No sound?

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting Help' started by da_msta_chizz, Feb 17, 2008.

  1. da_msta_chizz

    da_msta_chizz (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    830
    Location:
    Central Coast, NSW
    Ok, so the other day, i was listening to some music through some $99 Logitech PSP speakers..all good, all well.
    I unplug them so i can go downstairs, and suddenly theres no sound..i figure it must be a vista problem after unplugging a headphone jack, and figure a restart will fix it.
    Well, it's 2 restarts later and still, no sound..
    now, at first i though the speakers were blown..thinking i will have to send it back to Asus, but then after the 3rd reboot i notice that they are working..the sound played when the Asus gaming series starts up happened..
    So now i think it's a problem with Vista..
    So, i checked to make sure the volume was turned up, it was on 80%.
    I check to make sure the Realtek software is running..it is.
    I check to make sure the speakers are enabled, they are.

    Basically, i've tried to figure it out..but i can't.

    What i'm freaked out by, is the fact that headphones STILL WORK.. so i know the Realtek drivers are working properally, and that the internal speakers aren't blown...Whats going on?

    Help would be appreciated,
    'Chizz.
     
  2. OP
    OP
    da_msta_chizz

    da_msta_chizz (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    830
    Location:
    Central Coast, NSW
    Also remembered, i updated my sound drivers..not sure when, but it was within the last 5 days.
    Should i update to the latest realtek drivers and hope for the best?
     
  3. Selekta

    Selekta (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,182
    The best sure way to fix it is to get rid of that overbloated mess of access denial and grab an XP install disk.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    da_msta_chizz

    da_msta_chizz (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    830
    Location:
    Central Coast, NSW
    And lose all my macro keys, Asus software, and shiny-ness?
    No way!

    I've got the latest drivers from Realtek, so i'm gonna see if that fixes the problem..
     
  5. Cycle86

    Cycle86 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Brisneyland
    just reinstall windows that will fix it :thumbup:
     
  6. OP
    OP
    da_msta_chizz

    da_msta_chizz (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    830
    Location:
    Central Coast, NSW
    So far updating the drivers hasn't helped.
    And i would DIE before i re-installed all my stuff, so reinstalling windows is not an option.

    I think updating the drivers must have messed it up.
    Last time i update drivers through Windows.
     
  7. Gierke

    Gierke Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,071
    Location:
    Earth
    Reinstall windows, preferably with XP will solve your problem :)

    I've had several problems with my sound drivers with vista, which I didn't have with XP. I know it may be hard for you to admit, but Vista is not perfect.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    da_msta_chizz

    da_msta_chizz (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    830
    Location:
    Central Coast, NSW
    Especially considering vista was the one that updated the drivers.
    1 of the bugs in vista..
    anyone have any other advice than 'reinstall windows'? Would help if i can get this fixed..
    If not, i might try the driver CD and going back to stock ones?
     
  9. Cycle86

    Cycle86 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Brisneyland
    instead of reinstalling vista do a fresh install of xp :lol:
     
  10. GazG

    GazG Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Messages:
    791
    Location:
    In a cardboard box
    Well at least first you should try getting the latest drivers from Realtek, they will only take you around 10 minutes to install, and if that fixes it then great.

    Get them here: ftp://152.104.238.19/pc/audio/Vista_R186.zip

    If not, then perhaps consider going back to XP (I know I am).
     
  11. OP
    OP
    da_msta_chizz

    da_msta_chizz (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    830
    Location:
    Central Coast, NSW
    Have tried the following..
    Realtek drivers from site - nothing
    Original drivers from Asus CD - nothing
    restart computer twice - nothing
    unplug 3.5mm jack(s) multiple times
    disable and enable everything to do with sound - nothing
    plug in headphones and use them - works.

    WTF? the speakers work, and the drivers work..
    What's going wrong here?
    Not going back to XP for obvious reasons, and i'm not reinstalling vista..so what else could i try?

    The sound is working (well), and the speakers work non-OS.. Is there any settings i should try to change, or should i just face facts and live with it?
    The loss of the speakers isn't much of an issue, considering they sound worse than my phone, but it's annoying not having an MSN sound, or basic youtube without having to connect to an outside sound source.

    And Asus are no help..with this:

    1. Please check audio jack plug connection.
    2. If connection has no problem, please check the Audio setting in Control Panel.
    3. Please check the sound quality with an External / Head phone.
    4. If problem persists, please re-install or update the audio driver.
    ..WELL DUHH!
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2008
  12. Gierke

    Gierke Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,071
    Location:
    Earth
    What obvious reasons ? If your too proud to go back to XP, why can't you reinstall Vista ?

    In situations like this, where things may be broke software wise, a reinstall will fix it unless your sound hardware is physically dead, which I doubt.
     
  13. OP
    OP
    da_msta_chizz

    da_msta_chizz (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    830
    Location:
    Central Coast, NSW
    I've been using vista for too long..Going back to XP would be too much of a downgrade.
    And i would rather live with no speakers than re-install everything, including Crysis, Oblivion..etc.
    Theres 62 hours of my life wasted.
     
  14. Selekta

    Selekta (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,182
    Sell up and buy an iMac, then everything will magically work.

    But that's too much to ask of a computer these days.
     
  15. Gierke

    Gierke Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,071
    Location:
    Earth
    This man speaks the truth.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: