New firmware for canon 50D, 450D and 1000D

Discussion in 'Photography & Video' started by gto_pontiac, Apr 24, 2009.

  1. gto_pontiac

    gto_pontiac Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    Melborune
    http://web.canon.jp/imaging/eosd-e.html

    50D Version 1.0.6
    http://web.canon.jp/imaging/eosd/firm-e/eos50d/firmware.html
    450D version 1.1.0
    http://web.canon.jp/imaging/eosd/firm-e/eosdigital4/firmware.html
    1000D version 1.0.5
    http://web.canon.jp/imaging/eosd/firm-e/eosdigital5/firmware.html
     
  2. sgtraven

    sgtraven Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    3,042
    Location:
    Vic, Glenroy
    whooptie do canon.

    how bout you work on your real cameras the 1d and 1ds MKIII

    im sure you could put your time to better use on your flagship models which are dud's before you release your digic4 1 series

    (gto, not having go at you bud, just perplexed by canons decisions)
     
  3. Sir Ghallahad

    Sir Ghallahad Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Messages:
    5,683
    Location:
    Sydney
    Those arent 'real' cameras? :confused:
     
  4. lench

    lench Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Messages:
    2,136
    Location:
    Sydney, inner-outer- west
    meh no reason to update just yet :)
     
  5. Ostenn

    Ostenn New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    171
    Location:
    Melbourne
    would the Speedlite 270 EX be as powerful as the higher EX models avaliable now ?

    Im guessing they think anyone who uses a 5D or 1D wouldnt bother using a 270EX anyway.
    Or maybe they just havent got to it yet.
     
  6. StuartL

    StuartL Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,097
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    It'll be a replacement for the 220EX, and no, it won't be as powerful as the 430 or 580 EX. The model numbers for the Canon flashes are indicative of the guideline number - so it'll do correct illumination at 27 metres if the lens is opened to f/1.0, at ISO 100. (Double the ISO, double the distance; halve the aperture, halve the distance.)

    Frankly, if somebody were asking me about a flash, and they were contemplating the 270EX, I'd be pushing them towards the 430, hard. The 220 (and most likely, the 270) doesn't have a head that can be rotated or tilted - it's effectively just a more powerful version of the on-board flash. Which kinda defeats the whole purpose of getting an extra flash. I'd only use the 220 or 270 as a slave in an off-camera setup.
     
  7. a777

    a777 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,833
    Location:
    Queensland
    The 270EX head can be tilted and also zoomed. It can't be rotated.

    The 5D/1-Series don't have a built in flash at all, so if you want something light and easy to use it may be an option.

    :)
     
  8. a777

    a777 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,833
    Location:
    Queensland
    Canon is a pretty small company. So, the two guys working on the firmware for these models had to stop all development on the 1-series to get these changes made. Now that they are released they can get back to work on improving the ever so flawed 1-series. It may take them a while but with only two employees they are doing the best that they can!

    :p
     
  9. StuartL

    StuartL Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,097
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Ah. I sit corrected.

    With a tiltable head, yes, I would seriously consider the 270EX as an option - if I didn't already have a 580EX and a 580EX II, that is. :p
     
  10. woolly

    woolly Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    349
    Location:
    Canberra
    Updated. :)
     
  11. sgtraven

    sgtraven Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    3,042
    Location:
    Vic, Glenroy
    oh cool,


    say hi to tim and bob next time you hear from them, i hear their also working on digic 5 at the same time too :p
     

Share This Page