New Rx 570 artifacting after driver installation??

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting Help' started by leroyxx, Nov 29, 2018.

  1. leroyxx

    leroyxx Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,189
    Location:
    Horsham, Victoria
    So I'm fixing up a mates pc, just put a new GPU in, Rx 570, seems ok for the first couple of startups. Then I notice what looks to be artifacts on the screen.
    So I try a few things, different drivers, even DDU the old ones, removed Nvidia drivers. When no drivers I can't see any artifacts, as soon as drivers installed, bang they back. I tried most recent drivers, mid Oct and a older maybe may one. '
    Psu is a new corsair 750.
    I ran F@H for about a hour, as a stress check, temps were low 70's.
    Any suggestions? Is the card stuffed?
     
  2. Catweazle

    Catweazle Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,867
    Location:
    Sale, Vic.
    What does that mean? Do you mean when Windows locates and installs a driver for the graphics card all is fine, but when you try install a driver package downloaded from AMD website it all goes to shit?

    Have you tried running games on the Windows-installed driver? Do they run without artifacting? If games run fine on the Windows-installed display driver then the problem must obviously be either in the Radeon Software or in your configuration settings applied within that software.
     
  3. miicah

    miicah Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    6,015
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD
    Can you try the 570 in another PC?
     
  4. OP
    OP
    leroyxx

    leroyxx Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,189
    Location:
    Horsham, Victoria
    Na, its only when there is no driver installed at all that it's fine.

    Yeah, did that, it also artifacted. I'm assuming the cards rooted :| RMA time.
     
  5. dasa2

    dasa2 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    678
    Location:
    Northern VIC
    Looks like.
    SInce it was DOA they should just swap it over for a new one.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    leroyxx

    leroyxx Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,189
    Location:
    Horsham, Victoria
    Yeah, looks like they will, thank god, just postage wait now haha.
     
  7. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    138,721
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    With no driver you're not going to be able to select anything but a basic res.

    From the sounds of it it could be a little dodgy.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    leroyxx

    leroyxx Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,189
    Location:
    Horsham, Victoria
    Yep, got a approved return, just waiting on postage and etc now. Such a pain in the ass!
     

Share This Page