Need servers for project, should I build them myself?

Discussion in 'Business & Enterprise Computing' started by Alqemist, Jun 16, 2016.

1. Alqemist

Alqemist Member

Hey guys I want to setup a server to do processor intensive work and a SQL server to save the results on. Want to avoid cloud solutions in this case. The setup has to be rock solid and fairly beefy (maybe 8 cores). Price is not the biggest issue although we don't want to waste money needlessly. Our rack is also full so towers are the go.

Do you think I should build it myself from parts purchased through a vendor or get some pre built towers from Dell/HP?

I have never built a server before but have built a million desktops.

Thanks

2. hosh0

hosh0 Member

What's the use of the server?? Are you just doing this for fun? Is it going to be doing critical work related stuff on it? Etc etc

3. g00nster

g00nster Member

Unless you're a hardware geek or have very specific requirements, buy and don't build.

Also, don't forget to check the HCL of whatever software you'll be running.

For kit - Jump on HP or Dell's website if you're after new
    Or, check out the dell outlet for refurbished stuff or systemmax (http://stores.ebay.com.au/Systemax-Online) if you want some ex enterprise gear.

4. PabloEscobar

PabloEscobar Member

I'm also on the "Buy don't build" bandwagon.

But before all that, I'm on the "Spec your shit properly" bandwagon.

"processor intensive work" isn't a spec and "beefy" isn't listed on any product sheets.

What sort of workloads will the work be? Is it something that will split over multiple CPU's? Where/how does it get data, how much does it need to read/write back to disk.

How big is the dataset that it will be working from?

5. OP
    OP
    Alqemist

Alqemist Member

Multi threaded machine learning, currently running 6 algos but could be upto 20 in the future.

Gets data from the internet, about 500mb per day, historical database is 300gb .