SOLVED No reason BSOD's ?? every boot ?! help

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting Help' started by crocodaVe, May 29, 2015.

  1. crocodaVe

    crocodaVe Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    534
    Location:
    ACT, 2600
    Hi fellas,
    Built a year ago. this one
    SSD boots Win7 ultimate. quick boot gadgets, wi-fi, LCD & CCC.
    OK. when I'm using it.
    Any or none screensavers will blue screen dump on re-awake.
    Got it set at 10mins power saver both. tried arranging power save options but no good. Same crash.
    ??
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2015
  2. OP
    OP
    crocodaVe

    crocodaVe Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    534
    Location:
    ACT, 2600
    All at stock. no clocking.
     
  3. C-BuZz

    C-BuZz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    5,113
    Location:
    Melb, East
    I'm struggling to understand your typing & what's going on in general. Can you just clarify exactly what's happening ?
     
  4. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    57,762
    Location:
    brisbane
    what's in the event logs relating to the crash?
     
  5. O-B-E-L-I-X

    O-B-E-L-I-X Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    962
    Location:
    SYD, 2036
    Try to update the M/B BIOS and Firmware on the SSD, had this happen on some laptops with some SSD's, usually, older ones. Perhaps adjusting/changing the sleep S1, S3 ect. state might fix this...
     
  6. RyoSaeba

    RyoSaeba Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2001
    Messages:
    12,354
    Location:
    Perth
    Bad RAM. Trust me on this one. :thumbup:
     
  7. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    57,762
    Location:
    brisbane
    I'd back this diagnosis. :thumbup:
     
  8. OP
    OP
    crocodaVe

    crocodaVe Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    534
    Location:
    ACT, 2600
    ram is now g.skill 2x4. 2133mhz. thanks fellas will check.
     
  9. Akh-Horus

    Akh-Horus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,652
    Location:
    Western Vic
    Mem test results?
     
  10. Bold Eagle

    Bold Eagle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    8,484
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Also with BSOD try and run either BlueScreenView or WhoCrashed and show us the output. Just cut and paste the "Crash Dump Analysis" into the thread.
     
  11. Paulie_AU

    Paulie_AU Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2013
    Messages:
    3,465
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Not sure about your issue but I followed your link to your build and found the link to acrylics online who end up being just near me it seems... so thanks for posting.:thumbup:
     
  12. OP
    OP
    crocodaVe

    crocodaVe Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    534
    Location:
    ACT, 2600
    Problem solved. It was a power save option. - turn screen off after 10 mins.
    disabled that and all is good. I just stick with a screensaver as it's not on for more than 2 hours a day. Thanks for all your help :thumbup:

    -- champion acrylic place too Paulie. Glad you found 'em
     
  13. qwertylesh

    qwertylesh Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    8,500
    Is it only screentimeout that causes it or screentimeout when paired with resume from S3 sleep?

    Resume from S3 instability surely would be a bios issue, are there no updates for that msi model?
     
  14. OP
    OP
    crocodaVe

    crocodaVe Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    534
    Location:
    ACT, 2600
    Exactly right! Updated bios and sorted the S3. Timeout resumes now. :)
     
  15. qwertylesh

    qwertylesh Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    8,500
    awesome, now its properly solved, no workarounds :thumbup:
     
  16. O-B-E-L-I-X

    O-B-E-L-I-X Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    962
    Location:
    SYD, 2036
    This is what I have suggested ~12 days ago...;)
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2015
  17. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    57,762
    Location:
    brisbane
    good fix, makes you wonder what they changed to make it not shit the bed.

    Reminds me of the bad old days where BIOS updates down clocked RAM due to instabilities.
     
  18. qwertylesh

    qwertylesh Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    8,500
    makes you wonder yeah.

    sometimes you can figure out what it was specifically borking based on the kernel panic stop code.

    whether it was resuming with unstable memory settings, or a bad clock/multi value, or not resuming stable disk access.

    at least its fixed up now, just do a checkdisk post-fix and your golden. :)
     
  19. OP
    OP
    crocodaVe

    crocodaVe Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    534
    Location:
    ACT, 2600
    Fully right. Should have listened.
     
  20. callan

    callan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    4,737
    Location:
    melbourne
    Possibly related: I had 2 machines (both Core2 duos) which would not resume from sleep/hibernation once I'd installed an SSD - and in both instances they would crash with the PC speaker beeping hard on. One was an ASUS all in one PC, the other a Dell inspirion notebook. BIOS updates were not available for either, and I just lived with it. (disabled sleep & hibernate, and just shut them down when not in use)

    Curiously, though the problem did not occur if imaged the disk to a physical hard disk and ran an HDD instead, and both were perfectly happy on SSD's once I upgraded them to Windows 8.1 (from Windows 7)

    Hmm.

    Good to see the OP has fixed the problem.


    Callan
     

Share This Page