NEC PowerMate 1 Plus (APC-H2010F) 80286

Discussion in 'Retro & Arcade' started by sean0118, May 18, 2019.

  1. sean0118

    sean0118 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Messages:
    165
    Location:
    Sydney
    I've finally got around to trying to resurrect the NEC PowerMate 1 Plus(APC-H2010F) I found at hard rubbish a few years ago. I'll update this thread with pics soon. :lol:

    I'm having a lot of trouble getting it to boot using the onboard 3.5" floppy controller. I did get it to start to boot FreeDos once, but it crashed and after trying with MS-DOS I can't get it to do anything now, I'm not sure which jumper settings I was using at the time either.

    The jumper settings for the POWERMATE 1 (non-plus) are available on stason. But it's not identical to my board, DIP switches 16C1, 16B2 are the same but many of the jumpers aren't present.

    If I set the floppy address to primary (16C1/7 - Off) I get "no boot device available". If I set the address to secondary (16C1/7 - On) I get "diskette read failure". The weird thing is, I get these same errors even with no drive connected.

    I've tried two different 3.5" drives which are working and from *modern* systems.

    The cable I'm using is for connecting just one drive, it has a twist on one end, should this end be connected to the motherboard or drive? :confused:


    I'm not really sure what to try next. I've tried lots of combinations of jumper settings based on the Stason website, but I guess the PowerMate 1 Plus might be quite different to the PowerMate 1.

    What does the integrated floppy controller look like on the motherboard? There's a lot of socketed chips on there I might try reseating.


    edit: Looks the the floppy controller IC is NEC D765AC
     
    Last edited: May 18, 2019
    Vanne likes this.
  2. Vanne

    Vanne Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    579
    Would love to see some pics of this baby!? :)
     
  3. OP
    OP
    sean0118

    sean0118 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Messages:
    165
    Location:
    Sydney
    Here's some pics as promised.

    The only card in there was an 'ATRAMBANK REV 6' expander card. It works but I've taken it out and add an MDA graphics card for the moment.

    I forgot to mention, I'm powering the floppy drive from another computer because the NEC psu doesn't have the right plug and I don't have an adapter. Hopefully that's not too dodgy. :Paranoid:


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Links for full res:
    https://i.imgur.com/JOj0qyq.jpg
    https://i.imgur.com/BJPCfJU.jpg
    https://i.imgur.com/c5LRdRO.jpg
    https://i.imgur.com/llhcEQZ.jpg
    https://i.imgur.com/yT1Pa3w.jpg
    https://i.imgur.com/bBELEhp.jpg
    https://i.imgur.com/hGAvKGQ.jpg
    https://i.imgur.com/krF7PSO.jpg
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2019 at 10:30 PM
  4. SLATYE

    SLATYE SLATYE, not SLAYTE

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    26,830
    Location:
    Canberra
    Twist goes at the FDD end.

    If you want to, you can get a second 34-way socket (Jaycar has them, PS0988) and stick that on the wire before the twist. That way you've got a dual-drive cable, and at least one of the drives should work. Or I can search around here for an appropriate cable; I must have one somewhere.

    The power plug on the FDD is just the little 4-pin one, isn't it? If so, I might have an adaptor for that too.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    sean0118

    sean0118 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Messages:
    165
    Location:
    Sydney
    Thanks, that did help me make some progress. ;)

    I added the extra connector to the ribbon cable and macgyvered an incredibly dodgy power adapter.

    I now get a seek failure for drive 0, but not for drive 1. Then the light comes on and the floppy drive starts to read.

    But then I get: "No boot device available-"

    I'm starting to think it can't boot from 1.44 MB floppies, maybe it needs 720 KB? :confused:


    As a side note I found jumper 7L4 controls DRAM config:
    2-4 -> 512KB
    1-3 -> 640KB
     

Share This Page