you can then refer back to points 1-8 in the previous posts.
     
  19. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,262
    Location:
    Melbourne
    "practically possible" includes considerations like access to mains power - it could be anything up to several hundred metres away.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: