No drives detected, unable to get in bios adaptec raid card

Discussion in 'Storage & Backup' started by ktmrida, Sep 15, 2013.

  1. ktmrida

    ktmrida Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    593
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi

    I got an adaptec ASR-3405 Raid card to stick into a HP Gen8 ML310e server

    I plan to use the onboard br raid for my storage and the adaptec for VM OS files

    Anyway the card is detected with no errors i can tell, and goes through to say no drives detected, (connected a 500gb sata drive to test)

    Pressing control+A to enter the raid bios takes me to a black screen with a blinking cursor

    Can anyone assist

    About to try it in my PC to rule out any compatibility issues, will report back.

    Controller boot, with Ctrl+A pressed

    Click to view full size!


    Screen i see after Ctrl+A is pressed and the above completes
    note-flashing cursor, bottom left

    Click to view full size!


    EDIT: also the card is not shown at all in ESXi 5.1
     
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2013
  2. OP
    OP
    ktmrida

    ktmrida Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    593
    Location:
    Australia
    stuck it in my PC and it stalls after post, however, after post is where my PCs stock intel raid controller normally would load, so maybe it was conflicting???

    anyway stuck it back in the server to get some screenshots, updated first post
     
  3. b00n

    b00n Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    235
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Disable onboard controller. Does this device run uefi bios???
     
  4. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    66,693
    Location:
    brisbane
    changes slots, enable or disable pnp, disable any oboard stuff you can (eg serial, raid controllers not in use etc).
     
  5. OP
    OP
    ktmrida

    ktmrida Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    593
    Location:
    Australia
    Got it all working, Sorry i havnt been back to update

    Firmware update fixed it.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: