New av cable on the way HDBaseT

Discussion in 'Audio Visual' started by fallenMeSsIAH, Jul 2, 2010.

  1. fallenMeSsIAH

    fallenMeSsIAH Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    771
  2. Pugs

    Pugs Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    9,176
    Location:
    Redwood Park, SA
    can only be a good things for cablers like myself...
     
  3. Zee

    Zee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    10,324
    Location:
    SYD/MNL/SIN/SFO
    Not really too much info on it, will be interested to see the specs, and if it can actually handle 1080P 60 and DTSHD MA over a single cat 5e (unlikely) or if they will have a separate feed for audio and video.

    Though let me tell you, I'd *LOVE* to only have to run cat 5/6, it is the easiest cable to get through a house.

    But where will HN make their money now?

    Z...
     
  4. bubblegoose

    bubblegoose Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    4,508
    Location:
    Molesworth - Tasmania
    Haha Silly HN!

    If this is true, then that's pretty sweet! Would make it soooo much cheaper getting signal's to projectors mounted 15m in the air on a drop lift! Would be good if they created a different connector. Possibly a cable with 5 or 6 pair, and then a bigger plug, that can run audio/video as well as gigabit network/internet!
     
  5. Reaper

    Reaper Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    11,275
    Location:
    Brisbane, Qld, Australia
    So just buy a hdmi to ethernet converter.

    They just want people to update their tvs. No real other reason to change the current standard.

    I like the comments about people plugging their tvs into their routers. :)

    "This be that thar internet tv right billy joe?"
     
  6. Philbee

    Philbee Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    345
    Location:
    Perth
    I'm keen to see how this turns out. The business I'm in has used HD15/RGBHV to cat5 converter boxes in the past which has degradation after a 100m run. I trialled a DVI to cat5 box which was okay but only had ~30m of cat5 before it dropped out. They recommended cat6 but I had none around. What I really needed was this.

    The real bonus to me would be the elimination of RGBHV looms which are heavy, prone to damage/interference and take up valuable space. Having 5 of these cat cables in a shielded loom is going to save so much time and effort. For a price.
     
  7. trentski

    trentski Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    261
    Location:
    Melbourne
  8. bubblegoose

    bubblegoose Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    4,508
    Location:
    Molesworth - Tasmania
    Holy piss that is a lot of cash for a shitty cat5 cable! :( And I guess there would be people that bought them for that much, just like my stupid mate who bought a 1.5m HDMI cable for $300, then tried to justify the cost of it too me... :Paranoid:
     
  9. stevo4

    stevo4 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    10,624
    Location:
    Melbourne
    A fool and his money are soon parted.

    I wonder if they are on sale at HN?
     
  10. Zee

    Zee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    10,324
    Location:
    SYD/MNL/SIN/SFO
  11. stevo4

    stevo4 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    10,624
    Location:
    Melbourne
    To what?

    Looking at what is about wrt HDBaseT, I can't see this tech being available to consumers for 3 to 5 years.
    ie where we start to see equipment coming from manufacturers featuring an HDBaseT port to transmit video and audio.
     
  12. OP
    OP
    fallenMeSsIAH

    fallenMeSsIAH Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    771
  13. money_killer

    money_killer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,324
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast
    its really old news wat they can get out of cat6 or cat6a cables its just now they are going to use the cable for that. about time.

    or does this cable exceed the cat6 aus standard ? is there a HDbaset standard of some sort ?

    a bit silly there havent changed the rj 45 plug that is just looking for trouble
     
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2010
  14. stevo4

    stevo4 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    10,624
    Location:
    Melbourne
    You must have the special pricing there.

    http://www.amazon.com/Denon-AKDL1-D...1?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1278137462&sr=8-1

    2 used from $2,499.98 1 refurbished from $999.99

    Checkout the customer reviews.

     
  15. bojo

    bojo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,892
    What on earth is the talk about that 5Play thing?.

    Seriously. It seems to imply that i could say, view the output from my console in one room to my TV in another, through the cat5/6 i already have setup for my house.

    If so cool. If not, nice to only have to buy cat5 cables, but i thought media-cables etc were designed with different plugs so people couldn't plug them in wrong.
     
  16. stevo4

    stevo4 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    10,624
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Were are you getting that from???

    So, you will be buying a new console that can output video over cat5 to do that?
     
  17. Oblong Cheese

    Oblong Cheese Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    10,583
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Awesome, another audio-visual "standard" that offers very little in the way of features and will take months/years for the open-source guys to reverse-engineer so anyone not using Windows(R) Home Ultimate Mega Multimedia Edition(R) with a Creative(R) Sound Blaster MegaSuper(R) and nVidia(R) Ultra GeForce 1 Million(R) can't use it...
     
  18. bojo

    bojo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,892
    I also clicked the link. Sorry it was just in the news article itself. (which is how i learnt about it)

    Not persae buy a new console, there are adaptors etc. Moreso i'm just wondering what they mean by it all.

    It talks about supplying ethernet/video/audio over the one lan cable. This confuses the hell out of me. Mainly in the hooking up sense. In what situation would ethernet need to be on the same cable as a video signal at the same time, if that isn't compatible with existing ethernet.


    EDIT:

    http://hdbaset.org/files/HDBaseT_Comparison_Table_Nereus.pdf

    I am really getting the idea that is is for networking all the media aspects. There's usb in that table too. To be honest it seems kinda cool on some levels. I like the idea of say, buying a ps3(4 or whatever) and being able to play it in my home theatre room, lounge room or bedroom without having to move the console. (wireless controllers helping there)

    http://hdbaset.org/files/HDBaseT Alliance incorporatation_spec annoucement_Nereus_FINAL.PDF
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2010
  19. stevo4

    stevo4 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    10,624
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I can really see someone plugging one of these cables, carrying power, being plugged into a normal ethernet socket, and goodbye one nic.

    As I stated above even if we see hardware coming out featuring RJ45 ports for the purpose of carrying video, audio, etc., it will be a while before ppl bother with this tech.

    Alone, it is not going to see ppl upgrade their existing hardware.
    Not if they already have all the cables they need.

    Would have been a good idea if it came out 2 or 3 years ago.
    But now really only of interest for those wishing to cover long distances.
    i.e. distances > 10 to 15 metres.

    Maybe down the track, for ppl buying all new.
     
  20. imgod22222

    imgod22222 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    723
    Location:
    Florida, America
    When I read this, I thought this would be a coax killer and allow HD to come in through ethernet cables.

    But, just a replacement for HDMI? No thanks, I don't need to start worrying about this box with an ethernet cable being compatible with another one or frying each other with their power over ethernet... [Thinking about it from an average-man perspective]
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: