1. Win some Crucial goodies in OCAU's Christmas Treasure Hunt!
    Dismiss Notice

New Rx 570 artifacting after driver installation??

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting Help' started by leroyxx, Nov 29, 2018.

  1. leroyxx

    leroyxx Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,187
    Location:
    Horsham, Victoria
    So I'm fixing up a mates pc, just put a new GPU in, Rx 570, seems ok for the first couple of startups. Then I notice what looks to be artifacts on the screen.
    So I try a few things, different drivers, even DDU the old ones, removed Nvidia drivers. When no drivers I can't see any artifacts, as soon as drivers installed, bang they back. I tried most recent drivers, mid Oct and a older maybe may one. '
    Psu is a new corsair 750.
    I ran F@H for about a hour, as a stress check, temps were low 70's.
    Any suggestions? Is the card stuffed?
     
  2. Catweazle

    Catweazle Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,875
    Location:
    Sale, Vic.
    What does that mean? Do you mean when Windows locates and installs a driver for the graphics card all is fine, but when you try install a driver package downloaded from AMD website it all goes to shit?

    Have you tried running games on the Windows-installed driver? Do they run without artifacting? If games run fine on the Windows-installed display driver then the problem must obviously be either in the Radeon Software or in your configuration settings applied within that software.
     
  3. miicah

    miicah Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    5,658
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD
    Can you try the 570 in another PC?
     
  4. OP
    OP
    leroyxx

    leroyxx Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,187
    Location:
    Horsham, Victoria
    Na, its only when there is no driver installed at all that it's fine.

    Yeah, did that, it also artifacted. I'm assuming the cards rooted :| RMA time.
     
  5. dasa2

    dasa2 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    669
    Location:
    Northern VIC
    Looks like.
    SInce it was DOA they should just swap it over for a new one.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    leroyxx

    leroyxx Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,187
    Location:
    Horsham, Victoria
    Yeah, looks like they will, thank god, just postage wait now haha.
     
  7. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    134,947
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    With no driver you're not going to be able to select anything but a basic res.

    From the sounds of it it could be a little dodgy.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    leroyxx

    leroyxx Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,187
    Location:
    Horsham, Victoria
    Yep, got a approved return, just waiting on postage and etc now. Such a pain in the ass!
     

Share This Page