NEW TPG ADSL2+ 150GB $69.99 "Super" Plan Available Now

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by Falls, Jun 7, 2007.

  1. joe_lam65

    joe_lam65 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    Sydney 2170
    Line of Sight: 2925 m
    Estimated Cable: 3656 m
    Estimated Attenuation: 51
    Estimated Maximum Speed: 2500

    Using optus cable atm, still on the 12/24gb 4months free per year so $43pm
    Considering those results should I even bother with adsl2+?
     
  2. Kyl3

    Kyl3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Messages:
    3,035
    Location:
    The Hunter
    I'm waiting for them to bring the cranebrook ecchange online with dsl2 as we speak...waiting very very anxiously, really want to sign up to this plan!

    Line of Sight: 1476 m
    Estimated Cable: 2288 m
    Estimated Attenuation: 32
    Estimated Maximum Speed: 12000
     
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2007
  3. aerospyke

    aerospyke Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    3,245
    Location:
    Sydney NSW
    G'day mate, i'm on the same optus plan, so i can say in regards to speed and those estimated stats from WP, definately not worth your time. The download size would be your clincher, depending on how much you download.

    Also i pay about 25$ more than you permonth on the cable bill, :upset: :upset:
     
  4. Leopard

    Leopard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,642
    Location:
    Brisbane 4005
    got it last friday:

    Line of Sight: 161 m
    Estimated Cable: 266 m
    Estimated Attenuation: 4
    Estimated Maximum Speed: 24666

    Can't check attenuation, as my old ADSL1 modem doesn't show it. I do sync @ 7936/1024 so it can't be too bad ;)

    Next up is finding a trouble free ADSL2+ modem, thought the 7300G was it, but there seems to be lots of people having issues with it?
     
  5. sanjay

    sanjay Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    15,548
    Location:
    Maribyrnong, Melbourne
    take those results with a grain of salt - that website tells me my max speed would be 2500kbps on ADSL2+ but in practice i get about 4000 (mite get more if i upgrade my ageing billion 5100 modem but as it stands im not even bumping the upper limits of its capabilities :) )
     
  6. aussie-revhead

    aussie-revhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    19,349
    Location:
    St Clair 2759
    Have many of you guys switched to this plan ? How are you finding it ?

    :thumbup:
     
  7. vec

    vec (Taking a Break)

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2002
    Messages:
    1,478
    All I can say is I'm a very happy camper.

    Downloading on average 5GB per night off peak every night. This will take me over the 110GB off peak limit before monthup but i'll just stop the queues once i'm too close.

    I find that from .eu I can only manage 160k per thread (my old 1500k speeds) but now I can pack up to 10 threads at the same time all at 160k/sec which is just perfect.

    I pretty much haven't leeched anything in peak times yet, there's just no need with 5GB of goodness every time I wake up. :D
     
  8. richielah

    richielah Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    Sydney, 2177
    lol agreed. that site said i was 2.2km cable distance from exchange, after joining i found i was 3.5km away. GUTTED.

    moral of the story: Ask one of the TPG reps on whirlpool forums to check ur actual line distance, dont settle for estimations
     
  9. dinos22

    dinos22 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    12,329
    joe i have that plan at home and internode ADSL2+ at work in Sydney CBD and i can tell you there is VERY little difference between them man

    don't change

    i pay $32/month for my home one :D:D:D W00t :D
     
  10. KRiSX

    KRiSX Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    7,906
    Location:
    North-west Sydney
    i did warn about that earlier... but ppl seemed to ignore me...

    apparently i should only get about 2000-2500k... i get over double that with ease
     
  11. FearTec

    FearTec Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,389
    Location:
    NSW
    fyi: TPG do monitor P2P Traffic for Illegal stuff.
     
  12. holdennutta

    holdennutta Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,356
    Location:
    Brisbane
  13. [AFX]Northy

    [AFX]Northy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,137
    Location:
    Brisbane
    This is what i get.....

    Great Success !
    Apache is working on your cPanel® and WHM™ Server

    If you can see this page, then the people who manage this server have installed cPanel and WebHost Manager (WHM) which use the Apache Web server software and the Apache Interface to OpenSSL (mod_ssl) successfully. They now have to add content to this directory and replace this placeholder page, or else point the server at their real content.

    ATTENTION!
    If you are seeing this page instead of the site you expected, please contact the administrator of the site involved. (Try sending an email to <webmaster@domain>.) Although this site is running cPanel, WebHost Manager, and Apache software it almost certainly has no other connection to cPanel Inc. or the Apache Group. Please do not send mail about this site or its contents to cPanel Inc. or the Apache Group.

    About cPanel:
    cPanel is a leading provider of software for the webhosting industry. If you would like to learn more about cPanel please visit our website at www.cpanel.net. Please be advised that cPanel Inc. is not a web hosting company, and as such has no control over content found elsewhere on this site.

    About Apache HTTP Server:
    The Apache HTTP Server is an open source web server which powers many of the worlds web sites. The Apache HTTP server is part of the Apache Group's many influential projects. Their efforts have helped shape much the world wide web, and they continue to be a dominating force in the web hosting industry.
     
  14. holdennutta

    holdennutta Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,356
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Thanks Northy!

    Seems anyone NOT on TPG gets sent to the correct address (google hosted apps) but me and you on TPG dont.

    I guess our proxies havent updated yet?
     
  15. mental_empathy

    mental_empathy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1,742
    Location:
    Lidcombe, Sydney
    "Great Success !
    Apache is working on your cPanel® and WHM™ Server

    If you can see this page, then the people who manage this server have installed cPanel and WebHost Manager (WHM) which use the Apache Web server software and the Apache Interface to OpenSSL (mod_ssl) successfully. They now have to add content to this directory and replace this placeholder page, or else point the server at their real content."
     
  16. [AFX]Northy

    [AFX]Northy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,137
    Location:
    Brisbane
    TPG's DNS updates are slow and painfull...i have come across this many times before, people on netspace for eg will get up to date DNS within hours, TPG dont seem to be so keen...
     
  17. holdennutta

    holdennutta Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,356
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Hmm...I set my router to use open DNS servers... :S
     
  18. [AFX]Northy

    [AFX]Northy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,137
    Location:
    Brisbane
    if thats the case then it has nothing to do with TPG.....:shock:
     
  19. C0ncrete

    C0ncrete Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,757
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Is this plan still going?

    Can't seem to find it?

    EDIT - In the wrong forum :p
     
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2007
  20. OP
    OP
    Falls

    Falls Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,287
    Location:
    Gun Cat @ Bikini Atoll

Share This Page

Advertisement: