New Gigabyte i845e board and AGP 2x/4x?

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by HaZZaD, Jun 10, 2002.

  1. HaZZaD

    HaZZaD Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2001
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    Melb
    Just board one of the new Gigabyte boards with raid/firewire/usb 2.0, etc on baord. Noticed that there are big warning s everywhere that state not to run AGP 2x(3.3 V) vid cards on theboard or you'll burn out the board. Prob is I got a HIS(Hightech) 64 mb MX400 and there is no info anywhere as to what voltage it runs at....anyone able to shed any light on this for me, or am i gonna have to upgrade my vid card to. Only bought a month ago to...hmmm...Any info would be great.

    Cheers,

    HaZ
     
  2. LabMan

    LabMan Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2001
    Messages:
    714
    any thing above and including a tnt2 will be agp 2.0 (1.5v) on tnt2 cards you might have to change a jumper to make it 4x

    and there is good reason not to run a 3.3 volt card in it as it will fry the mobo, the 3d card usually still works after tho.

    But id assume as it has Mx400 in the name its a Geforce 2 and agp 2.0 card
     
  3. GOD

    GOD (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,931
    Location:
    SYDNEY
    Have u got the easy tune to work????
    it is the GA-81EXP u have right...
    if i were u then i`ll take the mobo back and get a asus or epox or any other P4 mobo...
    this board is crap...
    i`ll taking mine back and will be getting a ASUS ...:mad:

    GOD....:)
     
  4. OP
    OP
    HaZZaD

    HaZZaD Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2001
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    Melb
    Havent tried eztune....cant say ive had any issues with is so far. Works great. I specifically bought it for its added features. What exactly have you have issues with? Im not an overclocker so pushing the board isnt of interest to me....only thing i need to sort out is the AGp card thing...

    HaZ
     
  5. bigmaxy

    bigmaxy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2001
    Messages:
    467
    Re: Re: New Gigabyte i845e board and AGP 2x/4x?

    That's not what I would call helpful, what do you mean that the
    board is crap...At least back it up with some info, the last I heard
    on the OCP Forums that board was pretty good, just that no one
    had posted whether it would run at DDR400 speeds.
    As for the Epox I have heard from various forums that it is a POS.
    Mainly due to power issues, o'k if you don't plan on overclocking
    but it would not even run a stock P4 2.53? at default voltage.
     
  6. kiwimeat

    kiwimeat Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Messages:
    1,932
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD, Australia
    Very Happy with 8IEXP

    I'll second bigmaxy.

    God, what problems were you having?

    I'm very happy with the Gigabyte 8IEXP.

    I have absolutely no issues with it. Everything works fine, and considering the number of integrated components it is very impressive.

    All I'm waiting on is the Intel ICH4 USB 2.0 drivers.

    HaZZad,

    Check your card. If the AGP connector has two slots then you will be fine.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    HaZZaD

    HaZZaD Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2001
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    Melb
    Kiwimeat : Thanks mate, tried last night and it works ok. Working great so far. Anyone know where you can get the MMC/memeory stick readers from for this board? The ports are there and thre drivers installed but im assuming an option is needed for the actul readers. I am also very impressed with this board so far. On thing i do have an issue with is that i had a pre-existin raid set(striped) from another baord i pulled across to this board. I assumed I would have to rebuild the stripe set but was amazed that the riad config detected the provious raid setup and all was ok, expcet that i have this phantom drive in Windows explorer that i cant get rid of. Any ideas? Guess i can rebuild the raid set if needed...

    Cheers,

    HaZ
     
  8. GOD

    GOD (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,931
    Location:
    SYDNEY
    Re: Re: Re: New Gigabyte i845e board and AGP 2x/4x?

    well it is a good mobo if don`t plan to oc it...
    but as a oc mobo then it is a flop.
    because u can raise the vmem much at all...
    what`s this .03v overvoltage???
    and there is no mem timing options...
    it`s a crap mobo for a ocer..
    but good board for a non ocer...
    so it`s a crap mobo in my books as this isn`t a very oc friendly mobo...

    GOD....:rolleyes: :p
     
  9. OP
    OP
    HaZZaD

    HaZZaD Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2001
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    Melb
    Like i said..not overclocking so its not an issue to me.

    HaZ
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: