1. Win some Crucial goodies in OCAU's Christmas Treasure Hunt!
    Dismiss Notice

Need help with board repiar brisbane

Discussion in 'Electronics & Electrics' started by hikaru78, Sep 26, 2018.

  1. hikaru78

    hikaru78 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    camira QLD
    Hi guy, can anybody out i need a gamma chip replaced on a tcon board
    I dont have access to a hot air station
    Happy to pay
    I have the replacement ic
     
  2. Technics

    Technics Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,104
    Location:
    Brisbane, AU
    It will probably help if you include photos or info about what package the chip is in (BGA, QFP etc.). Sometimes it takes more than hot air.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    hikaru78

    hikaru78 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    camira QLD
    As15f
    Package : TQFP-48
     
  4. Technics

    Technics Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,104
    Location:
    Brisbane, AU
    Fair enough. You barely need hot air in that case (unless it is the version has the exposed pad). I have acess to a hot air station but they tend to frown on letting anyone who's not an employee into the building. It's also not all that close to you (Fortitude Valley). Hopefully someone else here might be able to help but if not PM me and I'll see what I can do.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    hikaru78

    hikaru78 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    camira QLD
    Funny i work in bowen hills
     
  6. merlin13

    merlin13 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,733
    Location:
    back in BrizVegas
    Might be able to assist you on the chip replace, think I've got a -48 nozzle on the hot air here (Darra 4076) but wouldn't be able to touch it until sometime next week, possibly later.

    Else Shove Comes To Push, someone with the right tools, training 'n talent to literally cut that chip off and do an un-simple solder on the new one. Note that I said talent there, that technique ain't a job for the faint-hearted...

    Bit curious though - would have thought replacing the entire board would have been the easier G. O. on that, got a couple of large flatscreens that need replacement tcon boards here myself. What was the symptom/troubleshooting that pointed you to needing that chip done rather than a board swap?
     
  7. OP
    OP
    hikaru78

    hikaru78 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    camira QLD
    Bad colours, solarisation
    Common fault apparently

    Couldnt. Find a full board.. also im cheap the ic is only 1 dollar
     
  8. merlin13

    merlin13 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,733
    Location:
    back in BrizVegas
    And the chip is actually deemed to be that problem? Dang.

    Anyway, if you haven't sorted anything by late next week chuck us a PM.
     

Share This Page