1. Win some Crucial goodies in OCAU's Christmas Treasure Hunt!
    Dismiss Notice

New Build Phanteks Evolv Shift X Ryzen/Nvidia Woes

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting Help' started by Tetsuma, Nov 17, 2018.

  1. Tetsuma

    Tetsuma Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Howdy,

    Being currently defeated, I'm looking to see what I could've missed. I purchased mostly new from PCCG around six weeks ago:
    Ryzen 2700
    ASUS ROG Strix B350-I
    Be quiet! Silent Loop 280mm AIO
    Team T-Force Night Hawk RGB 3000MHz 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4 Black
    Corsair SF 600W Gold
    MSI Duke 1080ti
    Spare Patriot 256gb NVME M.2 SSD
    Spare Patriot 480gb Burst 2.5" SSD

    Problem began immediately. Rendering device would drop out during Overwatch and random graphical glitches would occur on the screen. Event Viewer said that the GPU had lost power. The case came with a GPU Riser that people have complained does not have the bandwidth for PCIE 3.0. This was allegedly fixed in late production units. I RMA'd that and the problem wasn't as bad (i.e. happening at the desktop immediately when I log in) but it occurred within roughly twenty minutes of playing Overwatch.
    GPU or PSU, right? Swapped out the PSU for a 850W Corsair and it happened just as much.
    Swapped out the GPU for a 1050ti loaned to me and the issued occurred without change.
    So that leaves:

    RAM, Motherboard, CPU, Still the GPU Riser, temps, software.
    RAM- Ran a USB MEMTEST for nine hours without issue BUT the issue isn't as bad if I only have one stick of RAM in. No XMP profile enabled either.

    Motherboard- Not sure how to test motherboard.

    CPU Temp doesn't go much higher than 35-45. GPU doesn't go above 83. Even if I force the GPU to 100% fan and keep it around 60 degrees it still happens.
    CPU doesn't seem phased and I can OC it normally without it affecting how often the drop out happens. For all this testing i've had no OC. Been playing with it recently though.

    Software- OS Was a fresh install. Latest chipset drivers, among other drives. Clean install of drivers with DriverCleaner from safe mode > Install of latest Nvidia drivers. Check all sorts of meme'ery for reg edits for COM errors and such. Nothing has helped.

    ONLY TEST I HAVEN'T DONE :( - Remove motherboard from case and test without riser. It's so much work...

    What do you think it could be and why?
    Thanks in advance.
     
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2018
  2. radeon_freak

    radeon_freak Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,119
    Location:
    Sydney
    I think you're right with the next step being pull it all down and test it without the riser. If it still happens then than the only logical thing it could be is a bung motherboard since you've swapped out/tested everything else I can think of.

    Tried a different monitor and or cable just to make sure?
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Tetsuma

    Tetsuma Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Thanks for the reply, appreciate it.
    I've tried my Dell P2715Q and swapped out three Display port cables. Same effect. I haven't tested other GPU outputs though.
    Could try that. I'm leaning towards the riser again though.
     
  4. straiton

    straiton Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    413
    Location:
    Adelaide
  5. OP
    OP
    Tetsuma

    Tetsuma Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Location:
    Brisbane
  6. OP
    OP
    Tetsuma

    Tetsuma Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Location:
    Brisbane
    XMP profile on, slight overclock via Ryzen Master. Been going well for two hours.

    Pretty strong case for the GPU Riser
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Kelvin

    Kelvin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,456
    Madmic3 spent weeks troubleshooting the rig that was aunctioned and donated ... it turned out to be gpu riser .. I think he got it all working by dropping the speeds to pci-express 2.0
     
  8. OP
    OP
    Tetsuma

    Tetsuma Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I saw that being an option for others. My motherboard doesn't allow it and ASUS more or less laughed at me when I messaged them on facebook asking for the option in BIOS...
     

Share This Page