No Man's Sky

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by ADV, Dec 8, 2013.

  1. FerrisXB9R

    FerrisXB9R Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,255
    Location:
    AB, CAN
    You know what, I reckon it is upscaled 720p. I KNEW there was something about the graphics I just couldn't get around.
     
  2. BlueRaven

    BlueRaven Brute force & optimism

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    5,384
    Location:
    2076
    Early peeks looked well cool, then I forgot about it.
    I'll come back in 6 months, once they've finished Beta testing the PC version. :thumbup:
     
  3. oculi

    oculi Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    11,829
    so are there any giant dinosaurs in this or what?
     
  4. CoolColJ

    CoolColJ Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    908
    Yes there are, but kinda rare.

    from a PS4 player
    Plus I saw one on a leaked stream

    [​IMG]
     
  5. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    67,116
    Location:
    brisbane
  6. maldotcom2

    maldotcom2 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,040
    How disappointing. In the past 24 hours I've gone from "definitely going to buy it" to "probably wait for bargain bin" to "probably won't bother".
     
  7. solid_snake

    solid_snake Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    2,027
    Location:
    Melbourne
    More like Goodbye Games.
     
  8. bart5986

    bart5986 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    5,057
    Location:
    Brisbane
    The game isn't native 720p, I tested it by changing from 1080p to 4k, there is less aliasing.

    But the game still looks average in 4k.
     
  9. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    67,116
    Location:
    brisbane
    These are now confirmed fixes to performance issues.

     
  10. CoolColJ

    CoolColJ Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    908
    Maybe not 720p, but a lower % of the actual screen resolution
    Hopefully it's a bug...
     
  11. fox1

    fox1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,086
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Played about 5 hours today.

    Noticed stuttering as soon as I booted game, so jumped out straight away to start fixing.

    System: 6700k, gtx 970, 16GB, ssd, win 10

    What got me satisfied.

    • Installed latest nvidia drivers
    • Installed nvidia opengl drivers
    • Turned off vsync
    • Upped max fps to 60
    • Grabbed xbox 360 controller
    • Explored happily ever after

    I look forward to exploring planets and galaxies and seeing what the game has in store.

    ----

    @CoolColJ, mine @ 1080p doesn't look like that. Something funky going on there.
     
  12. emett

    emett Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    634
    Location:
    Scarborough W.A.
    Plays fine for me but got bored after 20 minutes. Doubt I'll fire it up again.
     
  13. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    35,075
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    can't even load into the game now - i get the WSOD.
     
  14. negatron

    negatron Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,299
    Sooo, I'm feeling pretty good about cancelling now...
     
  15. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    67,116
    Location:
    brisbane
    make sure it's patched, maybe edit your config file.

    TKGRAPHICSSETTINGS.MXML
     
  16. MikeCheck

    MikeCheck Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    776
    Location:
    Melbourne
    My thoughts in a nutshell.

    Runs fine on my 970m although I did have some elastic banding right at the start but it seemed to resolve after a while of gameplay.

    Game just doesn't grab me which is sad considering I just spent a fair whack of money on it.

    M
     
  17. emett

    emett Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    634
    Location:
    Scarborough W.A.
    Yeah that sucks, I've just blown a fair whack of money on games in the last 48hra. BF1 & Rainbow 6. Lucky I got NMS free because it's a stinker.
     
  18. gregpolk

    gregpolk Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    7,404
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Disabling shader cache certainly seemed to help a lot with the stuttering. Not eliminated, but greatly improved.
     
  19. Linkin

    Linkin Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    6,400
    Location:
    Sydney
  20. MikeCheck

    MikeCheck Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    776
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I tried for a Steam refund but was denied because playtime exceeded 2 hrs.

    Lame.

    Maybe it'll perk up with patches, who knows. Still annoyed I spent money on what is in essence a beta game.

    M
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: