New Mac Pro - 2018?

Discussion in 'Apple Desktop Hardware/Software' started by elvis, Apr 5, 2017.

  1. miicah

    miicah Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    6,378
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD
    Later in that video:

    "That's not professional equipment, a MacBook Pro is not professional equipment any more"

     
    Sankari likes this.
  2. Sankari

    Sankari Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    27,955
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA
    You knew it was coming. Here it is:



    I love the way they say 'Fifty-nine ninety-nine' as if it's $59.99 rather than the actual price, which is half the GDP of the entire African continent.
     
    605jimmy likes this.
  3. demiurge3141

    demiurge3141 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Location:
    Melbourne 3073
    I'm going buy a stand without the monitor and put it in the office to laugh at apple fanboys.
     
    ae00711 and Sankari like this.
  4. spookware

    spookware Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    293
    Feel sorry for apple people getting stuck with intel chips at this late stage. I mean for the price.

    Can you imagine if AMD next threadripper is not 2 but 4 of these 3950x chips stuck together, yet Apple stuck with intel xeon processes and secuity flaws.....
     
  5. proffesso

    proffesso Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    9,047
    Location:
    Watsonia, Melbourne
    you mean any workstation from Dell / HP / Apple etc?

    AMD were late to the game, Xeon's are tried and tested
     
    ShaneHm2 likes this.
  6. spookware

    spookware Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    293
    Think you mean tired and untested.
     
  7. Sankari

    Sankari Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    27,955
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA
    metamorphosis likes this.
  8. melatonin

    melatonin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Messages:
    460
    I don't think two main boards cost apple $10,000....
     
  9. Hater

    Hater Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    3,842
    Location:
    Canberra
    i'm dubious as the apple hardware test (that every genius runs) ramps the brightness all the way up and all the way down as a part of the tests
     
  10. OP
    OP
    elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    38,010
    Location:
    Brisbane
    "Genius" bar is the computer industry equivalent of McDonalds - grossly under-qualified humans following rote process on low quality items that are sold at several hundred percent markup.

    The only difference are the number of units shipped, and the uniforms.

    I am not at all dubious that they screwed up on basic procedure.
     
  11. Hater

    Hater Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    3,842
    Location:
    Canberra
    come on man, we both know that feigning internet superiority gives you a boner, but we also both know nobody is authorising a hardware repair on the word of a level 1 tech

    now geniuses, like all entry level computery people suck no doubt, but the article reeks of shitty clickbait - there's a big difference between fooling a rookie and getting board repairs authorised, logs need to be updated, it needs to be seen and reported by higher ups etc even to order a logic board as they need to inventory it and get the serial numbers flashed to it etc which involves logs uploaded from AHT* and AHT* needs to report the issue

    *it's not AHT, i can't remember what it's called, it's like a super duper version you can only get to via their intranet

    *shrugs*
     
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2019
  12. Sankari

    Sankari Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    27,955
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA
    It wouldn't cost Apple that much, but it would have cost the client that much if he'd been paying for it:

    But they couldn't do that in this case, because the Touch Bar wasn't working properly:

     
  13. demiurge3141

    demiurge3141 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Location:
    Melbourne 3073
    Cost their customer $10,000 though.
     
    elvis likes this.
  14. melatonin

    melatonin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Messages:
    460
    'Apple spent an estimated $10,000 trying to repair a MacBook Pro when the fix was incredibly simple — and it shows a limitation of Apple's latest MacBook designs.'

    So Apple didn't spend $10,000 fixing it?
     
  15. aokman

    aokman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2001
    Messages:
    12,720
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Sigh... it isn’t meant for you... the config makes perfect sense for some professionals such as audio with internal expansion.

     
  16. OP
    OP
    elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    38,010
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Life long exclusive Mac user makes YouTube video about how great Mac product is. News at 11.

    Here's a far more interesting speculative video on a currently unreleased product.

     
  17. DVDHack

    DVDHack Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,385
    Location:
    Regional Vic
    Just ordered a TB3 cable form Apple so I’m betting that cheese grater would be damn expensive and still only grate cheese.
     
  18. fad

    fad Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,288
    Location:
    City, Canberra, Australia
    Not sure about the Mac Pro, but where do I sign up for the $999 soap holder.
     
    Sankari likes this.
  19. Perko

    Perko Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    4,379
    Location:
    NW Tasmania
    Error, only iSoap has a magnet in the middle to connect it to the soap holder. You must buy 5 years AppleCare on the soap holder to access iSoap shop.
     
  20. Hater

    Hater Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    3,842
    Location:
    Canberra
    erm

    learn what AHT is
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: