New cable for Q701

Discussion in 'PC Audio' started by xok, Feb 21, 2013.

  1. xok

    xok Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    674
    Location:
    4650
    Hey all,

    I need a shorter cable for my Q701. Sick of it being like 3 metres long.

    Does anyone know of the best way to procure a cable that's probably 2 feet long?
     
  2. Suopermanni

    Suopermanni Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    378
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Have you tried Addicted to Audio or perhaps asked Benno? He gave me contact details to someone who runs a place that specialises in high end cables that could go for the length you want.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    xok

    xok Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    674
    Location:
    4650
    I havn't - I found a place in america that'll do it to length but i was wondering if anyone knew of anywhere else :p

    I'll check out addicted to audio, hopefully they have something that may work :)

    edit: jesus christ - they're like $140 for what i'm after. I was just after something a bit shorter, not necessarily that expensive though :o
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2013
  4. Dingostolemyghz

    Dingostolemyghz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    740
    Cut the stock cable, solder on a new plug. You probably know someone with a soldering iron, if not someone on here might help.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    xok

    xok Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    674
    Location:
    4650
    Yeah, I can solder but was hoping that there was a pre-made version already available
     
  6. Dingostolemyghz

    Dingostolemyghz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    740
    probably not with out a ridiculous price tag to match all the snake oil you get with it

    if you don't wanna cut any of your stock cables, you can build the whole thing from scratch. The plug at the headphones end is just a mini-xlr, so not overly hard to get hold of.
     
  7. Stonerboy779

    Stonerboy779 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Messages:
    201
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    This is what I did with my Q701 cables :) now 1 and 2m long instead of 3 and 6m

    [​IMG]
     
  8. OP
    OP
    xok

    xok Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    674
    Location:
    4650
    that can't be good for the cable!
     
  9. Suopermanni

    Suopermanni Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    378
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Hey Stonerboy, how did you manage to do that to the cable?
     
  10. lithos

    lithos Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    6,409
    I could probably do one up for you.

    Don't expect voodooistic bullshit hand-forged 24k gold connectors or anything, though. Just standard-issue figure-eight OFC.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    xok

    xok Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    674
    Location:
    4650
    I appreciate the offer, I really do - but if it ends up that a new cable needs to be soldered i'd rather be the one to do it :p

    I'm pretty decent at soldering stuff, it's just I wanted to check that there may exist a place where you can buy spare cables - like ebay or something.

    Gold plated, pfft.
     
  12. Stonerboy779

    Stonerboy779 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Messages:
    201
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    The cable has quite a bit of give in it but naturally the first time I did it I uses a much looser braid and then with the second cable that I never used tried a tight braid. Its been running like this for a few months now no issues.

    At the time I did it I also a/b tested with the braided cord and the straight cord for differences in audio quality and to my ears and playing lots of different music I could not hear a single ounce of difference.

    As for doing it yourself there is a nice little guide here :)

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rt-m6C5-T0M
     

Share This Page