1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

Newbie here and want to build PC for Editing/VFX hobby - Wait for Ryzen 7 & RTX 40x series?

Discussion in 'Newbie Lounge' started by joep, May 26, 2022.

1. joep

joep New Member

When I saw that GPU prices were dropping, I've decided to build a PC for VFX, 3d, editing. But then I saw that Nvidia and AMD's releasing new models... so anyone else waiting for these? Or if I build now, can I easily update it to the new releases

2. MR CHILLED

MR CHILLED D'oh!

Yep, currently have the 3080 but hanging out for 4000 series gpu to run two oleds off hdmi : )

nope and joep like this.
  3. rg144

rg144 Member

I think you'll find most of us here are waiting for next gen cards, for various reasons-
    i) current gen cards are reaching end of their product cycle
    ii) current gen cards' pricing still a bit silly
    iii) potentially big performance improvements from next gen GPU's
    iv) ability to get next gen GPU's at MSRP (if availability is good)
    v) AMD's AM5/Ryzen 7000 dropping at the same time (~Sep-Oct)

Nevertheless a 5900/5950x is still one of the best chips you can get for Video editing.

Personally wouldn't build a brand new AM4 system right now, for lack of platform upgradeability as there's really nowhere left to go for AM4 now. Add to this- new Ryzen CPU's, DDR5 memory & PCIe 5 storage on AM5 should all provide decent improvements for vfx/video editing in time; with all the increased bandwidth/data throughput..

But if it's heavy video editing you need right now and cant wait 6 months, then a second hand 5950x system would remain an amazing chip/excellent value for years to come, especially in the realm of a ~$500 5950x, decent x570 board (i.e MSI Tomahawk) and 32/64GB DDR4..

All under the assumption you're happy to explore 2nd hand that is ;)

EDIT: and welcome to OCAU of course :thumbup: