New small business router

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by darken_rahl, Apr 19, 2012.

1. darken_rahl

darken_rahl Member

Hey guys,

I'm a sysadmin for a small business. Currently running a DD-WRT router, but it seems to be struggling lately. 10 local staff, 5 vpn, 20 email remote.

I'm considering spending up to $1000 to go up to a Cisco or equivalent, but the options have me a little confused. If someone could please give me a little advice on this, I'd really appreciate it.

I figured that the Cisco 800 series was about where I'd go, but then found that that most of the range doesn't support ADSL.. Does the 887vw do ADSL(2+), or only VDSL? If so, would it handle our needs?

I am also intrigued by the Microtik routers. So cheap... Does anyone here have experience using them in a business environment?

Thanks!
    James

2. ir0nhide

ir0nhide Member

If you know how to drive Ciscos, how bout getting a second hand last gen model ie 877? Should be fine for such a small network.

3. Primüs

Primüs Member

In the cisco 800 series, the second number is pretty much the generation, and the 3rd number is connectivity type, eg, 871 is ethernet wan, 877 is ADSL2+, 878 is SHDSL (im pretty sure), and others of course. I would double check the model before you buy though, should be easy to determine with a simple look up of the product on the Cisco website.

4. OP
    OP
    darken_rahl

darken_rahl Member

i've never touched IOS but i'd be pretty eager to give it a shot. i've meant to learn cisco but knew i'd never learn without a practical application.

thanks for the replies

5. ir0nhide

ir0nhide Member

6. Renza

Renza Member

People are going to have mixed opinions on this, but i asked a similar question on here and someone suggested i look at the Juniper SRX range.