New toy: D950ES. 12-17 multi!!

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by ruffy01, May 29, 2006.

  1. ruffy01

    ruffy01 Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    916
    Location:
    Geelong
    Well my new toy arrived on Friday, I installed it post haste (as one does) and although I was expecting an unlocked multiplier, I was expecting 14-17. Not 12-17!
    Guess I should be able to give the bus speed a real work out :leet:

    Running Vcore=1.34 (cpu-z) it's been happily ticking away at 14x290=4060.
    I don't run Vcore=auto anymore since the volt mod. Auto=~1.45v now.

    It's idling ~6deg warmer than my 920 & ~14deg hotter dual prime. (Identical settings & cooling).
    My 920 started off life with similar temps but after lapping the IHS improved dramatically.

    QUESTION: If I lap the IHS on this CPU it will mean I have done so with every CPU I've owned (~half a dozen), but always with good results.
    Am I the only one? Am I getting CPU's with inferior IHS surfaces? Or is it simply not many others try it?
    I rarely hear it mentioned & yet high temps are a constant talking point. :(
    By the way, all except the 920, none had warranties to worry about.

    No doubt I'll perform the same again on the 950 ES; definitely no warranty there :rolleyes:
    I'm not expecting it to out perform the 920. But let's see what it can do.....

    Ruffy :thumbup:
     
  2. JPM

    JPM Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    141
    Gday
    Cool, now I can compare notes with someone. :)
    [​IMG]
     
  3. Leeee

    Leeee Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    175
    Location:
    Perth
    nice score

    how much was it
     
  4. OP
    OP
    ruffy01

    ruffy01 Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    916
    Location:
    Geelong
    You're not allowed to 'buy' them are you :shock:
    I was happy with the 'price' ;)
    Cheers.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    ruffy01

    ruffy01 Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    916
    Location:
    Geelong
    After my 1st 'play' last night I discovered something a little wierd.
    I can't increase the FSB above 292 & increasing Vcore doesn't help!

    At Vcore=1.34 I can boot at 292x12 but 293x12~3500 the pc won't even post, that's a mere 100mhz oc.
    The wierd bit is it will boot & bench at 292x15=4380mhz at the same Vcore!
    293x15, it won't post.
    In fact it will boot at 292x12,13,14 or 15 but not fsb=293.

    Any thoughts anyone?

    I've yet to tinker with MCHv or FSBv but in the past FSBv usually achieved nothing but bsod's.
    I've had this mobo at fsb=357 with the 920 so I'm sure I'll find the answer but it appears strange.

    Cheers,
    Ruffy
     
  6. BuzzPuppy

    BuzzPuppy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,628
    Location:
    SE 'Burbs, Melbourne VIC
    Well Ruffy, putting up that 920 for sale in that case? let me know if you are :D

    Nice work on the 950ES as well... good to see the 65nm process is working out.
     
  7. chainbolt

    chainbolt Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    102,990
    Location:
    Tokyo
    I have exactly the same system 950 EE + P5WD2-E running since half a year 24/7 for folding. The CPU is 100% stable aircooled at 14 x 299 = 4186 MHz at almost default voltage. It runs at much higher frequencies of course, but not 100% stable for 24/7. But for folding really need 100% stability under full load otherwise you risk your precious work.

    I think you have to experiment to find the best multi x FSB combo. There is no rule, every CPU seems to be different. The only think I found with now 5 Preslers is that the 65nm core does not need and does not want much additional voltage.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    ruffy01

    ruffy01 Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    916
    Location:
    Geelong
    G'day mate.
    What I don't understand is why it will run at 292x15=4380mhz but won't even post at only 293x12=3516mhz.
    It appears 'fsb limited'. Can that be possible?

    I was selling the 920 BuzzPuppy but I may just keep it for now, at least until I find the limits on this 950. I'm hoping I haven't already!
    Thanks again.
     
  9. JPM

    JPM Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    141
    Hey Ruffy
    I found with my 950 ES I had to increase my memory voltage to get past 300, My memory is Geil Value Series 667 though and I'm not sure if it is the best for overclocking in the first place.
     
  10. will_ong

    will_ong Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,126
    Location:
    Ascot Vale VIC 3032
    hey there ruffy, nice work on the ES mate. :thumbup:

    Have you tried skipping over 293 and going straight to 294 (or 295/300)?
     
