NEW TPG ADSL2+ 150GB $69.99 "Super" Plan Available Now

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by Falls, Jun 7, 2007.

  1. OP
    OP
    Falls

    Falls Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,287
    Location:
    Gun Cat @ Bikini Atoll
    With TPG?

    Plan upgrades with TPG are $0.

    F.
     
  2. Narcoticx2

    Narcoticx2 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Messages:
    4,340
    Location:
    The Redlands
    I've had no issues with TPG, but my houses' lines are dodgy and they've had to limit me to 6144/512...

    What happens when you reach the 110GB but not the 40? are you shaped at night and unshaped during the day?
     
  3. Crashoveride

    Crashoveride Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2004
    Messages:
    154
    Location:
    Sydney
    now we just have to wait for iinet to throw us a plan with the same rates :D
     
  4. NiTeHaWk

    NiTeHaWk Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,937
    Location:
    Brisbane
    i dont like the plan it needs to be more expensive, it just doesnt seem very sustainable. I'd rather pay $110 month if it meant this plan was for the long term or its it is sustainable put $40 into investment for FTTH. At this price there going to take on too many subscribers too quickly and i'm fully expecting alot of complaints in whirlpool about crappy speeds soon.
     
  5. dinos22

    dinos22 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    12,329
    TPG are dodgy

    they backflip all the time and change their plans so quickly
    they will lure people in and then change the plans

    shit customer service too (actually non-existent)
     
  6. wwwww

    wwwww Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Messages:
    5,263
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Gosh...I pay $30 extra per month for a static IP...
     
  7. Redux

    Redux Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    420
    I get disconnected like, 10 times a month, for 3-4 hrs at a time - one time during assignment period. /wrists

    As for the plan, I'm currently on $60 per month for 30GB. However, after I'm capped, between hours 1AM-8AM, the floodgates open again every night.

    I pulled about ~92GB a month back when 24/Prison Break/Lost/Battlestar Galactica/Entourage/Sopranos were on.

    Hopefully its an unwritten thing they let us have, but if they start genuinely capping me when this new plan rolls out, I'll probably bite the bullet and pay the $70.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    Falls

    Falls Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,287
    Location:
    Gun Cat @ Bikini Atoll
    They honour contract periods. As for plan changes, most isp change them just as often as TPG.

    Falls.
     
  9. Rogue

    Rogue Old Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    3,652
    Location:
    Peakhurst NSW
    Are you sure this is the fault of the provider? I'm not saying it isn't, but this seems highly unusual. I've had my service go down 2 or 3 times this year, and both times it was a router overheating (air vents blocked).

    I don't see why TPG wouldn't be able to sustain this plan - they are effectively encouraging their users to use download allowances during periods where the network is under-utilised. It may not reduce network traffic during the peak periods substantially, but it will build "better" (in TPGs world) user behaviour on their network.

    I'll be switching the moment it's available. Given you are locked into another 12 month contract when you change, and TPG seem to honour their contracts without price changes, I don't forsee any issues for the first 12 months I'm on the new plan.
     
  10. mortal

    mortal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    8,393
    Location:
    Sydney
    Usually things like these don't last.
     
  11. TMM

    TMM Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    7,487
    -Crap support (they just deny theres a problem and blame your hardware and/or telstra, the line, etc). It does not take long to get onto someone on their support line, but they are usually not technically trained, and are not told about problems. Usually they insist there is nothing wrong and just read out the usual list ... reset your modem do and isolation test etc. When things go wrong on TPG you have more luck flaming on whirlpool then ringing TPG.
    -Awful proxy issues. Sometimes you have to refresh a page 5 times for it to load, and many times browsing slowed to a crawl, or just dropped out all together (P2P still worked). Switching to the Telstra proxy works but speeds are reduced -700KB/s down to 150KBs~ for me
    -Failure to acknowledge problems when they are clear as daylight to anyone who has a basic knowledge of the tracert command.

    etc...

    My connection between my house and the exchange was flawless and mega stable (and still is with my current ISP). I'd stay connected on average for 20days at a time, and when there was a problem with the connection (as in something up with my line) TPG reps at whirlpool were helpful and things were fixed promptly. The state TPG's network however is appalling and this is the number one reason i would not go with them.

    I was with them for 4 years. Believe me, you don't want to do it no matter how tempting the price is.

    </hides from vendor verdicts backlash>

    Everyone runs their own ADSL2(+) DSLAMs afaik (hardware that connects everyones ADLS2 connections to the internet tubes basically :p). So if you connect with TPG you run on TPG's DSLAM, etc. If TPG do not have their own DSLAM at your exchange you can't sign on with them, or they sign you on to ADSL1 until their ADSL2 DSLAM is setup.
    Previously with ADSL1 many ISPs (including TPG) 'rented' ports on Telstra's DSLAMs (and they still do. this is why 8mbit plans are expensive), so you could sign up with any ISP that rented ports, and they didn't to have any of their own hardware at the exchange.
    The reason TPG and others don't rent ADSL2 ports from telstra is because it is far too costly for them. It is cheaper to setup their own DSLAM, so then they can offer very competitive prices. This is where things go wrong with TPG (their own hardware sucks)
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2007
  12. Doofus

    Doofus Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    1,738
    Location:
    Wodonga
    Damn it, have to wait until September until my exchange is enabled.
     
  13. stmok

    stmok Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    8,878
    Location:
    Sydney
    Hmmm...Doesn't sound like its worth taking this deal with support like that. (The "too good to be true" common sense is kicking in).

    Regardless, even though my exchange is enabled with TPG DSLAM, I'm:

    (1) on pair gain. :(
    (I found this out by talking to a TPG rep)

    (2) too far away to benefit. :upset:
    (5.5km+ away from exchange)

    Couldn't get ADSL2+ love if I tried. :upset:

    ...Guess I'm stuck with Optus and Telstra Cable until something new takes the reins. :rolleyes:
     
  14. Tony

    Tony New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    9,987
    Location:
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    their old 1500 adsl 20Gb for $50 latest for ages and they only fairly lately killed that grandfathered plan

    just ride the wave until it breaks

    i have not much problem with TPG

    but i never had much technical problems in the first place

    for cheap P2P leeching it's fine

    games probably not so good
     
  15. XTREME OC'ER

    XTREME OC'ER Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    482
    Location:
    Sydney, Fairfield West
    when is the off peak period for tpg. is it 12am - 12 pm like optus?
     
  16. NforSa

    NforSa Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,312
    Location:
    Melbourne
    nice plan, noone has any plans to upgrade my exchange tho :(
    (bundoora) gahhhh
    :thumbdn:
     
  17. Gecko

    Gecko Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,715
    Location:
    Sydney
    I've got a TPG link into here (one of many links...), and after some initial setup problems (had to limit my sync speeds to 8000/1000 so i wouldn't drop out every 5 mins) - its been good. Very good connection for downloading.... perfectly legal Linux ISO's....
     
  18. Sniper

    Sniper Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    3,645
    Location:
    Mid North SA
    A lot of other place's still need to get ADSL2+ and cant thanks to telstra's bullshit.
     
  19. digizone

    digizone Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    339
    Location:
    Voyger1 is chasing me
    And complaining about it on internet forums will do SFA to change that situation.

    Writing to your local MP and then following that up with a phone call requesting a personal appointment would be a better approach.

    It would also be entertaining in my opinion. An appreciation of just how ignorant most politicians are to the appalling state of affairs Australia's telecommunications infrastructure is in.
     
  20. Rogue

    Rogue Old Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    3,652
    Location:
    Peakhurst NSW
    Telstra is blocking TPG from installing ADSL2+ DSLAMs? Where? Got link?

    More likely those areas who "need" ADSL2+ don't have enough demand to justify providers installing their own hardware. 3 geeks is not a big enough business case to justify a rollout, regardless of how vocal they are on Whingepool. :p
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: