SOLVED No Post, No Beeps **Updated Again**

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting Help' started by Ravennoir, Jan 10, 2009.

  1. Ravennoir

    Ravennoir Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Solved - See fix here http://forums.overclockers.com.au/showpost.php?p=9929412&postcount=30

    Hey Everyone,

    I just brought a Motherboard and CPU of the forums and I cant get it to post

    It starts up and the fans spin, but no beeps and no video

    the specs are :

    E8300
    Asus P5E3 WS Pro
    Asus DDR3 2Gb
    Transend DDR3 2x 1Gb

    Please help, im not sure which part is faulty, or if its something I can fix, I have tried a BIOS reset, but still nothing

    Any ideas ?

    thanks

    -Raven
     
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2009
  2. itachi46

    itachi46 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,984
    Location:
    Melbourne
    tried different gfx card?
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Ravennoir

    Ravennoir Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Yeah ive tried a different card, I might take my GTX 280 out of my main PC and ttry that too, but I should at least get one beep on startup
     
  4. OP
    OP
    Ravennoir

    Ravennoir Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Update :

    If I take the Ram out, I get 1 long beep followed by 2 short beeps

    In the manual it states this would be because it cant detect the ram, so it is working, just one I put the ram in it wont boot

    Could the ram be the issue ?
     
  5. itachi46

    itachi46 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,984
    Location:
    Melbourne
    hmm well its either that or a dead mobo.... tried different slots? and also it does that regardless which ram u take out?
     
  6. OP
    OP
    Ravennoir

    Ravennoir Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    Melbourne
    yeah, ive tired each stick in different slots

    from what i can tell the ram may not be compatible with this board but i dont have more ram to check it
     
  7. qwertylesh

    qwertylesh Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    8,365
    ive encountered a problem where a kit of ram was completely incompatable with the motherboard:
    was an asus, the thread where i talked about it is here
    suffice to say in the end, a new ddr3 kit had to be used.

    the symptom seems very much like yours, with no ram in i would get 'no ram' post beeps, with ram and no gfx, no beeps at all, with nothing at all i would get 'no ram' beeps. only when the ram was in would the system not post and not beep.

    that board was a WiFi @on mobo, same p5e3, the ram causing the problem as mentioned it was 'CMX2048-1333C9DHX XMS3-1333 2048 1333Mhz 9-9-9-24 1.7v Ver3.1' which i must say has not only given me a hellof alot of grief with that mobo but with the XFX 790i mobos aswell :upset:

    for the ram problem, the kit was changed to OCZ ddr3 and the system was happy as larry.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    Ravennoir

    Ravennoir Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    Melbourne

    I was hoping it wouldnt be that, I dont have any other DDR3 to test it with

    So the Corsair is no good also :(

    Ill have a look and see if I can get my RAM changed back
     
  9. qwertylesh

    qwertylesh Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    8,365
    as far as i had discovered with those p5e3 boards, the 2x1gb asus kits are supposed to work, at that time i couldnt find any 2x2gb kits for asus ddr3,
    might be an idea to contact the vendor, your ram may work after a bios update if its not completely incompatable, or even if you havent baught it from online see if your reseller can help you out by updating the board for you before you get to the point of changing the ram, if the ram was baught from a reseller you should be able to get it changed within the 7-14 day period, but u'd need to be firm as allot of them since some will likely claim not to exchange due to incompatability. :\
     
  10. OP
    OP
    Ravennoir

    Ravennoir Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    Melbourne
    How can I update the BIOS if it wont POST
     
  11. onoff312

    onoff312 (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    813
    Location:
    Canberra
    You can't so your stuffed there.
     
  12. OP
    OP
    Ravennoir

    Ravennoir Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    Melbourne
    thats what I thought
     
  13. qwertylesh

    qwertylesh Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    8,365
    that was the whole point of my original post in the memory section, the only way is to use a compatible piece of ram to update its bios, which ud have to borrow, maybe from the reseller?
     
  14. OP
    OP
    Ravennoir

    Ravennoir Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Update

    So i went and got my Ram replaced, I got some Transend stuff

    and it looks like I have the same issue, although I only just tried so it might be that im not quite awake yet

    I will try later tonight, and let you know
     
  15. OP
    OP
    Ravennoir

    Ravennoir Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    Melbourne
    OK,

    So i tried again, and still no luck

    Tried two different video cards and tried the RAM in each slot and tried the video cards in each slot

    Same thing happens, all fans etc start, but no post beep and no video

    Please any help would be great
     
  16. Pipster

    Pipster Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    584
    Location:
    Adelaide
    i really hate to kick you in the teeth but thats a cpu. I know this cause i had the same problem with an asus P5q-e. in the end it turned out that it was a dead cpu and the bios needed flashing :p but thats another story. Ill assume that your other system is 775pin and try that. Also, be careful as the asus boards can be bitches when it comes to ram, i had real problems with it.
     
  17. OP
    OP
    Ravennoir

    Ravennoir Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I want to try my other cpu, but its under a TRUE120, and its a pain to get off :lol:
     
  18. OP
    OP
    Ravennoir

    Ravennoir Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Update part 2

    OK

    So heres what has happened

    I took all the parts to a friends place, as he has all the gear that is compatible with it

    I have now tried :

    2 CPUs (both work in other PCs)
    3 Video Cards (all work in other PCs)
    3 Types of RAM (in different slots and amounts)

    So from that it seems like something is up with the board

    Why would it beep when no ram is in there and not boot when it is

    If the board was busted wouldnt not beep, and just not boot
     
  19. OP
    OP
    Ravennoir

    Ravennoir Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    Melbourne
  20. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    52,062
    Location:
    brisbane
    you tried another PSU yet?
     

Share This Page