  11. OP
    OP
    ruffy01

    ruffy01 Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    916
    Location:
    Geelong
    Hi there.
    I have Vmem at 2.3v. I know for sure my RAM's good to DDR750 so that's definitely not it.
    What's the upper limit you've hit there?
    Cheers :thumbup:
    Ruffy
     
  12. OP
    OP
    ruffy01

    ruffy01 Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    916
    Location:
    Geelong
    Hey Will,
    shit yeah! I've tried all the way to 330 in 5mhz increments :)
    I've also now discovered it won't post if Vcore>1.39v. The 920 was happy to 1.64.

    I do remember a few guys having fsb issues on a different Asus mobo which was solved by tweaking the PCI-E freq.
     
  13. JPM

    JPM Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    141
    I haven't really found my upper limit yet. I still have a bit to learn so I'm taking it easy. My power supply is a bit weak, 2 x 15A 12v rails, but I have a new one, 3 x 18A 12v rails, arriving tomorow as well as water cooling next week. I have had the FSB into the 300's but not PCMARK05 stable, hopefully my new power supply will fix that. My goal is though, FSB 333 @ 13 or 14 multi under 1.42volts. That gives me 1:1 with 667 memory. Hopefully it is possible.
    Does the volt mod help much BTW?
     
  14. chainbolt

    chainbolt Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    102,990
    Location:
    Tokyo

    No, there is no FSB limitation. You just hit "somewhere" a wall, be it the CPU, the RAM, or the board, or a the specific combination of them. Did you try increasing the chipset voltage, it sometimes helps, otherwise why don't you just try another multi x FSB combination? It took me weeks to find the best (that means 100% folding stable) combination for my 950XE.

    Don't sell the 920.
     
  15. OP
    OP
    ruffy01

    ruffy01 Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    916
    Location:
    Geelong
    Yeah, I've had the chipset volts up to 1.65 (& all in between).
    I also tried FSB termination volts to no avail.
    No matter which multi I use it won't post past 292.
    I will try the 16 & 17x multi's at lower FSB's & see what freq' it maxes at.

    Considering it will do 292x15=4380 I was hoping for ~365x12=4380 to really push the chipset bus speed & RAM :(

    I think for what it's worth (or not worth anymore) I'll keep my 5.01gig 920 ;)
    Thanks chainbolt.

    As far as the volt mod's concerned JPM; hard to say if any real benefits.
    It did totally eliminate Vcore droop, in fact under load Vcore now increases ~25mV. It gave me a higher oc for the same volts & temp which meant for 24/7 it was a good thing.
    But it actually restricted my max oc by not allowing me to raise Vcore as high without a crash.
    B4 the mod I had Vcore=1.64(cpu-z) afterwards best I could apply was 1.56v(cpu-z). It meant a reduction in FSB from 358 to 345 max.
    That was all with the 920.
    Cheers mate.
     
  16. chainbolt

    chainbolt Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    102,990
    Location:
    Tokyo

    A tenfold better value for money than a 950 XE (if you pay the retail price)
     
  17. TheNek

    TheNek Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    989
    Location:
    Sydney
    hae you tried removing the voltmod?

    Also does anyone improve their chipset cooling, im thinking things like as5 ect?
     
  18. OP
    OP
    ruffy01

    ruffy01 Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    916
    Location:
    Geelong
    Not yet mate.
    The thing is it worked fine with the 920.
    Chipset? good question!

    I had a bit more of a play last night with interesting results.
    I actually got it to boot to windows & run 1M super-pi at 297x17 @ 1.39v.
    5.06gig!
    It took a little extreme cooling but it got there.
    With my standard cooling it still reached 285x17, nearly 4.9gig.
    No high fsb's but the freq's were a pleasant surprise, it's outdone my 920.

    It was all a bit kamikaze.
    I'll take my time soon & post some screenies.
    Cheers all,
    Ruffy
     
  19. OP
    OP
    ruffy01

    ruffy01 Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    916
    Location:
    Geelong
  20. JPM

    JPM Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    141
    Nice One!
    I haven't been up to there yet.
    What was your volts in bios set on?

    Yeah, Conroe would be good but I'm going to wait til at least second gen. Spent all my money on a netbursts monster over the last 6 months so I need a return first before I move on.
     

Share This Page