1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

Nokia 5800 XpressMusic

Discussion in 'Mobile Phones & Devices' started by Matt P, Oct 6, 2008.

  1. josh81

    josh81 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,539
    Location:
    Bellbowrie, Brisbane
    Cool......
     
  2. Desert_Runner

    Desert_Runner Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,905
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    I find my audio quality is pretty good. It comes with a halfway decent headset so that helps as well.
     
  3. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    161,695
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    So no real need to purchase any extra buds?

    Also does the phone have a software equaliser?
     
  4. JebusJones

    JebusJones Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Messages:
    3,974
    Location:
    Brunswick, Melbourne
    Depends what you prefer. I personally find the buds that sit just in your lobes from any manufacturer hurt my ears after five minutes. I use Sennheiser CX300II in-ear buds and they're brilliant.
     
  5. AndyRoo

    AndyRoo Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    139
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Bit of help again please :)

    Trying to get email to work, seems a very tricky thing to do and should be easy!!!!

    Have a gmail account I want to use via my phone, I go to 'messaging', create new mailbox, pick the 'gmail' icon, enter my email address "blahblah@gmail.com", push ok and it comes back with "unable to connect with info provided" doesnt get to stage of asking for password. Have tried hotmail, same problem, made sure was connected to internet first, same problem.

    Getting anything sorted on this phone is such a real pain! The options and settings are just all over the place - not happy Jan!! :)

    I am sure I am doing something wrong, but cannot figure out what it is.
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2010
  6. AndyRoo

    AndyRoo Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    139
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Finally found the answer!
    Seems if I have message memory set to use the memory card, then the email setup won't work! That makes sense :confused:
    Changed to use phone memory instead, bingo, set up and works perfectly :D
    Only taken me a few months to figure out, was driving me crazy!!
     
  7. TieNN89

    TieNN89 Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Agreed! and they aren't all that expensive either
     
  8. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    161,695
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    So through the 3.5mm jack is it any better?
     
  9. josh81

    josh81 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,539
    Location:
    Bellbowrie, Brisbane
    My mum's dog chewed my stylus, cause it fell out of the phone. I've lost/misplaced the spare one too. Need to get some more off ebay i guess.

    I'm probably going to buy before anyone replies to this, but just wondering if anyone has bought a replacement stylus/s from somewhere, or from a perticular ebay seller that they can recommend? Doesn't have to be original nokia stylus because the copies that i've seen look the same, and even have the nokia logo on it. But obviously i want something that is a perfect fit in my stylus bay.

    I'd like to get a 3 pack.
     
  10. JebusJones

    JebusJones Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Messages:
    3,974
    Location:
    Brunswick, Melbourne
    I lost both mine (through drunken incidents) on the same weekend. Fingers are working fine so far though it'd be nice to have the option again. I tried the guitar pick and it was ridiculously clunky.
     
  11. Thraxeh

    Thraxeh Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,357
    Location:
    Sydney Australia NSW
    What are the different methods to update the firmware?

    I have tryed the *#0000# method and It cant connect to the internet.

    I cant find my USB cable.

    What else can I do? Is there an install file I can place on the miniSD and then place in the phone and install the firmware?
     
  12. SupremeMoFo

    SupremeMoFo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    5,006
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Buy a new microUSB cable from DSE for $10
     
  13. josh81

    josh81 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,539
    Location:
    Bellbowrie, Brisbane
    You don't need to buy one from Dick Smith for $10, if you've already got one for some other device.

    I've got at least 1/2 dozen Mini USB laying around:
    - Old digital camera
    - Old portable hard drive enclosure
    - New portable hard drive enclosure
    - Desktop external hard drive
    - Old mobile phone
    - Other digital camera
    - Divoom iTour10 portable speaker charger (still mini usb, will work for data i think)

    Regarding the replacement stylus for the 5800; i bought some from ebay last night (well 3am this morning actually). I did a lot of searching for the best price and the best quality.
    Here is what i bought:

    5 x Stylus for only $3.30 delivered:
    http://cgi.ebay.com.au/5-x-Original...wItemQQptZPDA_Accessories?hash=item1c10b2a47c

    Or you can get 3 x stylus for only $2.20 delivered.
    http://cgi.ebay.com.au/3-x-Original...wItemQQptZPDA_Accessories?hash=item19ba61beb7

    I thought an extra 2 stylus' was worth $1.10 more. In case i lose some.

    I went through a lot of the feedback for this seller, and the quality appears to be really good, and also the seller in general. This seller has red & blue tinted, or black.

    There are some others which are completely black, with no grey tip, which i don't like. Then there are ones with no Nokia logo on them. These ones i bought appear to be a pretty good replica, even though it says "original" i assume that they're not "original nokia".
     
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2010
  14. arrow224

    arrow224 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,889
    Location:
    Outer SE Melbourne
    Ahh, but the 5800 XpressMusic has a microUSB, which is different, as per http://img176.imageshack.us/i/razr2tourimg0847605sg8.jpg/
     
  15. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    161,695
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Most people nabbing these off the net and getting them delivered?

    If I found someone selling them reasonably cheaply in Adelaide I'd probably go grab one today....
     
  16. josh81

    josh81 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,539
    Location:
    Bellbowrie, Brisbane
  17. SupremeMoFo

    SupremeMoFo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    5,006
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Yeah, I got mine from Sydney when I was still in Adelaide

    V40 software's nice, the way it automatically swaps text input methods when you rotate it is good, scrolling's much better too. Swipe to turn off alarm's neat.
     
  18. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    161,695
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Where from and how much if you don't mind me asking?
     
  19. Thraxeh

    Thraxeh Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,357
    Location:
    Sydney Australia NSW
    The software updater is only updating to v31, how do I get it to do v40?
     
  20. josh81

    josh81 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,539
    Location:
    Bellbowrie, Brisbane
    You need to debrand your phone.
    Network providers brand the firmware on the handsets they sell, and then when Nokia release a new firmware. Your telco has to get nokia to create the branded firmware for them, so there is a big delay from the time Nokia releases the new firmware, to the time new firmware is release for your branded handset.

    What telco did you buy from?

    Debranding your phone involves changing the product code of your phone to the generic Nokia firmware. Then when you connect to Software Updater you will get the latest firmware. Changing your phones product code will void your warranty. However, i believe it is worth it, and if you can change your product code back to it's original before you take the handset in for repair. Hopefully Nokia or your telco doesn't notice that you've got the latest firmware on your handset (which isn't avaiable for your original product code).

    The process for changing your product code; i can't remember off hand. I or someone else may inform you.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: