NEW TPG ADSL2+ 150GB $69.99 "Super" Plan Available Now

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by Falls, Jun 7, 2007.

  1. dicer

    dicer Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,028
    Location:
    Melbourne
  2. Leopard

    Leopard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,642
    Location:
    Brisbane 4005
    been trying to get ADSL2+ since February, guess I'm lucky that didn't work out in the end.
    I'll put in my application with TPG when this is out.

    Guess I better start looking at ADSL 2+ modems now, though I wouldn't mind just 8/1 anyway :thumbup:
     
  3. Rollsta

    Rollsta Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    1,546
    Location:
    Sydney
    Question for current ADSL2+ TPG'ers...
    If the exchange is in your area, how fast will we be expecting download speeds?
    Im trying to quit optus ASAP!
     
  4. OP
    OP
    Falls

    Falls Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,287
    Location:
    Gun Cat @ Bikini Atoll

    My sync speed is 20,000/1000

    attenuation is 25 down/ 13 up

    http downloads max out at 1.6meg sec

    Downloading "linux iso" via bt , on well seeded torrent(s) max out about 1.4 megabytes per second,

    My speed issue(I should be about to do 2megabtes +) is my modem. It can't handle much more than 1.5 to 1.6 megabytes per second, known issue with Billion 7300 series modem/routers.

    I'm not concerned however.

    F.
     
  5. t3zza

    t3zza Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Messages:
    466
    Location:
    Yagoona, 2199
    Your speed depends on how far you are from your exchange and the quality of your telephone line.

    You can use Whirlpool to locate the exchange you are on and Whereis to get a rough distance of how far away you are from the exchange. It might not be entirely accurate though as the cabling may not follow the most direct route.

    Exchange addresses can be found here
    http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/index.cfm?a=wiki&tag=AEG_NSW

    As for my actual speeds, I should be syncing at around 14mbit but due to the poor quality of the phone line in my house, I sync at ~5mbit. That said though, downloading at 500KB/s is still alot better than dialup.
     
  6. Rogue

    Rogue Old Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    3,652
    Location:
    Peakhurst NSW
    From my router @ ~700m from exchange:
    Upstream 1017000
    Downstream 18690000
     
  7. OP
    OP
    Falls

    Falls Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,287
    Location:
    Gun Cat @ Bikini Atoll
  8. doug81

    doug81 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,573
    Location:
    Santiago, Chile
    TPG is great! I wish I was in their area, would switch immediately!
     
  9. aussie-revhead

    aussie-revhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    19,386
    Location:
    St Clair 2759
    Really? I just switched from Internode to iinet to get 2+ but I only get 8mbps here so I might try TPG.

    :thumbup:
     
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2007
  10. doug81

    doug81 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,573
    Location:
    Santiago, Chile
    TPG shapes at 128K instead of 64K, and uploads aren't counted, which is why I'd prefer this to Adam Internet
     
  11. Freedom_

    Freedom_ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    Messages:
    867
    Location:
    Sydney
    also they don't tell you, when you are capped you get DSL2+ speeds 1am-8am.

    It owns.

    I live about 2kms from exchange, on a good torrent/server speed is 1.5-1.6 mb/s.
     
  12. Kataton1c

    Kataton1c Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2002
    Messages:
    1,466
    Location:
    Adelaide
    ISPs are already stamping out accounts and terminating them; all of them should be doing this OR at the very least, know you are due to the violation letters they get.

    Some ISPs choose to ignore this, some don't. But they do know of your activity.

    Or you could just not believe, signup and expect to leech ILLEGAL content.

    MOST OF THESE ARE FROM TPG THEMSELVES:
    http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-search.cfm?s=34565&r=8526193

    (First couple after search)
    http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-replies.cfm?t=757325
    http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-replies.cfm?t=755648
    http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-replies.cfm?t=240980
    http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-replies.cfm?t=753669

    All I'm trying to say is that, even though this plan is of great value, don't expect to be (once again) involved with any kind of illegal or copyright infringing activity i.e Torrents, P2P etc.
     
  13. Kataton1c

    Kataton1c Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2002
    Messages:
    1,466
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Exactly my point.

    Everyone is getting sucked in without properly reading the Terms and Conditions or even blatantly realizing they will be immediately breaking the law.

    Part of the selling point is that, you might not even use HALF of that 150GB, but people like freedom too.
     
  14. neo323

    neo323 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2002
    Messages:
    146
    Location:
    Sydney, Five Dock
    not sure if anyone has seen this yet but from what i can tell its not shaped to 128/128 and has been changed to 64/64 (according to tpg forum) http://www.tpg.com.au/forum/viewtopic.php?p=5800#5800
    its not enough to turn me away from this plan but what i want to know is if tpg changes the plan while you are in contract do they have something like telstra where you can get out of contract without paying the fee?
     
  15. Kataton1c

    Kataton1c Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2002
    Messages:
    1,466
    Location:
    Adelaide
    TPG honor their contracts until expiry, in which case they can force you to change.
     
  16. aussie-revhead

    aussie-revhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    19,386
    Location:
    St Clair 2759
    Im interested in this not for leeching but as its just about an unlimited plan for my uses, but :

    I am currently with iinet and their offpeak is 2am-12pm so at least you have all morning to get your downloads done. Can you "schedule" downloads somehow to occur when you are afk?

    :thumbup:
     
  17. IncredibleBulk

    IncredibleBulk Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,060
    Location:
    Kings Langley
    When I was with Optus, most of my heavy downloading was done via Bittorrent. I just scheduled my pc to restart after a certain time (after off-peak finishes) and it kept my download limit intact. I'll be doing the same once I switch to the new plan :D
     
  18. ACodingFettish

    ACodingFettish Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    6,652
    Location:
    Brisbane
    they get a report from the RIAA or whoever that they see an IP on their network downlaoding, ISP doesn't really care, so they just send them an obligatory notice, and forget about it. User either freaks and stops, or keeps going and generally nothing happens - or so I'm told. Could have changed. Either way all that happens is you have to go with a different ISP - big woop

    I'm sure most people who are going to sign up for a 150gb plan know full well about piracy and ISP policys on that.
     
  19. NforSa

    NforSa Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,312
    Location:
    Melbourne
    just use peerguardian, pretty much guaranteed to not get retarded letters then
    :Pirate:
     
  20. OP
    OP
    Falls

    Falls Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,287
    Location:
    Gun Cat @ Bikini Atoll
    Update.

    Seem the shapping when your reach 150GB is 64/64.

    as per tpg rep
    Still not clear how the offpeak/peak quotas work however.

    F.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: