New domain controller

Discussion in 'Business & Enterprise Computing' started by Xpfan47, Jul 31, 2018.

  1. looktall

    looktall Working Class Doughnut

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    Messages:
    25,337
    what if i want to name my servers after their ipv6 address?
     
  2. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    62,124
    Location:
    brisbane
    or a phone number

    0118 999 881 999 119 7253
     
    Perko, phrosty-boi, BAK and 1 other person like this.
  3. Gunna

    Gunna Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2001
    Messages:
    7,608
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Hostnames are not supposed to replace AAAA records
     
  4. looktall

    looktall Working Class Doughnut

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    Messages:
    25,337
    who says?
    why can't they be the same?

    it would certainly make things easier if there was an issue with DNS and you needed to know the IP address of a host. :)
     
  5. Doc-of-FC

    Doc-of-FC Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,377
    Location:
    Canberra
    oh yeah, tell me about your proposed nomenclature for dev/uat/prod - country/cloud - state/region - function/purpose/ID

    15 chars due to 1980's netbios half baked scale thoughts that seem to mirror your suggestion, hey IPv4 is enough also right?
     
  6. PabloEscobar

    PabloEscobar Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,884
    Well, for Dev, I name physical servers after their asset tags, and virtual servers have a GUID, all of the metadata is stored in a CMDB.
    for uat, I name physical servers after their asset tags, and virtual servers have a GUID, all of the metadata is stored in a CMDB.
    but for prod, I name physical servers after their asset tags, and virtual servers have a GUID, all of the metadata is stored in a CMDB.
     
    freaky_beeky and Doc-of-FC like this.
  7. Gunna

    Gunna Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2001
    Messages:
    7,608
    Location:
    Brisbane
    PD-AUS-QLD-FS-1

    (Production-Australia-Queensland-File Server-1) - 15 characters

    or

    PD-61-07-FS-1

    (Production-%country code-State Area code-File Server-1)

    DV-AUS-NT-SQL-1

    (Development-Australia-Northern Territory-SQL Server-1

    Again find a naming convention that suits the limitation.

    Let someone use:

    TestingProductionServerToReplaceTheCurrentFileServer and they will.......
     
  8. Doc-of-FC

    Doc-of-FC Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,377
    Location:
    Canberra
    Instead use an OS that doesn't mandate this draconian limitation ;)

    https://tools.ietf.org/html/rfc1123#page-13
     
  9. PabloEscobar

    PabloEscobar Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,884
    I've got more than 9 file servers in Queensland.

    We bitch at users for using directory and file names for storing metadata.
    But we advocate using hostnames to store metadata.

    Sometimes, I really don;t understand us.
     
  10. Doc-of-FC

    Doc-of-FC Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,377
    Location:
    Canberra
    case in point
    Code:
    syd-gls-har-crt2-he-0-3-0-3.tpgi.com.au (203.221.3.66)
    
    clear and easy, Windows would require you create new child subdomains, Domain Controllers populating faster than rabbits.
     
  11. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    40,385
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Pardon the pedantry, but does a 2-letter SDLC gain you anything a 1-letter wouldn't?

    PD vs P, DV versus D. Do you reach a collision state otherwise?

    I previously worked somewhere with Dev, UAT, Prod, Support. A single letter for each designation was plenty.

    Similarly, hyphens add a lot of characters there too. Perhaps easier to read for humans, but if your hostname characters are precious, then they're precious.

    Actually, disregard everything I've said. I'm with him.

    I worked years ago for a place that agreed all server names were bullshit. They ended up with "body parts" for server names (all clean and work safe, mind you). "knuckles", "foot", "knee", "elbow" were all servers. Pre-virtualisation, however, so over the course of their lives they'd do different things as tasks moved to and fro. Was an interesting concept at the time, although probably would have fallen apart in a larger business.
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2018
  12. Gunna

    Gunna Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2001
    Messages:
    7,608
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Not at all, I was just trying to prove that you can achieve the outcome with a 15 character limit if you have a standard naming convention in place.
     
  13. PabloEscobar

    PabloEscobar Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,884
    It makes it harder for me to come up with rude server names... like calling the DBA's developement machine DVDA1
     
  14. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    40,385
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Just five folks having a good time.
     
    Hive and freaky_beeky like this.
  15. looktall

    looktall Working Class Doughnut

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    Messages:
    25,337
    just because we make the rules, doesn't mean we have to follow them.
     
  16. greebs

    greebs Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    955
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Used to work in a place where the first letter of the server name was it's function, but otherwise, they were anything you wanted. Made for interesting times.
     
  17. scips

    scips Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    468
    Using AAA-AAA-000 in the format of 3letter location, 3 letter usage, 3 digit number. Used for ilo, esx, nas, san, servers, pos, workstations etc., everything gets it.

    Definitely no recycling of host names as the app vendors are f*cking useless and if I reuse them something really stupid and avoidable will happen
     
  18. NSanity

    NSanity Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    17,865
    Location:
    Canberra
    I call all my servers 123456

    saves confusion - easy to find.
     
  19. looktall

    looktall Working Class Doughnut

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    Messages:
    25,337
    My last place was like that.
    AA-AAA-AA-000
    2 letter region, 3 letter site code, 2 letter device type, 3 digit number.

    Before that it was
    AA-AAA-AA-000
    Which was the same as above but the first 2 letters were less accurate for the region

    Before that it was
    AAA-AA-AA-000
    3 letter company abbreviation, 2 letter site code, 2 letter device code, 3 digit number.

    Those changes happened over the course of my 10 years at that place. By the end of my 10 years all three naming schemes were in use as some devices couldn't be renamed for reasons.
     
  20. Hive

    Hive Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    5,866
    Location:
    Some place far away
    i dont even bother renaming them. WIN-P45GDSAS does the dns

    oh and the domain is .local
     
    elvis, NSanity and PabloEscobar like this.

Share This Page

Advertisement: