NEW TPG ADSL2+ 150GB $69.99 "Super" Plan Available Now

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by Falls, Jun 7, 2007.

  1. Doofus

    Doofus Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    1,738
    Location:
    Wodonga
    My GF won't let me move based on distance to the exchange. Found a place that was dircetly across the road from one. :upset: :upset:
     
  2. the juz

    the juz Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Messages:
    132
    Location:
    Australia, vic , Bendigo
    I hope TGP get an Bendigo ADSL2+ Exchange soon, has Bigpond ADSL2+ only has a 12GB monthly usage (12GB for ADSL2+ ???) for $89!!!, and they count your uploads also.
     
  3. f1re

    f1re Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Messages:
    642
    Location:
    Sydney
    Anyone has this in the Strathfield Area *Sydney* ?

    What ADSL2 Speeds you getting?

    Currently on cable optus, heard adsl 2 > cable
     
  4. Glide

    Glide Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,151
    Location:
    Was: Sydney Now: USA
    TPG are so shit, non stop dropouts at a client today. All tech support says is that I gotta take my *BRAND NEW* modem and try it at another adsl premisis.. lol
     
  5. the juz

    the juz Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Messages:
    132
    Location:
    Australia, vic , Bendigo
    You can see what places they have ADSL2+ at in the link below,

    http://www.tpg.com.au/dslam/
     
  6. corefreak

    corefreak Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2005
    Messages:
    339
    I have no problems.
     
  7. cpl punish

    cpl punish Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,451
    Signed up early last week, experienced a few dropouts (4 or 5 in a period of seven days).

    Sent TPG email support (forum_admin@tpg.com.au) a friendly message at 9:30am on this Saturday.

    explained that I had followed all helpdesk advice (check cables / made sure they werent too long, all that noob stuff), upgraded the modem firmware, disconnected all phones ect. Basically came through and told them I wasn't just another idiot customer and wanted to work with them to find out what the problem was....

    Got an email reply almost instantly saying one of the techs had done a line test.

    Got a phone call 10 mins after that from senior tech and performed another line test over the phone.

    Fault at exchange was found, and I got another call that it was fixed at the exchange today.

    I guess TPG service isnt always as shit at people make out. Im yet to call the Helpdesk (in malaysia i beleive) but im very very happy so far. :thumbup:

    Congrats to TPG for a very happy customer.

    </long blubber>
     
  8. gt4

    gt4 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Messages:
    820


    no problems in 2 years with three different connections...
    :rolleyes:
    sounds like the clients need to find a new tech guy
     
  9. [AFX]Northy

    [AFX]Northy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,134
    Location:
    Brisbane
    sounds like you dont know as much as you think...have seen this happen more then once, try diff modem (same model) works like a charm, somtimes try a diff model/brand and have no issues at all, i think people are somtimes far too keen to blame the ISP when its their own knowedge thats lacking....
     
  10. OP
    OP
    Falls

    Falls Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,287
    Location:
    Gun Cat @ Bikini Atoll
    Phillipines actually.

    F.
     
  11. cpl punish

    cpl punish Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,451
    my mistake.
    :thumbup:
     
  12. Dedge

    Dedge Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    1,754
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD
    How far away is your client from the exchange? You may need to get the line adjusted (limit the speed) to ensure connection stability.
     
  13. corefreak

    corefreak Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2005
    Messages:
    339
    Still have 70gb to dl in 14 days :(

    Give me ideas! :p
     
  14. cpl punish

    cpl punish Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,451
    same position!
    whatever will we do?
     
  15. aerospyke

    aerospyke Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    3,245
    Location:
    Sydney NSW
    LMAO share it and download that stuff from eachother :lol:
     
  16. Tony

    Tony New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    9,988
    Location:
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    had a heap of problems which ended up being my mdf and other crap faulty

    i thought it was my linksys modem - even upgraded the firmware to a beta

    now get 7.5mbps and zero dropouts

    TPG aren't shit if you know how to handle the problems

    Telstra were the cause in the end
     
  17. leroyxx

    leroyxx Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,189
    Location:
    Horsham, Victoria
    i got

    Line of Sight: 1689 m
    Estimated Cable: 2449 m
    Estimated Attenuation: 34
    Estimated Maximum Speed: 11000

    thats too slow :(
     
  18. holdennutta

    holdennutta Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,333
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I just connected to the 150gb plan the other day. It is great!! So goddamn fast and only 11db aten :D

    Done 10gb since friday night. Very speedy. I'm happy!
     
  19. [AFX]Northy

    [AFX]Northy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,134
    Location:
    Brisbane
    just finished my first month, used 42gb peak and 115gb off peak and no probs to report.
     
  20. aerospyke

    aerospyke Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    3,245
    Location:
    Sydney NSW
    how will they improve speeds and reliability for those that are further away from the exchanges? better DSLAMS? Repeaters/boosters around the communities? Improved infrastructure that carries electricity with less resistance? Trying to figure out how they'll do this otherwise we're stuck in the dial-up ages again
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: